Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check reviews for separate volumes!
My dad loves these cds. Check the reviews for the separate volumes of the Songbook as most reviewers seem well pleased with them! Not sure these works were aimed at the above reviewer particularly. As it goes Rod does an excellent job in my opinion.
Published on 17 Sept. 2007 by A. R. Blundell

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
9 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars And so it came to this !
The great voice of 70's hedonistic rockers 'The Faces'. The voice that launched a thousand....well one or two...classic singles such as Maggie May and You wear it well; plumbs the depths of musical creativity with yet another lazy re-hashing of croony toons...think king chav Robbie Williams..and comes up with 'The complete American Songbook'. A collection of limp...
Published on 18 Aug. 2007 by Jago Wells

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check reviews for separate volumes!, 17 Sept. 2007
By 
A. R. Blundell "matrixman" (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My dad loves these cds. Check the reviews for the separate volumes of the Songbook as most reviewers seem well pleased with them! Not sure these works were aimed at the above reviewer particularly. As it goes Rod does an excellent job in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad effort at crooning., 6 Oct. 2008
By 
Captain Kirk (Here in the U K) - See all my reviews
Ok,so some mixed reviews on this one - firstly,I am no big fan of Rod Stewart but I am a big fan of good music and this type of music in particular.
For a top rock star like Rod to put his reputation on the line by recording these songbooks must have been a big decision for him to make.I agree that he is no old style crooner but I think he makes a great attempt at it.
There are many great performances in this collection and to be fair,he does himself proud on most of the tracks.
I think however that the orchestral arrangements are a little bland at times and an artist draws his inspiration from those around him and relies heavily on great arrangements and inspiring performances by supporting musicians.
There can be no doubt that the material is superb.It just doesn't get any better than these songs by the best of the best of American songsmiths.
I enjoyed all these songs as performed by Rod - he has great taste in music and delivers well.I think many cross-over artists suffer from not being accepted as serious musicians especially coming from a rock and roll background.These recordings will I think be more accepted as the years go by and Rod deserves full credit for some great artistry.
A great collection of great songs well performed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S'Wonderful!, 21 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
Irving Berlin said that he always preferred his songs to be sung by Fred Astaire because his straightforward, uncomplicated delivery allowed the melody and lyrics to speak for themselves. Well, this is exactly what Rod Stewart achieves here. The clarity of his diction, pitch perfect singing and simple accompaniments and arrangements make every single one of these tracks a joy to hear. I have recordings of all the items in the set by the 'greats' -Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Sarah Vaughan, etc - but in a number of cases, the Stewart version compares favourably with any of them. Did you ever hear better interpretations of 'Embraceable You', 'Long Ago and Far Away' 'Time After Time' and 'S'Wonderful'? Even 'Manhattan', a superb duet with the inestimable Bette Midler, runs the Ella classic pretty close. All in all, if you want a complete review of the goodies from the golden age of American popular music, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Rod Stewart, 13 Oct. 2007
By 
This is a very pleasant, laid-back, easy listening moment! If you like Rod S's voice and the classic old songs, you cannot fail to love these CDs. They may not stand up to the scrutiny of crooners like Bing Crosby, but there's not much better to play in the background during a meal with friends. I love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back Rod Stewart, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
Rod Stewart was never blessed with a prefect voice, but he certainly knows how to interpret songs. Excellent choice of material. His voice may not be as raucous as in his youth, but this mellow side suits him, and the choice of songs, well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jan. 2010
It's not your standard Rod Stewart, it's Rod singing some really good classic tracks in the vain of the Ratpack, but modern and updated. The recording quality is superb and Rod's voice seems to work really well with the material.

I bought this for my mum for her Birthday. I put it on and said to my dad, who's this singing? He was amazed when I told him it was Rod Stewart.

You'll probably like this if you like Shirley Bassey, etc, it's basically smooth Jazz style (he sings 'Blue Moon' particularly well), but I would recommend caution if your a 'died in the wool' Rod Stewart fan since it's somewhat different.

Take a look at the track listing, if you like them then buy it since the quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy listening, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
Whilst Rod Stewart doesn't have the greatest voice for many of the songs, the albums make for great background music and I enjoyed hearing so many old favourites being given a traditional treatment. The musical arrangements are superb, and for me personally, this is the best part of the albums. Overall, this is a brilliant collection for anyone enjoying good American songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The great American Songbook. - Rod Stewart, 19 July 2013
By 
Rpa De-layen Vian "Roz" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
I've been a fan of Rod Stewart's blues singing since his Long John Baldrey days, but was intrigued by this style change after seeing the recent TV progeamme about him
So I bought it partly because these are the songs my mother sang and I wanted to revisit those childhood memories. I was not disappointed
I absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brasil., 5 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
I have a cafe/restaurant in Brasil,our customers young and old love to listen to Rod,s American Songbook CDs,they requst them all the time and the music is perfect to create a relaxed atmosphere,plus i never get fed up hearing it.
Mike Stevens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Greatr American Songbook, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great American Songbook Box Set (MP3 Download)
Good Songs.Rod Stewart's voice is effective.Download price a bargain.
Alot of Oldies like myself would probably enjoy the combination of great songs and different presentation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Some Guys Have All The Luck (Standard)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (143)   
Buy new£6.69
Available for download now

Fly Me To The Moon...The Great American Songbook Volume V
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (195)   
Buy new£5.89
Available for download now

Soulbook
Soulbook by Rod Stewart
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (179)   
Buy new£4.99
Available for download now