Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential rock n' roll, 26 July 2001
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
This record sees Aerosmith radically step out of the shadow of their two previous albums that were extremely flawed but pointed towards the brilliance that was to come. Toys ... brims full of riffs that will mesmerise and lift the spirits.
Every song on this album is absolute gold but the shiniest gems are Adam's Apple, Walk This Way and Sweet Emotion. Adam's Apple is Steven Tyler's unique re-telling of the classic Bible story, evolution, etc. Only he would have the tongue in cheek audacity to give a subject that has given philosophers and theologians grief for centuries the chorus, "She ate it/Lordy it was love at first bite!". Great music too. Walk This Way ... what a riff ... too good for words really. Sweet Emotion is just a rock classic. A great bass-heavy intro that breaks out into a funky song driven by Joe Perry's fantastic guitar.
No weaknesses. always fresh with every listen, get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk this way please, 28 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
One of the all time great rock n roll albums, and probably one of the single sources of inspirations for the birth of sleaze rock in the 1980's that spawned a generation of new classic rock bands, as led by Guns N Roses. Probably best known for the original version of Walk this Way, I would recommend this to anyone into rock of all genres, as every track is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking America, 25 Mar. 2007
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
This is their 3rd album and also the one where America started to sit up and take notice. After a good debut `Aerosmith` and then the slightly better `Get your wings` Toys in the Attic put all the cards face down on the table, to reveal a smouldering,streetwise, schmuk in your face Rock band coming of age. Joe Perry`s guitar work lifting this with some fantastic riffin and wonderful lead breaks, twinned with Brad Whitford`s dual guitaring. Tom Hamilton holding it together with great bass, Joey Kramer a fantastic drummer and to cap it all Steven Tyler lyric and vocal supreme.All the guys are spot on. No more no more,`aint seen no daylight since I started this band,round and round, uncle salty, toys in the attic.great lyrics go to make this a great album..Aerosmith firing on allsix. to be followed by the mighty `Rocks`.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 12 Sept. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
Hearing Aerosmith's 'Live Bootleg' just after release put me off them for nearly thirty years. It would have been a different story had I heard this album first. After two highly creditable albums, 'Toys In The Attic' marked the moment when they established their identity. It rocks as hard, but has an extra swagger. They have a simple, abrasive approach, but the tracks featured here are superbly crafted. The rapid-fire title track sounds like their signature tune. 'Uncle Salty' is wicked and 'Adam's Apple' classy. 'Walk This Way' pre-dates rap by three years and has never been surpassed by anything in that genre. 'Big Ten Inch Record,' a cover, provides a light diversion. 'Sweet Emotion' is awesome: it has an almost psychedelic opening and a riff that Jimmy Page missed. 'No More No More' leans more toward older fashioned rock and roll with appealing harmonies. 'Round And Round' is a pounding rocker, not as distinctive perhaps, but well worth its place. The big surprise is that they choose to close the album with a softer song, 'You See Me Crying,' complete with strings. Nevertheless, 'Toys In The Attic' is a great rock album, far better than the fare they've been serving up since 1980.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Masterpiece, 16 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
This with Rocks would be a brilliant Aero Collection but if you only get one I would suggest this first. Not only does it include tracks that most people already know eg. Walk This Way and Sweet Emotion but there are some truely excellent tracks here. The album kicks off with the rip roaring fast track, Toys In The Attic. I think the only time I've heard a more electric track is on Live Bootleg. (which is not surprisingly the same track!) No More No More is another superb track that sorta tells the story of the band in a non-corny way. I love this album. Anything less than 5 stars is a crime! IT'S THAT GOOD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their finest hours..., 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
Gritty, sleazy, dirty, powerful & superb!!!.

These guys are totally in the zone on this one, not a single bad track. World class musicianship rips through this album like a bullet train..."Sweet Emotion", "Walk This Way", "Big Ten-Inch Record" , "You See My Crying", " Toys in the Attic", "No More, No More" all top draw, as are " Uncle Salty" & " Round & Round". Joe Perry & Steven Tyler get singled out time and again for praise, but believe me, this is a unit on top of it's game. Tom Hamilton, Joey Kramer & Brad Whitford all burn just as brightly.

You can see why Aerosmith catapulted to superstardom after this release. You can also see why so many American rock bands from the '80's have " Borrowed" very heavily from this to springboard their careers.

Simply superb!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toys in the attic? platignum discs in the bank!, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
Most people regard 4th album ROCKS as Aerosmith's best,i humbly disagree,this disc captures everything that was great about this band,struttin,swaggering rock,blinding rythmn section ,scorching solos and a withering,sneering vocal on top,almost the blue print for GUNS N ROSES dont you think?

The title track rampages from the speakers like a bull in a china shop and in 3 minutes or so Aerosmith whole ethos is on show,rock til you drop.Two lesser lights in the bands history follow,the almost jaunty performance of 'Uncle Salty' jarring against its distasteful subject matter and the raunch of 'Adams Apple' before the most famous Aerosmith track 'Walk This Way' lights up the mood,please dont tell anyone prefers the RUN DMC version?,yet another inspired cover version is next 'Big Ten Inch Record' with Tyler indulging himself with the double entendre's liberally spread through it,

The final four tracks i believe highlighted why the band took the step to the next level and why after only 3 lps were catapulted to the top of the rock world.

'Sweet Emotion' followed by 'No More No More' reaches levels of quality shown only by a few bands in their entire career,'...Emotion' carried along with superlative bass playing before exploding into a guitar frenzy plays one - two with personal favourite 'No More...' which flows along sublimly before an astonishing solo from perry,which to this day still gets the hairs on my neck to stand up,that they followed that with the classic heavy rock of 'Round and Round' with dizzying mid section of which Zeppelin would have been proud before closing the album with the stunning 'You See Me Cryin',a power ballad before the phrase was coined,all in all i believe the best 20 minutes or so ever committed to tape by Aerosmith.

This album propelled them to superstardom,maybe too fast,given what happened later,but its a truly stunning album,every collection should have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Aerosmith album to date., 19 Feb. 2000
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
As I say this is my favorite Aerosmith album to date. I first heard it about 10 years ago. I lost the CD and have bought it again as it is that good. The best track on it for me is Sweet Emotion, a great build up, a great riff, a great sound, a great song, if you only buy it for this song, you won't be dissapointed, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an Album!, 8 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
This was my second ever Aero album and I was not disappointed. It's not as hard or raw as rocks but it has some of my favourite aero songs on it. I was a little suprised when I first heard Big Ten Inch, but this album grows on you and you grow to love it, adore it even. Get this or Rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toys in the Attic: Aerosmith - Ten inch record of my favourite blues!, 1 April 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toys In The Attic (Audio CD)
This 1975 offering from Aerosmith, their third album, really set the group's reputation as a major force in rock music, and is probably one of my most listened to albums.

Choc full of classics, including the original smash recording of the immortal `Walk this Way', this album is by turns dark, playful, bluesy and all through rocking. It is a classic recording from a band at the peak of their powers. Sadly the band would soon slip into decline and it would be years before another recording approaching the quality of this would appear.

This remaster is pretty good, and a vast improvement on the slighty murky sounding previous CD release. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toys In The Attic
Toys In The Attic by Aerosmith
Buy MP3 Album£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews