Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Headphones for Little Ears
My 4 year old daughter always moaned about headphones falling off. Not anymore the JVC Tiny Phones are fab - fit great and have a volume control on them. Well worth the money, I would recommend these for all kids...
Published on 1 Nov. 2009 by Mr. Graeme Thomson

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware!!
These headphones would be excellent but have a MAJOR design flaw which is not obvious from their description and which makes me regret ever buying them.

They have a built-in volume limiter which has an on/off switch and requires a AAA battery. They cannot be operated without the limiter and accessing the battery compartment requires a small philips screwdriver...
Published on 18 July 2011 by T. Russell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware!!, 18 July 2011
By 
T. Russell (Co. Down, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
These headphones would be excellent but have a MAJOR design flaw which is not obvious from their description and which makes me regret ever buying them.

They have a built-in volume limiter which has an on/off switch and requires a AAA battery. They cannot be operated without the limiter and accessing the battery compartment requires a small philips screwdriver (the usual ad hoc car keys/knife/credit card etc won't do).
If your children are anything like mine they will leave the them switched on, despite being told umpteen times to switch them off when not in use, thereby draining the battery, rendering them unuseable.
The volume limiter is a nice idea, but seeing as many audio devices nowadays have one on-board, and have at least a volume control, it's pretty surplus to requirements.

It's a shame as they are comfortable, fit well, look good and sound good.
So, if you buy them be prepared to either carry around a supply of AAAs and a small philips screwdriver, or be left without useable headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Headphones for Little Ears, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Graeme Thomson "GMT" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
My 4 year old daughter always moaned about headphones falling off. Not anymore the JVC Tiny Phones are fab - fit great and have a volume control on them. Well worth the money, I would recommend these for all kids...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 y.o. kid loves these 'phones!, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
Newbonic (Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
My 5 year old loves these headphones and uses them on the laptop when logged into ceebebies, nickjr, etc. They are also usable in a DS.

The inbuild volume limiter is great for our peace of mind that the kids haven't cranked the vol up to 11 and are in the process of deafening themselves with the High School Musical soundtrack.

Only drawback is that kids must remember to switch the 'phones off - which they often won't!
So I'd recommend getting a battery charger and a pack of rechargeable AAA batteries to go with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great design, poor technology, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
The colours of these headphones show that the marketeers have thought through the demographics of the user. Nice bright primary colours appeal to kids and help sort out the "he/she has my headphones" arguments. The designers have likewise done a great job, headphones that actually fit you little ones heads and also cushion comfortably. The engineers have not thought through the purpose of the headphones. The idea is that the sound level should be limited so that little ears do not receive to many decibels causing ear damage. On these headphones this is done with a little lozenge style box that sits in the middle of the headphone lead. If it is on the headphones are on, if it is off the headphones are off, (begs the question why have a switch at all). The unit runs off an AA battery so if you leave it on as small kids will do, then you can't use the headphones. You need to carry a posi screwdriver around with you to change the battery. The switch on the lozenge box is a weak link because to much kiddie power can easily break it. Battery life if you can keep turning them off when not in use is OK. One final point, the headphone leads are actually quite short and not ideal for using with a DVD player mounted to the headrest of a car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product. Great Sound, 9 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Gary Foster (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
Disagree with the previous review. These are designed for use with an mp3 player where you don't want a ridiculously long lead to trip over, especially as they are designed for kids. The chap must have a very small head too - I can wear them but only on the largest setting. One thing I must point out is that the sound quality is excellent for kids headphones and at the price a real bargain. They look good, sound good and are comfortable to wear. The "closed" design also means that there isn't a lot of sound leakage in or out. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Little 'Uns, 30 Jan. 2010
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
These are great! We got them for my 5 year old daughter, who was thrilled to get an MP3 Player for Christmas but the 'phones that came with it were too big for her little ears. These are comfortable and not too loud, so there's every chance she'll still have her hearing intact at 10 years old. You have to remember to operate the off/on switch on the 'phones as well as the MP3 unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids Headphones, 25 Sept. 2009
By 
Lynda Shaughnessy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
These are ideal for any small child using a personal DVD player or gaming device. They are comfortable and do not fall off easily, also the sound is confined to within the headphone, so it is not annoying sitting next to anyone using them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good headphones for kids but a little large, 11 Oct. 2009
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
I bought two pairs of these for my 4 year old and 6 year old because I wanted something that would protect their ears from damage and the frequency limiter seemed a great idea. Also I didnt want them to have in-ear headphones as these would be difficult for kids and they block out to much external sound so are probably not safe.

In practice they work very well, very comfortable, if a little on the large side. They both have problems with them slipping off when they first put them on (I can wear them quite easily at the maximum adjusted size and find them quite comfortable) but usually OK after they have settled down with an ipod. Lead is about 1m so a little on the short side possibly, but fine for ipod, handheld gaming etc.

Build quality seems very good, we have taken them all over, holiday abroad for two weeks and had them about 6 months now and they still look like new. The girls really like them apart from the annoying slipping off at first (worse for the 4 yr old). Sound quality is fine and the volume can still be fairly loud. Battery life is long if you remember to turn it off (battery is needed as the sound limiter uses an active process)! Overall very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
pmm (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
I purchased these headphones for my 5 year old daughter. I was apprehensive that they would be bulky, but they are perfect. I was delighted with them as was my 5 year old. They are a good fit, ideal for small hands and the cable is just the right length, allowing her to listen to her portable dvd or ipod without tripping over the cable. 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars odd functionality, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
Gitte Jepsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC HA-KD10-P Tiny Headphones for Kids - Pink (Electronics)
the headphones has an OK sound and a good fit - but, it is soo irritating to have to change batteries - especially as it is for small kids and they don't always turn off the switch!!

Had the headphones been without this battery "feature" it would have received 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews