Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2008
It's been a while since there was a decent motorsport crash compilation release, and this is easily one of the best, helped along by the jolly Murray Walker who introduces and commentates over each clip segment.

This DVD has the lot from all over the world, from F1 and touring car crashes, to spectacular superbike slips and spins, and even powerboat pile-ups. And there's also a good sense of humour with very amusing footage from a 12-hour lawnmower race, taxi cab stock car racing and even a Robin Reliant smash-up race. Great stuff for all the family and worthy of repeat viewings.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
Sorry Murray but this is definately not one to recommend. The material is not only very dated but it's boring. A clubsport day would likely provide more action.

The description for this DVD is rather flattering to say the least, perhaps a little artistic licence has been used in its promotion?

Even for the very discounted price I'd have to recommend that this stays on the sellers shelf.

Given the countless hours of video material caputured during motorsport events at clubsport level and higher by the likes of BBC, ESPN etc I would strongly recommend the producers spend a little more time finding material that is more entertaining.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
When I saw the price and look at the name Murray Walker, i jumped up at the oppurtunity to buy the DVD. However there are a few drawbacks...

Bad commentary - I know it's almost a sin to criticise Walker, but the reason the commentary isn't any good is bacause it wasn't improvised by Walker, as his races were. The commentary is cheesy in a bad way and uses many overused motorsports cliches.

Lack of quality footage - Most of the footage that I hadn't already seen (and that's a small amount) is very generic and not very entertaining.

Music - There's music instead of engine sounds in all the clips and when the engine sounds are dubbed in, they get the wrong ones eg.NASCAR for F3.

The main appeal of this DVD is Walker, and he really isn't involved enough as himself, he just appears as some old guy.
So if your looking for this genre of DVDs, just watch You Tube compilations or "Crash" on Dave (which quite an amount of footage is taken from).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
picked it up on the weekend and watched last night...

only planned on giving it the once over before wrapping it up for my brother's Christmas present BUT I was glued to my seat and thoroughly entertained from start to finish!!!

.. now looking forward to showing a few of these clips to rest of my family on Christmas day- definitely a must buy/must see for anyone that enjoys a bit of high speed action

;-)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
MY GRANDKIDS HAD A SIMILAR THING TO THIS CALLED 'CAR WARS -- CRASHES AND SMASHES', BUT UNFORTUNATELY THEY DAMAGED IT. THIS IS THE NEAREST I COULD GET THEM TO REPLACE IT. DEAR OLD MURRAY GETS DRIBBLINGLY EXCITED ABOUT EVERY ASPECT OF HIGH SPEED SPORT THAT CAN BE DANGEROUS AND THERES SOME REAL CLASSICS HERE INCLUDING NOT ONLY 4 WHEELED STUFF, BUT ALSO MOTORBIKES, SPEEDBOATS, RELIANT ROBINS AND EVEN CARAVANS! MY PARTICULAR FAVOURITE IS THE LAWNMOWER RACING. YES, RIPPING STUFF FOR PETROL HEADS AND YOUNG KIDS ALIKE, IF NOW GETTING RATHER DATED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
You get what you expect with this DVD and Murray Walker is a legend. He comes off really well here, great to see him back in business.

A great gift for Dads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Always wanted to collect Murrys Walker DVD as i am a F1 Fan. very interesting and very funny to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
I bought this as a present for my car mad 7 year old son. It didn't disapoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
fun to watch and a good laugh!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Great value for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)