Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST HIP HOP ALBUM EVER MADE!
I shouldn't have to say more than "buy this album right away!". As a hip hop fan i have always liked the wu-tang clan and when i heard that this album was supposed to be the best solo release from a wu-tang member, up there with liquid swords, i went on a search for it straight away. This CD may prove difficult to find so i suggest that if you are planning on buying it...
Published on 31 July 2004 by wu_tang_style

versus
2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not feeling this album
I am a big fan of Wu Tang and their solo albums, mainly due to RZA's beats. I enjoyed GZA's Liquid Swords and Method Man's Tical, but I do not feel that this one belongs in the group of "must have hip hop albums".

It has some good songs, and Ghostface Killa has some excellent performances, but I get a very commerical feel from it. It isn't dark and underground...
Published on 20 Feb. 2009 by J. Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST HIP HOP ALBUM EVER MADE!, 31 July 2004
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
I shouldn't have to say more than "buy this album right away!". As a hip hop fan i have always liked the wu-tang clan and when i heard that this album was supposed to be the best solo release from a wu-tang member, up there with liquid swords, i went on a search for it straight away. This CD may prove difficult to find so i suggest that if you are planning on buying it you should get it from here!
Every track is great, there is not a single bad track on the whole album! The best tracks are 'ice cream' and 'verbal intercourse'. This is a must have for any hip hop fan, and certainly for any wu fan. Although this is Raekwons lp he certainly could not have done it without the help of ghostface, who is featured in most of the tracks, and of course the RZA. In my opinion RZA is the greatest producer of all time and this album is proof of that. Appearances not only include ghostface but most of the wu tang clan, and nas.
If you like hip hop take my advice and buy this CD now, on first class delivery so you get this as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate rap from Shaolin's finest, 2 Dec. 2003
By 
A Hunter (Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute gem, I implore you to order it now!
Along with 36 Chambers and the GZA's Liquid Swords, this is the best stuff that the Wu-Tang Clan has produced. Their releases over the last 5 years haven't come close.
Basically you've got Raekwon and Ghostface Killah at the top of their game with some fantastic MCing. Then there's the guest spots- check out Inspectah Deck's verse in Guillotine (Swordz) or Nas in Verbal Intercourse; even Cappadonna is brilliant on Ice Cream. Masterminding the whole package is the RZA: the production is his finest work, in particular the beats and clever samples.
What else to say? If you haven't heard of this before other Wu-Tang works (like I hadn't) and wouldn't normally get something you hadn't tried first, make an exception. One of my favourite rap albums, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An awesome Wu release, 22 Feb. 2003
By 
J. W. Bassett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
Every hip hop fan knows the Wu Tang Story, but for the uninformed, here is a brief summary. Circa 1995, 5 MCs release solo albums and they are all fantastic. They wait a few years and they release another group LP, it's a touch self-indulgent and the fans begin to revolt. Then they each release another and they're mostly pretty bad. That's the story so far. Now rewind to 1995, Raekwon (along with substantial help from Ghostface Killah) releases what is critically considered by many Wu Tang fans to be the best album of the lot, and one of the best hip hop albums ever released.
'... Cuban Links' wasn't particularly sought after upon release. Compared to Ghostface's staccato, Method Man's stoned bassy voice and ODB's crazy shouting, Raekwon seemed to get a little lost in the mix during '... 36 Chambers'. He's certainly the Wu member who performs the least guest spots. A combination of this led to this LP receiving a slightly muted reception when it was initially released. It didn't take long for the hip hop community to realise what a classic LP this is.
With their first solo releases, each of the Wu members adopted different personas, which was part of their appeal. While Gza's gimmick was the interspersed 'Shogun Assassin' samples, ODB's behaved and sounded like he had just escaped the lunatic asylum and Ghostface's inimitable staccato made him sound totally original, Raekwon's persona is that of the urban gangster.
The gangster rap / Mafioso imagery was nothing new in 1995, Kool G Rap (amongst others) had popularised the idea a few years earlier, but it had not reached the saturation point that it currently has. However, there had not been an LP that had so successfully blended such imagery with the music. It is the track 'Criminology' that gives us the first taster. It begins with a sample from the Al Pacino movie 'Scarface' and is a typically brash expose of Raekwon and Ghostface Killah's (who features heavily on many of the tracks) gangster credentials, "Call me dough snatcher / just the brother for the rapture / I hang glide, holding on strong / hard to capture" Raekwon spits. Elsewhere, the Wu anthem, 'Wu Gambinos' has each Wu member (and guest rapper Nas) adopt a 'gambino' persona as a (perhaps typical) story of crime is told. It's one of the most successful posse tracks to find its way onto a solo Wu release. Method Man's opening statement sums the sentiment up perfectly, "Wu come to get you / now they've got guns / I be the first to set off s**t, last to run / Wu roll together as one / I call my brothers Sun cos they shine like one."
Rza's production is typically (for the time) innovative. On 'Ice Water' an odd chant is coupled with some slow scratching to great effect. Meanwhile, the Gladys Knight and The Pips sampling 'Can It All Be So Simple' glistens with emotion and 'North Star' takes Barry White's soul classic 'Can't Get Enough Of Your Love, Baby' and turns it into something altogether darker.
It paints a pretty grim picture, and the one thing that prevents this being a five star classic in this writer's opinion is that it's a bit too turgid to sit through in one listen. In comparison to Ghostface or Gza's first major releases, it just doesn't have enough lively tracks. I realise that Raekwon wasn't aiming to make a party album, but at seventy-three minutes long, it can be a drag to sit through in one go. I wish Amazon would allow half marks, because giving 4 seems harsh, but I can't give it five with a clear conscience.
This album is most definitely worthy of a purchase. Today every new Wu LP is heavily anticipated, but for the wrong reasons - old fans tune in to hear if the group have come anywhere near to close to their old quality. Back in 1995, it seemed like the cycle of quality could never end. '... Cuban Linx' is one of the best cuts the Wu will ever produce, and if 'Immobilarity' is anything to go by, it seems certain to be the best LP carrying the Raekwon name for a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album.., 7 July 2010
By 
A92 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
This is without doubt my favourite Raekwon album and probably 1 of the greatest rap album's of the 90's. Also Only Built for Cuban Linx is just behind GZA's Liquid Swords as the best album from a member of the Wu Tang Clan in my opinion.

The album contains to many classic songs i cant name all of them. However these 3 are my favourite....Criminology, Verbal Intercourse (Nas's verse in a classic) and Guillotine.

There are 18 songs all in all and this album is one of a very small group of albums which you can listen to again and against without hitting skip or fast forward. The lyricism and the song content of almost every song is superb!

I would definitely recommend buying this album 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best all time albums., 27 Aug. 2009
By 
British Commentator (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
This is one of the best ever Hip Hop albums.

An iconic collection that was a major catalyst in the growth of the "Mafioso" style imagery prevalent in Hip Hop in the mid to late 1990s.

It sees Raekwon and Ghostface on top lyrical form, with a a little help from Nas.

The beats are interesting and grabbing.

There are few if any Hip Hop albums that can top this, and no serious Hip Hop fan should be without a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great album, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
I heard this album back in the early 90ies when it was released, and was hooked. recently introduced it to many of my teenaged nephews and they admit it is a superb piece of music. every single track is strong and oozes style, lyrical poetry and rhythm.
Simply put it is one of the all time Great Hip-Hop albums, which is and will be heard in years to come.
Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rae monopolised Rza's best beats, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Michael Badu (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
Arguably the best production of any Wu Album (perhaps only bettered by Liquid...), it's the archetypal 'tales of the street' LP. Filled to the brim with killer tracks and even some revolutionary ones (Glaciers of Ice?). Uniquely combines radio and underground appeal. Raekwon and Ghostface's rapping style is the true heir to original Hip-Hop in that the Medium is the message. These are people who have lived this, unlike Kanye West & friends; their use of language to paint a picture is without parallel Like a painting by Manet or a novel by Joyce, Rae and Ghost talk about their drug dealing past with no remorse, sentiment or glorification but paint a vivid picture. Like Manet, they chronicled the life of the city they knew like no-one before them and it is similarly shocking to contemporaries. But like all the best Wu work this is a team effort. The nion is greater than the sum of it's parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Solu Wu-Tang Album., 3 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
Raekwon and Ghostface dropped a BOMB here.
Two truly special lyricists firing bolts one after another, RZA banging out beats, "Ghetto Mafioso" at its absolute finest.
I am not exagerating when i say that this CD is probably in the top 5 Hip-Hop recordings of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Wu solo release, 15 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
This is classic Wu-Tang: Raw RZA beats and clever, energetic raps. As you'd have guessed the other members of the Wu-Tang Clan make appearances and they're just as good as you'd expect. The best track is definetly "Verbal Intercourse" it features Nas flowing beautifully in the time before he mysteriously got crap and Ghostface holding it down like he usually does. If you're wondering whether to get this or the new album then definetly get this, it's one of the best album around and I cringe when I hear any of the songs planned for the new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Built 4 Cuban Linx (Audio CD)
This album is second in the all time greatest list behind Nas's - Illmatic in my opinion. The beats on this album are the best RZA has ever made, they fit the overall atmosphere superbly. To me Ghostface steals the show but this does'nt matter as he contributes what would be a missing charisma to the whole album. Tracks like "Incarcerated Scarfaces" "Guilloteenz" and "Heaven And Hell" make this album capture all moods one one disc and make you feel it. 5 Mics and trully a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews