Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Elvis in decline produced these goldies.
This review is based on the Uk success of the releases. Return to Sender, last of a long run of Uk #1 hit singles, and only the 2nd Elvis Christmas #1 hit. Rock a hula Baby was a previous release that had got to #1. So GR vol 4 starts with two very big hits and as a footnote, both movie releases. Next 'Love Letters'. Released in 1966 it was the follow up to his first two...
Published on 21 Sep 2007 by Derek D. Hume

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arguably 'the album too far'!
YES ...there ARE some great numbers here which show the evolution of Elvis ...but there are to many sloppy ballads, which offer little of the EARLY ELVIS!

Too much of the stuff around which his (later) undemanding films were constructed ...in line with the unimaginative orders of his Manager 'The Colonel' Tom Parker.

You NEED an example? Well, the...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by N. W. S. Blitz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Elvis in decline produced these goldies., 21 Sep 2007
By 
Derek D. Hume - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is based on the Uk success of the releases. Return to Sender, last of a long run of Uk #1 hit singles, and only the 2nd Elvis Christmas #1 hit. Rock a hula Baby was a previous release that had got to #1. So GR vol 4 starts with two very big hits and as a footnote, both movie releases. Next 'Love Letters'. Released in 1966 it was the follow up to his first two singles not to reach the Uk top 20. LL showed that Elvis could still produce big hits by climbing to #6. The next 2 tracks are Bossa nova Baby & Witchcraft. These were released as the a & b side of a single in 1963. Many fans expected another top 10 hit but the single only managed to peak at #13. The next two tracks are once again an a & b side. Kissin Cousins / It Hurts Me. As film songs go at this stage of Elvis' career KC was really a good release. Great beat to go with the wave of the uk pop bands of the day. The single was Elvis' first top ten hit from his last 4 attempts. A word on the 'b' side. It Hurts Me was one of Rca's biggest mistakes and to this day manys fans agree that it should have been an 'A' release. Next track is now an Elvis classic. Viva las Vegas, a recording 5 years before it's time. Released in 1964 with the next track, What'd I Say, the single only just reached #17. Two great tracks, and if released 5 years later who can question a top 5 hit? Track 10 is the 'b' side of Devil in Disguise. Really here just to make up the number of tracks! Indescribably Blue. An none movie track that was to see Elvis returning to the top places in the singles charts. Again bad timing as it failed to hit the Uk top 20. The next track really is a golden record. Devil in Disguise not only is a great recording but as the british beat bands started to take over the Uk charts Elvis roared to #1. This was the summer of '63. Lonely Man is yet another fill in song. Released as the 'b' side to the #1 hit from 1961 'Surrender'. Having said that I must add that this is a gem recording and one of my all time favorites. Track 14 is 'A mess of Blues' Another track from the early 60's with Elvis doing what Elvis does best and gaving us a great Blues number. Missed the volume 3 listing so thankfully we got it here. A #2 hit. Next 'Ask Me' Now here's a 'b' that deserves to be listed. A great recording that like 'It Hurts Me' was lost to the general record buyers. It's 'a' side was 'Ain't that lovin you Baby' This reached #15 in 1964. However the song was recorded during the hay days of rock'n'roll. Would have been better held back and put on an LP. Track 17 and yet another 'fill in' flip side. Just tell Jim said Hello, the 'b' side to 'Shes not You'. Really out of place on a GR collection. And so the final track, thankfully we save the best to the last. Crying in the Chapel was a maga hit when released in 1965. The track was recorded back in 1960 but as Elvis was unhappy with it the song was left of the 'His hand in Mine' LP. But in May 1965 it was released as a single. The king previous 8 singles had all bar one failed to enter the Uk top 10. Crying in the Chapel not only ended that poor run but reached the #1 spot for 3 weeks. To finish of I enjoy playing this cd even with the 'fill in' tracks. I would have included 'Wild in the Country' (a #2), If everyday was like Christmas' (#9) and if a flip has to be included I'd have 'You'll be Gone' and 'Never Ending'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say about these Golden Records series - all 5 10/10. The man who started it all, every track has you listening for more. I love the retro album cover, very kitch 50's and 60's. These albums are faultless 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis gold c d, 26 Sep 2011
fantastic condtion speedy delivery perfect working order .I love buying from amazon always good value I will and do reccomend you to my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item as described and prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very different collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
By 
Dave M (Upper Rissington, Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arguably 'the album too far'!, 15 Oct 2009
By 
YES ...there ARE some great numbers here which show the evolution of Elvis ...but there are to many sloppy ballads, which offer little of the EARLY ELVIS!

Too much of the stuff around which his (later) undemanding films were constructed ...in line with the unimaginative orders of his Manager 'The Colonel' Tom Parker.

You NEED an example? Well, the album starts with 'Return to Sender'.

'Please Dont Drag That String Around' was on the flipside of the 45pm 'Devil in Disguis' (one of the first three 'singles' I bought, aged 12, in November 1963 ...with a shilling change from a pound note!)...so have never quite understood how BOTH rated as 'Golden sellers' Same issue with 'Bossa Nova Baby' & 'Withcraft'...which was my 4th single, acquired in January 1964!) Same again with 'Viva Las Vegas' and ''What's I Say'.

The album finishes with 'Crying In The Chapel' - fine: not really MY 'cup of tea', but I'd make a case that such numbers - 40-45 years ago, were THEN better-rendered by Andy Williams.

So while I have this album, I'd rate it as 'Second Division' compared with the first THREE albums in The Elvis Golden Record series which ALL merit the description 'GREAT' and DESERVE to be considered 'ESSENTIAL' in the collection of any Music lister, who has escaped the constrainsts & confines of Classical Music.

For me, in a 'Desert Island' context ...this is probably an Elvis album I'd leave behind in the boat, in my bid to get ashore with my essential listening ...but at least TWO Elvis tracks would feature in my 8 ...should the BBC invite my contribution ...and WHY NOT, indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews