Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening
No-one can be sure exactly how many violin concertos Bach wrote. His concerto output consists of several works written for certain instruments, then re-arranged for others. The established canon of his concertos for violin is limited to those in E and a for solo violin, and a concerto for two violins in d. This CD features another double concerto in d, more usually heard...
Published on 7 Feb 2008 by Jon Chambers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars subdued
Its hard to be negative about these concertos but that said, i thought that it didnt have the clarity that one can hear in the performances by the Scottish National Orchestra which i would recommend above this.And i have to agree with a previous critic when they say that the pace just rattles along!At the risk of sounding pretentious , I thought it could have more...
Published 17 months ago by cathyb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Jon Chambers (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No-one can be sure exactly how many violin concertos Bach wrote. His concerto output consists of several works written for certain instruments, then re-arranged for others. The established canon of his concertos for violin is limited to those in E and a for solo violin, and a concerto for two violins in d. This CD features another double concerto in d, more usually heard in one of two guises: for two harpsichords in c or for violin and oboe in d.

To begin with the last concerto. I suspect that Bach originally conceived this work for harpsichords (although, again, no-one can be entirely sure, with so many original manuscripts now lost). The dramatic statement that forms the succinct opening opposes orchestral ritornello with the briefest of responses from soloists. The intended contrast is intensified by having completely different timbres of strings and keyboard. What is clear, however, is that as well as being a fine Baroque soloist, Andrew Manze is something of a musicologist. His own accompanying notes show a keen interest in Bach scholarship and he defends his decision to transpose (or 'restore', as he would say) the work up to d for this version for two violins.

Manze's style is highly individual. Some of his chords sound remarkably rustic. He uses the minimum vibrato. Moreover, he is not afraid to decorate the solo concertos - a practice that may irritate as many listeners as it satisfies. He usually reserves these elaborations for recapitulations, however, and defends his embellishments on the basis of Bach's own practice elsewhere. These decorations range from the minimal grace notes at the end of the opening Allegro of BWV1043 to the more extensive interventions in the first Allegro of BWV1042. Conservatively-minded listeners may want to look elsewhere but I find his practices, although verging at times on the overdone, both satisfying and justified.

The Academy of Ancient Music provide a competent supporting role, if a somewhat pared down one, with two desks of violins each for 1st and 2nd fiddles, a pair of violas and cellos, double bass and harpsichord. There is no place for lutes or theorboes, therefore.

Manze is always worth listening to in word and deed, and nowhere more so than here in this recording of exceptional music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just as good as it gets, 19 Dec 2005
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A while back I saw a TV broadcast of Manze and Podger playing the Bach Double at the Proms - absolutely riveting, not just for the wonder of the playing but for the zest and sheer pleasure they put into it. All of that is captured here - it's wonderful,imaginative playing, not just of that Concerto but everything on the disc, and where ornamentation is used, it is so natural that you don't just accept it but revel in it. This is remarkably good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach fiddles on steroids, 1 Feb 2003
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Andrew Manze and Rachel Podger give tremendously muscular, entertaining versions of these pieces. This is a great selection and incredible value. Good start for people unused to "period" playing, too. Buy it - you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars subdued, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its hard to be negative about these concertos but that said, i thought that it didnt have the clarity that one can hear in the performances by the Scottish National Orchestra which i would recommend above this.And i have to agree with a previous critic when they say that the pace just rattles along!At the risk of sounding pretentious , I thought it could have more nuancing but thats just personal and I,l still listen to it with pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable Bach, 28 Mar 2009
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've heard many versions of these works - including some that may appear to go "deeper" than these. But this is the disc I return to again and again. These performances are just great fun! You can tell that the young performers are really enjoying themselves.

And, of course, there is more. Manze and Podger are both supreme and distinctive musicians and the result of their collaboration is wonderful Bach. I really like that they both sound so different and there is a real sense of interplay between them in the works they play together: the result is almost sexy. Podger's tone is rich and sensual, Manze's more spare and sinewy. In the solo concertos Manze's flair, invention and taste are equally compelling. A lovely disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matchless, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Julian Hughes (Hove) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent recording of performances which are engaging, brilliant and hugely entertaining. There is no mistaking the delight and coherence in the communication between the two exceptionally able principal players in the double violin concertos. What more could anyone want? These are performances which delight the listener as much on the nth rendition as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended ..., 23 Nov 2013
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The problem with buying any established classical work is that there multiple versions available of different vintages and stylistic orientation. Therefore trying to buy a single 'definitive' version, especially of pieces such as the Bach violin concertos is going to be an easy task. So whilst this is a very entertaining and creditable take on the violin concertos it isn't the last word on the subject either.

This disc features performances that are sprightly, lean and expressive. This Bach without the stuffiness. This is Bach that lifts the spirits. It all sounds so fresh and approachable; making it the sort of program that many listeners will want to return to, time and again. The soloists, Andrew Manze and Rachael Podger for all their brio still have time for nuance and feeling. The orchestra, perhaps a little 'light' and recessed in terms of recording for some tastes provide sterling support.

I like this disc- the soloists and orchestra play with pace and engagement, the recording is detailed and captures the energy of the performance and this is an overall feeling that there is some great music making going on, here. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recording, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for the double violin concerto, hadn't realised there was another violin concerto, lesser known, but you get both her. Beautifully executed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars who are they racing?, 24 Jan 2010
By 
R. Hakemulder (Senegal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this disc on the strength of Rachel Podger playing in it but was disappointed. Some historically informed performances seem to be based on the principle "the faster the better", and this is one of them unfortunately. Mr. Manze makes the orchestra and poor Ms. Podger race through these works as if they are late for a flight they absolutely need to catch. The result is lots of virtuosity and energy but to no other effect than one-dimensional performances that don't convey any of contrasts beteen depth and playfulness, or between tension and relaxation that characterise good Bach performances. This disc is about as enjoyable as .... yes, being in a rush to catch a flight you are late for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music that one simply never tires of, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
I have been listening to Bach's violin concerti on and off for over 20 years. And, I simply never tire of them. There is something around technical brilliance, profusion of melodies and balance; a kind of perfection. This particular recording is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews