Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost essential for macro
This sits on your tripod and allows fine tuning of focussing when doing macro photography. It is well engineered and the action os smooth in all directions. The low profile also helps to avoid wobble when you have your heavy camera and lens combo attached to the tripod.
The alternative is to physically move your tripod by a fraction of and inch or move the...
Published on 4 Jun. 2011 by Dr. P. G. Gordon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars for robust spend more or for take a chance on cheaper generic junk
PoS and not worth the money although cheaper than rock solid linear motion platforms aimed at lab use this is substantially higher than the Chinese generic stuff but cheap build quality. Broke within few days of use on me. Compared to my other support equipment this is definately weak link. One bolt sheared off with hardly any force when tried loosening to see if could...
Published 2 months ago by Ten


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost essential for macro, 4 Jun. 2011
By 
Dr. P. G. Gordon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This sits on your tripod and allows fine tuning of focussing when doing macro photography. It is well engineered and the action os smooth in all directions. The low profile also helps to avoid wobble when you have your heavy camera and lens combo attached to the tripod.
The alternative is to physically move your tripod by a fraction of and inch or move the ball/socket of pan/tilt head and you find whatever you do, any adjustments made like this will be crude and not get the result you want.
For studio macro work, it is almost essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macro made easier, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
Construction quality seems to be good but as the tool is still young I cannot yet comment on its long-term performance.

The wide, slotted base makes it is easy to firmly attach a camera that itself has only a smallish base. The mounting screw that retains the camera has a nifty stepped knob with two diameters -- the smaller diameter step being useful for quickly spinning the screw in or out of the camera, and the larger diameter step being used to apply a tightening force.

The slider offers two directions of movement with more movement being possible forwards and backwards than from side to side.

With up to 250mm of extension (using bellows) I have found the sensitivity and stiffness of the adjustment knobs to be adequate and the movement of the deck to be acceptably smooth; neither too tight nor too sloppy.

BOTTOM LINE
Macro photography is much easier and less frustrating with this slider unit than it is without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
L. A. Carr "Northstar" (Derbyshire Peak District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
I use this with an old copy stand I bought on ebay which didnt have any fine adjustment of the camera height. It is very well made and is mostly metal in construction. The up/down part can be seperated from the left/right part and I mostly use it with only the up/down section although I have used it with both parts together on occasion. The adjustment is smooth and precise and stays in postion without any obvious springback. A very high quality product which sells at an excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - solid and essential for macro photography, 1 April 2012
By 
Lepidina "Lepi" (Northwestern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
I am delighted with my new Velbon Super Mag Slider. I had been struggling to focus my camera just by moving the tripod. Now with the slider I can make micro adjustments forwards, backwards and sideways. It's a solid piece of kit as well, yet not very heavy. It fits onto both my tripods - carbon fibre and aluminium. A great addition to my kit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it should, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
Can highly recommend this device. Very smooth accurate action. Well built and doew exactly what it is intended for. It does not cause the camera weight to off balance the tripod, which I was concerned that it might. Buy one! If you need it of course, and if you are into macro then it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but worth it, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
Lovely piece of kit. Yes, its expensive but i love the feel and looks compared to the cheaper focus rails. Very rigid but not too heavy and nice smooth action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very sturdy precision product, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
I bought this for macro photography and whilst it seemed a bit expensive I've found it to be very solid and precise. It's very easy to use and has a good range of travel. It's also not too heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-made and as described, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
Little to add to other reviews - it is solidly constructed and does the job it is designed for very well. Adjustment is very precise, unlike some rack-and-pinion models. Best used with a lens plate if possible as the weight of a DSLR with macro lens and ringflash at full extension makes control of weight distribution a real challenge. Agree that the transverse movement is not that useful but as others have said the lower unit is easily removed. Personally, I could have done with some graduations to assist adjustment for focus stacking, but only a minor quibble. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative., 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
I knew I needed a slide rail to make focusing more precise when using close up Macro lenses. My ball head a vanguard SBH-300 accepted the unit perfectly and my DSLR fitted the base you see in the image spot on.

I realise that it is not too cheap. Almost £70 I suppose seems about right for the quality. Takes a bit of getting used too but really does facilitate ease of accurate focus when getting up close n personal. I reverse a lens sometimes, which does indeed mean you are very close to a subject. Even using live view I find your fingers just can't get focus bang on. However the adjustments on the VSMS are down to the tiniest movement and DO ensure you get full on focus.

The side to side is to some extent IMHO a bit of a gimmicky bit; not a big issue as you can separate it and just fit the forward and backward on its own.

My DSLR with lenses and battery grip is a heavy old beast. I'm pleased to say the VSMS takes the weight perfectly. You will still need to make sure that wind is non existent to get a crisp shot if shooting in low-light higher ISO conditions.

It not only looks good by jove it feels good too! A worthy purchase indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars for robust spend more or for take a chance on cheaper generic junk, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velbon Super Mag Slider (Accessory)
PoS and not worth the money although cheaper than rock solid linear motion platforms aimed at lab use this is substantially higher than the Chinese generic stuff but cheap build quality. Broke within few days of use on me. Compared to my other support equipment this is definately weak link. One bolt sheared off with hardly any force when tried loosening to see if could adjust the rails due to none smooth motion. As a result that is £70 down the drain and no way of repairing easy and can't get refund now. the mitre gears are plastic and mine seem out leading to it feeling jerky and indexed but not in a bad way with increments too large for fine macro work.

Maybe some are fine looking at the reviews here which led me to buy this over higher/cheaper equivalents but sorry I did. Shoddy finish and parts and would be forgivable at quarter of the price but not happy. The base side movement platform is smooth and fine and I read on dpr and other forums a few had similar issue to me with the large platform and confirmed the small platform is ok. You don't always get what you pay for, you just don't get more than what you pay for. This isn't worth more than £30 IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Velbon Super Mag Slider
£66.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews