Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Lush CD
TLC have sang their last note as a group now, after the tragic death of Lisa 'Lefteye' Lopes, that crazy girl in the group who left so many mourning across the world. Putting on Fanmail the other day, I think I must have forgotten how great this CD is, and it's amazing how modern it sounds now. It truly shows why, in their day, Tionne 'T-Boz' Watkins, Lefteye and Rozonda...
Published on 29 April 2003 by tomkatz4

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy CrazySexyCool instead.
Honest to God, I am the biggest TLC fan, and have been so for a long time. I waited something like 5 years for 'Fanmail' and it wasn't exactly a waste of money but didn't exactly live up to it's full potential either. 'No Scrubs' is amazing, it will be and r'n'b classic, it is simply stunning. Yet it does not run consistent.. songs like 'If They Knew', with it's...
Published on 16 Jan 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Lush CD, 29 April 2003
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
TLC have sang their last note as a group now, after the tragic death of Lisa 'Lefteye' Lopes, that crazy girl in the group who left so many mourning across the world. Putting on Fanmail the other day, I think I must have forgotten how great this CD is, and it's amazing how modern it sounds now. It truly shows why, in their day, Tionne 'T-Boz' Watkins, Lefteye and Rozonda 'Chili' Thomas were THE queens of the street...
International smash hit 'No Scrubs' is classic r'n'b, and from the mega man-bashing era of a few years ago! A great song. 'Unpretty', its follow-up, is a real feel-good song, saying that if you feel good inside, then that is what really counts. If you put it on when you're down, it lifts your spirits up. Then, there is 'Dear Lie', a ballad which shows that the girls can do soft, soft records.
'Shout' is a real stomper of a tune, with a great backing beat and the girls in ultra-feisty mode. 'I Miss You So Much' is a tear-jerking ballad, and the sultry 'Come On Down' is about as enticing and sexy as songs get!
I won't bore you with accounts of every song, but from beginning to end this is a real treat for any r'n'b lover, whether you own any TLC albums or not. It would be fair to say that this is widely regarded as one of the best r'n'b albums of the last decade, up there with 'Who Is Jill Scott', 'Kaleidoscope' (by Kelis), and 'The Writing's On The Wall' by Destiny's Child. TLC may not be continuing, but this is still a masterpiece, and shows why Lefteye is irreplaceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TLC is banging!, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
Fanmail: Great chrous, verses are kinda so-and-so... Silly Ho: Great song, catchy and fun! No Scrubs: Great song! I'm Good At Being Bad: WARNING. DO NOT PLAY THIS SONG NEAR LITTLE KIDS. They curse a LOT in it. Good song though, in a kind of funny way. If They Knew: It's pretty good, but not great. I Miss You So Much: Really sweet. Unpretty: Best song on the album. Just plain awesome. My Life: Great beat. Shout: Ok... Dear Lie: pretty good ballad. Lovesick: Not that great, but not that bad either. Automatic: Pretty good. Don't Pull Out On Me Yet: I haven't listened to this song very often so I don't know.
All in all an excellent album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy CrazySexyCool instead., 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
Honest to God, I am the biggest TLC fan, and have been so for a long time. I waited something like 5 years for 'Fanmail' and it wasn't exactly a waste of money but didn't exactly live up to it's full potential either. 'No Scrubs' is amazing, it will be and r'n'b classic, it is simply stunning. Yet it does not run consistent.. songs like 'If They Knew', with it's dumbass beats and chorus, 'Automatic' with it's cheesy 'futuristic' sounds and 'Lovesick' are simply BAD. Yet 'No Scrubs', 'Unpretty', 'Dear Lie' make up for it. The rest seem more mediocre. TLC have certainly grown lyrically, and still exude sassiness and attitude, and that men-bashing anthem is a must. Chilli has more vocal parts and LeftEye and give any Wu member a run for his money. But on 'Fanmail' I certainly felt they could do better, c'mon girls, I KNOW you can!! 'CrazySexyCool' is consistently excellent and contains classic tunes, it is a much better album and representation of TLC and how good they can truly be. 'Fanmail' is NOT a bad album, don't get me wrong, any other r'n'b group would DIE to have a record like this!! It's just that 'CrazySexyCool' was soooooo good that you just can't help comparing it to it... for new TLC fans, get 'Fanmail', it's an excellent introduction, but 'CrazySexyCool' is what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smooth slick collection, 11 May 2003
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
“Fanmail” demonstrates that TLC have come a long way since their “Crazy Sexy Cool” days, at the same time without losing that sassiness that made them so popular. There’s a fair number of great tracks on here, the best being the singles “Unpretty” and “No Scrubs” and a great little ballad, “I Miss You so much”, my personal favourite. If you’re a TLC or R’n’B fan, you will definitely like this album which has a good number of tracks, all well-produced and with that infamous TLC vibe! Stick it on your CD player now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well-crafted follow-up, 23 Oct 2003
By 
Ash (nice france) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
TLC has always been about attitude,and this lp sure does have some.This modern r'n'b atmosphere has it all to please every single fan:the anthemic "no scrubs" is so damn good!The pop cut "unpretty" is like a cool breeze with these vocal harmonies we've always known."silly ho" is great fun, "i miss you so much" is just beautiful, "dear lie" is magnificient...and the rest is just TLC.A classic r'n'b record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmm...tlc, 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
