Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home at last.
I have loved 'The Planets' since a young child, but there has been a problem since then: No recording of this work has quite lived up to the Dynamic i remember experiencing when i heard this music played live at the Liverpool Philharmonic.
The digital format raised hopes, but did not deliver. I have heard numerous recordings on vinyl and CD, played by orchestras from...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by Squonk

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not the best
This does not have the depth of the vinyl LP I remember from my childhood: Leopold Stokowski conducting the Los Angeles Philharmonic. However it is a good recording and quite enjoyable, if not the best I've heard.
Published on 19 July 2012 by Mrs. P. M. O'Connor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home at last., 4 Mar 2004
By 
Squonk (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I have loved 'The Planets' since a young child, but there has been a problem since then: No recording of this work has quite lived up to the Dynamic i remember experiencing when i heard this music played live at the Liverpool Philharmonic.
The digital format raised hopes, but did not deliver. I have heard numerous recordings on vinyl and CD, played by orchestras from many countries. The best version i had was an 80's LSO recording, until this came along...
The Direct Stream Digital recording medium and an awesome performance by the current LSO makes me feel i have come home; THIS is the one! This CD is simply the best quality recorded performance of The Planets i have ever heard, it is breathtaking in it's scope.
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Planets, 18 Feb 2006
By 
D. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Every time you listen to this CD you will be amazed at the quality of it. Excellent playing from the orchestra under the experienced direction of Davis- he makes the music shine; flexible and powerful playing from the LSO. The recording is surely demonstration quality; you cannot listen to the start of "Mars" - or any other section of the set -and not be amazed by the clarity of the sound.
For the price, this is an excellent set; it remains one of the best even compared to rivals that cost much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars out of this world, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I was searching for an album of the planets for quite a while,nothing struck me at all then I spotted this particular album and the name sir colin davis a name I new from a long way back when he was not "sir" an experimental album with a group called Deep Purple, I listened to a few excerpts and I decided to purchase what a delight sound quality excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb performance, 30 April 2011
By 
P. Holt (Aberystwyth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I used to have a copy of the planets as covered by the Berlin symphony orchestra. Unfortunately I lost it so I bought this one and have to say what beautiful music this was. It was as good as the original one that I lost, the London symphony orchestra pulled off an absolute masterpiece here. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUDENT PERCEPTION, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I have used the CD to give year 2 children a feeling of space and the solar system, for a project this term
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best "Planets" in the Universe, 19 May 2004
By 
Joanna Daneman (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Early 20th-century British composer Holst had a Germanic name (he was of Latvian-Russian descent) but was deeply influenced by British folk music. Hence, his music is as rooted in English tradition as Vaughn Williams or Britten. His "Planets", a series of tone poems creates a symphonic work of great magnificence, and is very popular even with those who are not classic music buffs. It's often used for documentaries, film and and theatrical works for its evocative melodies and sonorous rhythms.
Never has this suite been more wonderfully recorded than by Colin Davis. Davis and the London Symphony avoid some of the cliche mannerisms of many recordings-- in "Jupiter" there is balance of the buoyant spirit with weightiness that never goes over the top.
Incidentally, there is a "Pluto" section composed by Colin Matthews (not on this recording) that was added after Holst's death to complete the solar system, Pluto not having been discovered during Holst's lifetime. An interesting bit of trivia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Planets Suite, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I first bought the Planets Suite on vinyl when I worked at Decca at the age of 16 (over 54 years ago) and have loved it ever since. The CD is an excellent version and I just adore listening to it. With the sound turned up high, you can imagine Mars the God of War charging across the sky towards the planet of the same name. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master piece, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
I heard this piece of music when I was 12 and I was falling in love with it straight away. The planet's 100 year-old this year and the feeling you get from the music is still fresh. 'The Planet' is a must-have music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood, 27 Feb 2014
By 
R.A.S. (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
This was the first classical record we were introduced to as children, very young children and I was blown away by it. To think a person translates his idea of planets into such sounds is impressive. One can disappear into the Universe with this music. He's even managed to bring emotion into those planets with his incredible musical version of them.
Incredible. You may not like all of them but please give it a chance and if you find one too much try another, personally I have a favourite planet myself, rather like one has a favourite track on a more modern genre CD or record.
Arrived in perfect condition and in the timescale promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English composer who wrote about the Planets of the Solar System, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holst: The Planets (Audio CD)
Despite his name, Gustav Holst was born in Cheltenham in Gloucester. He had musical ancestors from the Balkans on his father's side of the family and an English mother of mainly British ancestry. He was a contemporary of other English composers such as Vaughan Williams and Samuel Coleridge Taylor and the Planet Suite is probably his most popular and well known work. Intended to be played as a complete orchestral work, it is composed of 7 movements relating to the astrological characters of the Planets of the Solar System other than our own planet Earth. He developed an interest Astrology in 1913 whilst on holiday and wrote his first 3 movements in 1914 - Mars (The Bringer of War), Venus (The Bringer of Peace) and Jupiter (the Bringer of Jollity). Later, in 1921, Holst adapted the melody of Jupiter to fit the poem "I Vow to Thee My Country" and this came to be a national anthem symbolising the cost of human life during the First World War. Although the timing of this composition appears to coincide with WW1 (1914-1918), Holst insisted that The Planet Suite was written from his Astrological interest alone and not influenced by the impending war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holst: The Planets
Holst: The Planets by London Symphony Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album4.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews