Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
28
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2004
Colm Wilkinson opened as Jean Valjean in both the London and Broadway productions of "Les Miserables," and like Michael Crawford in "Phantom of the Opera" builds upon his successful by recording an album of selections from various musicals. Consequently, the joy of listening to "Stage Heroes" is that not only do you get to hear his memorable "Bring Him Home" from "Les Mis," but he takes a turn at "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables." Wilkinson performs a pair of songs from "Man of La Mancha," "Chess," "West Side Story," "The Phantom of the opera," "South Pacific," "Camelot" and "Porgy & Bess." If you enjoyed hearing Wilkinson's pure tenor voice singing in "Les Mis" then you will certainly find something to enjoy equally as much from this album (I especially like his performance of "Anthem" from "Chess"). The orchestrations are also spruced up more than you usually hear with these songs, which is always a nice touch. All things considered, "Stage Heroes" is one of the better collections of Broadway show tunes.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 January 2016
I first heard Colm T Wilkinson when he sang the jaunty number "Born To Sing" for his native Ireland in the 1978 Eurovision
Song Contest. Since then, I have followed his singing career from being the original voice of Jean Valjean, in the London
production of Les Miserables, which was sheer brilliance, and collected several of his albums in all available formats.
Some naughty friend never returned my copy of the CD "Stage Heroes" and I never could remember who had borrowed it,
so after finding it here on Amazon as a Used-Good example, I purchased it again.
This 16 track recording is probably the best way to listen to Colm, his wonderful tenor voice shines through in all of these
songs, whether it be the renowned, Bring Him Home or Empty Chairs At Empty Tables from the much loved Les Miserables,
or the big numbers from Man of La Mancha, Chess, West Side Story and other major musical theatre favourites.
His interpretations of Summertime from Porgy and Bess and How To Handle A Woman from Camelot are particularly great
tracks, but in fairness, they all are !
The combination of Colm's vocal range and the London Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Mike Batt are something
to behold.
This is fast becoming a hard to find album these days, it was published in 1989, but both young and old
will find enjoyment here.
Now 71, Colm is an inspiration to would be tenors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
From the second it started to the moment it ended, I was swept along a wave of pure emotion. This man has a voice like no other. His strength lies in his understanding of each song. His rendition of the Music of the Night is unlike anything I have ever heard before. The man is a genius.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2001
The tremendous range, control and emotion in his voice is second to none. He feels the music and the words. Sit down in a darkened room, lie back and relax and let Colm take you along with him - wherever he is you will also be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2003
This is one of the best collections of songs from the stage that you will ever find sung by one of the best there is!
There is just so much about this recording that is stunning. The range that this man can hit is beyond belief and the control he has is incredible. He shows this on the end notes of 'The Impossilbe Dream' and his legendary 'Bring Him Home' .... but the obvious example is 'Music of the Night' where he holds the last note for 27 SECONDS! Not only this, but he raises the pitch with the background chords! I doubt on any other musical recording there's a note held much longer or as high in pitch! Phantom of the Opera is different, but also well sung and transformed so Colm gets to end on another long high note! Pity the Child from Chess I'd never heard before and the album is worth buying just for Colms' version of that! One of the best recordings available for a fan of musical theatre.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
I know a few of the songs on this are also on Broadway and Beyond, but I don't mind having them on again. . Pity the Child, Man of La Mancha, The Impossible Dream, Maria, are amongst my favourites. Having said that as I listen to each track there isn't one I don't love. Another great album by Colm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Very pleased with this service. The delivery time was excellent and very quick it was estimated it would take 11 days to arrive but i recieved it in 5 days. The whole package was in immaculate condition, not one scratch on the case or cd and it plays perfectly.
I would recommend these to anybody looking to buy the same.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2003
This is one of the best collections of songs from the stage that you will ever find sung by one of the best there is!
There is just so much about this recording that is stunning. The range that this man can hit is beyond belief and the control he has is incredible. He shows this on the end notes of 'The Impossilbe Dream' and his legendary 'Bring Him Home' .... but the obvious example is 'Music of the Night' where he holds the last note for 27 SECONDS! Not only this, but he raises the pitch with the background chords! I doubt on any other musical recording there's a note held much longer or as high in pitch! Phantom of the Opera is different, but also well sung and transformed so Colm gets to end on another long high note! Pity the Child from Chess I'd never heard before and the album is worth buying just for Colms' version of that! One of the best recordings available for a fan of musical theatre
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Colm Wilkinson blows you out of the water with this album. I became a fan when I first heard him sing Bring Him Home on the Royal Variety when Les Mis first came to the West End. It took 25yrs to see him sing it live (Cardiff 2013) I have heard several different recordings of Bring Him Home, but CW is the only one who performs it with the passion and vocal ability that it should be. From Impossible Dream - to Summertime Porgy + Bess, CW knows how to use his god given gift to the best of his ability. If you enjoy a good tenor singing superbly, the treat yourself and be prepared to be moved, thrilled and contented. Absolutely superb. Anyone who disagrees needs their ears syringed!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Having first heard and seen Colm Wilkinson on Terry Wogan's show many, many years ago, I bought this when it was released on vinyl. Not having a record player anymore, I decided to buy the C.D. I had forgotten what an amazing voice Mr Wilkinson has. Joy to listen too all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)