i have had this album for almost two years and i still play it constantly - a sure sign of quality. tlc are older and wiser now, and with new "virtual member" vic-e onboard fanmail is their best album yet. the first single no scrubs launched shekspere's (destiny's child, pink)career and redefined rnb women as strong and sexual - it is also the album's finest track and is introduced by a really funny skit - whispering playa. unpretty manages to be both commercial and personal, based around a catchy hook and t-boz's poetry about self-image and depression. another excellent track, it reminds us that tlc are about more than just state of the art production and great choruses - there are actual messages behind the songs. i think it is this attitude and responsability which makes tlc stand above rival groups such as destiny's child (the writing's on the wall is my 2nd favourtie album after fanmail). the rest of the album is divided evenly between ballads and up beat tracks. the ballad is something tlc have never really attempted before so whilst come on down is sexy and sweet, dear lie is mushy and boring. love sick is pretty average but at least its techno production sits in with the album's theme - dear lie's strummed guitars stick out like a sore thumb. jimmy jam and terry lewis (janet, mariah, prince) wrote and produced the fantastic good at being bad, the song which earns the album an explicit lyrics sticker - this song has "ironic" ballad verses and a very very rude chorus. silly ho reaffirms the tlc manifesto of being sexy and strong simultaneously, but does not have no scrubs' style or wit - it is still a great track though. if they knew is one of my favourite songs on fanmail. it is about cheating on boyfriends/girlfriend and wondering if they will find out - very cheeky and very futuristic production. my life, produced by jermaine dupri (lil bow wow, chante moore) is a great song about media intrusion and how being famous can be difficult - it has the best hook on any song about 2 minutes in. all in all fanmail is undoubtedly tlc's best album, and has been recognised by critics and buyers as one of the finest urban rnb album's of all time - buy it and you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no scrubs - no way, 31 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail [VINYL] (Vinyl)
TLC have hit back in 1999 with a massive selling Fanmail. A cd which truely re-introduces to mature, sexy and ambitious nature of the TLC attitude. Even though there is a distict absence of Left-eye rap, the great songstesses have done a cracker. Work with Kevin "shekespear" Briggs and Timberland make the albumn vibe. The debute single "No Scrub" gave Chilli a chance to take all lead vocals along with albumn track "Come on down". The albumn also gave them the oppurtunities to pour there hearts out with the powerful track "Unpretty" and "Dear Lie" forming the next 2 singles. Although the group are taking another 2 years off to work on solos and families along with movies and books, Fanmail carry's the groups work on through a couple of years. "Shout" is the hardest hitting track showing true courage and attitude.
Bravo TLC
the best albumn release of 1999
Grammy award winners, brit award winners ands good time girls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carzy, sexy and very,very cool, 28 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
TLC could not have Bounced back on to the music scene with a better album. Fanmail sees T-Boz, Lefteye and Chilli firmly back on top of the heap as one of the world's foremost rap and r'n'b acts. Drawing on the proven formula of their other billion, squillion selling albums Fanmail is fantastic. From the computer generated introduction to the final track it holds your attention for every moment. It has a huge range of styles from the modern, rappy "Silly Ho" to the "Waterfalls" like "Dear Lie" and the anthemic "No Scrubs" that will not disappoint. There is the odd track that is not as strong as the rest but I have to ask, who cares?. If you like your music sassy, upbeat and explicit at times then this album comes highly recommended. Also check out Destiny's Child - Writing's On The Wall and Sisquo - Unleash The Dragon. Wicked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CyberTLC, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
It's almost been a decade since the girls hit the scene with "Ain't 2 proud 2 beg" and since then they have grown from weird looking kids to crazysexycool queens and now they enter the digital age with "Fanmail". Now along with computerized rapper Virtual Vic-E, TLC have re-invented themselves once again for their third album. The tunes are much more techno, and like most thier older songs such as "Waterfalls", TLC are putting across a message to respect and love yourself and others, "Unpretty" and "Dear Lie" do this pretty well. Every tune is memorable and you'll never get sick of them. What am i sayin'? It's TLC y'all!! Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FanMail: one of the best., 8 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fanmail (Audio CD)
When I bought it last summer, I knew it was great. Now almost a year on, 'FanMail' still sounds as good as ever. From the opening track to the finale,'Don't Pull Out...', it is like a soundtrack through contempory R&B. 'No Scrubs' and 'Unpretty' do this perfectly, while being innovative alone. Ballads like 'Dear Lie' & 'I Miss You...' are great and in the right balance wiyh the up-tempos like 'Shout' and 'Silly Ho'. The standouts are the retro 'My Life' (penned by JD) and 'I'm Good At being Bad'; a track that goes from sugary sweet vocals to biting rap and a defiant chorus (GENIUS). In a contest between TLC and Destiny - the masters would win. BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews