Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless quality
Classic rags to riches artist, this album contains most of Dolly's best work in mainstream country / crossover county pop. (Her bluegrass albums are really something else, and well worth the effort, by the way). Great collaborations with Willie Nelson (on "Everything Is Beautiful", the old Ray Stevens hit), Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris ("To Know Him Is To...
Published 4 months ago by South Coast Mackem

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be
Some great numbers on here but sound is a bit "gritty". I suppose when the "digitalised" version comes out it should improve.
Published on 28 May 2010 by C. Coumbe


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless quality, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic rags to riches artist, this album contains most of Dolly's best work in mainstream country / crossover county pop. (Her bluegrass albums are really something else, and well worth the effort, by the way). Great collaborations with Willie Nelson (on "Everything Is Beautiful", the old Ray Stevens hit), Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris ("To Know Him Is To Love Him", and a veritable starfest with Billy Ray Cyrus, Tanya Tucker (original country bad girl), Mary Chapin Carpenter, Kathy Mattea and Pam Tillis ("Romeo"). As her slot at Glastonbury this year proved, she's got quality by the bucket load, and any fan of quality music should enjoy this a lot. too many tracks to pick a real standout, but my personal favourite is "Here You Come Again". Relax and listen to a true original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ticks all my boxes, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just recently bought this cd for my little 12 yrs. old neice, who has just of late become enamoured with the voice of Dolly Parton, due to her hearing the song Jolene. I let her listen to one of my "Dolly" cds and she came back with a list of her favourite "Dolly" songs, so I sent away for this cd as it had every one of the songs on her list, and we have all been subjected to listening to this cd ever since. In fact she has entered into a talent contest at school and she will be singing "My coat of many colours" as her song of choice. So this cd was perfect for my little neice, and she is really over the moon with this cd. I bought this copy for her in a used format, in VG to excellent condition from Zoverstocks, a seller that I use a lot on Amazon, and for two pounds this cd is in wonderful condition. So I can recommend this cd to one and all as a very worthwhile purchase indeed as all of Dolly's best known hits are on it. Yours, Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parton, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
Just a really good album good quality and all the songs sound clean clear and crisp aswell as good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton a voice that is truly blessed, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived promptly Dolly Parton what can you say some people are born naturally gifted and blessed in life what a voice,
would highly rate seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest hits, 15 Jan 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
These are the greatest hits of Dolly, which together with those on The Very Best volume 2 represent her most commercially successful songs. It includes catchy pop like Love's Like A Butterfly and 9 to 5 from the movie of the same name, flowing ballads like the duet with Kenny Rogers, traditional country ballads like My Tennessee Mountain Home and Silver Threads And Golden Needles with Loretta Lynn and Tammy Wynette, exquisite vocal pop like To Know Him Is To love Him with Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt, the moving autobiographical story song Coat of Many Colors and passionate country numbers like Jolene and Baby I'm Burning. This is an excellent introduction to the music of one of the most delightful of all female country singers but for longtime fans, the real gems are found on albums like Coat Of Many Colors, The Essential Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton - 20 greatest Hits, and on Little Sparrow and The Grass is Blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be, 28 May 2010
By 
C. Coumbe (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great numbers on here but sound is a bit "gritty". I suppose when the "digitalised" version comes out it should improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton 2008 UPDATE, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Jay (United Kingdom Brighton) - See all my reviews
Has much has i Like Dolly Parton, I do wonder how many more times are her managers going to release her Greatest Hits & Best Of Albums.
I think she should come back and do something New!!

I brought Dolly Partons Greatest Hits back in 1999 The Album i have is a 2x Disc version With the same songs and same listings in the exact same track listing order has these 2 seperate Albums!! Why it has been Re-released has two seperate Volumes is beyond me, Especially when the version i have is still avalible to buy.

I have given this a 4 Star if it was a New greatest hits it would have got a 5 Star, However it isn't. And plus it's not Dolly's thought i blame the record company!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up top her usual standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's dolly What's not to like! Great service and delivery. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
Great ! A good way to hear a wide range of Dolly's stuff if you are a new fan or an old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews