Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb but more mainstream
As the reviewer before me said, this is a slightly more mainstream album than other Rise Against but that is one of its main strengths: It still addresses political questions (for example the anti-war 'Hero of War' and the superficiality of fame in 'Entertainment') but has a distinctly more catchy style - not to say that this is a weakness (although some fans felt let...
Published on 10 Jan 2009 by ToastBongo

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Appeal To Reason
Rise Against for me have been one of the few punk bands of the past 5 years that still retain credibility. Ignoring the review below, I'm inclined to say this IS the most mainstream Rise Against have sounded. There are certainly more songs on this album that have big chorus with loads of 'woah' but hey, this is Rise Against so you know what to expect!

What this...
Published on 6 Oct 2008 by Mr. Robert A. Spacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb but more mainstream, 10 Jan 2009
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
As the reviewer before me said, this is a slightly more mainstream album than other Rise Against but that is one of its main strengths: It still addresses political questions (for example the anti-war 'Hero of War' and the superficiality of fame in 'Entertainment') but has a distinctly more catchy style - not to say that this is a weakness (although some fans felt let down when Rise Aganst joined a major label).
Anyhow, Hero of War is one of their best songs in that it is both reasonably simple but also has a classic Rise Against anti-imperialist theme. If you enjoyed Swing Life Away or Roadside you'll enjoy this (they're rather different musically but it's a similar style of singing and guitar)
Essentially you shouldn't expect the more hardcore political songs such as Give It All or Ready To Fall (in my opinion their best songs, especially the uncesored video for Ready To Fall) but you CAN expect classic Rise Against heavy melodic punk with a political theme, although with significantly less screaming than in previous albums.
Previously i had been sceptical about this new album but having listened through it five times or so I think it's among their best - think an entire album in the theme of 'Tonight We Dance' and you'll be on the right track for an idea of this album.
Four songs to listen to on Youtube that will give you a good idea about hte album: 'Saviour', 'Hero of War', 'Entertainment' and 'Kotov Syndrome'. Rise Against are probably the best melodic punk group around at the moment so definitely worth a listen if you're a newcomer. Even if you're into more hardcore punk like AntiFlag, Rise Against offer a more melodic and viable alternative (let's be honest, Antiflag DO try to cram far too many words into one line and their rhyme schemes are distinctly suspect!).
On a final note, Rise Against are actually more progressive in their thinking than most punk bands, again, using the exanple of Anti-Flag's 'one trillion dollars' or 'Angry Young and Poor' - they both address legitimate themes but they are entirely negative in their message, Rise Against encourage us to become more informed in our lives and to accept responsibility for our actions. To see a further example look up the video for 'Ready To Fall' which Tom McIllrath (lead singer) called their most important work so far...
Once again, i can't emphasise the ability of this band enough, the only reason it got 4 stars was in consideration for hardcore punk or early Rise Against fans who may find the more commercial edge less appealing, but for the everyday listener this gets a definite 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars winopunk - rise against, antiflag, strike anywhere, proaghandi nuff said, 11 May 2009
By 
Robert Jenkinson "winopunk" (brussels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
This band go from strength to strength, each album just surpasses the previous. I have followed them from their initial release (the unravelling) which was immense & wait for them to let themselves down (especially when they signed to a major) but they keep just getting better & better. If I were just beginning the rise against journey I would suggest you buy the albums in order of release as you will see what I'm talking about,listen to each in order & believe they will never be able to top it, then they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addicted to the album, 16 May 2009
By 
Crumpton "Ferin Shaa" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
When I first hearde a sample of this album I immediately thought "ugh no definitely not" of course, eventually I listened again, and loved it! every song deserves its place on this album, Hero of War is the cliche RA accoustic, taking a very sdatirical and honest look at the war, other references to the war are throughout, In Kotov Syndrome especially.

A must buy, the actual cover is a card slip with a flap to which the lyric book is attached, so no need to feel guilty about the plastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Daniel D. Rawcliffe "rawcy55" (Hull, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
Brilliant album with a good range of songs.
'From Heads Unworthy' is a personal favourite
good service also, quick delivery and good quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album full of 'entertainment', 9 Oct 2008
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
If your into rise againsts new sounding songs like The sufferer and the witness album you will like this one, and will want to buy this album.

Appeal to Reason isnt as impressive as the sufferer and the witness but its definately worth buying.
As ive heard people who liked Rise Against's older albums which where slower and heavier sounding then dont expect that on this album the sound of these songs are most similar to sufferer and the witness.

I personally like all Rise Against songs, but i like the way they are heading i recommend this alubm it is great with songs like savior and re-education through labour also the acoustic hero of war is pretty cool too.
And the songs still carry meaning rock on forever Rise Against!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Appeal To Reason, 6 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
Rise Against for me have been one of the few punk bands of the past 5 years that still retain credibility. Ignoring the review below, I'm inclined to say this IS the most mainstream Rise Against have sounded. There are certainly more songs on this album that have big chorus with loads of 'woah' but hey, this is Rise Against so you know what to expect!

What this album does have over say, Suffer and the Witness, is experimentation. Every now and then there's a sample of 'thinking outside the box', much like the Offspring did in Smash. It's this ability to push the music about that make Rise Against NOT like every other mainstream band.

Stand out tracks for me are the singles (tracks 2/3), acoustic number 'Hero of War' and the outstandingly brilliant 'Entertainment'. The latter pushing 'Prayer of the Refugee' and 'Give It All' as best ever RA song.

The reason I only award 3 stars is down to the clear fact that RA are edging towards the inevitable mainstream boundry. It happened with Offspring, Rancid, Alkaline Trio and even Against Me. Some songs do fit into the 'standard RA sound' and could be one of any tracks off SS4TCC or TSAW. Let's hope the next album keeps this side of the fence and gives us more gleefully saturated punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get it now!, 22 Oct 2008
By 
S. Yates "sarahyates98" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
Having read several negative reviews about this album before its release date I pretty much expected it to disappoint.
The first two tracks are a predictable Rise Against sound and I started to worry that the reviews I had read were not far off the mark. Hell no! This album rocks! Some of it sounds slightly more mainstream than previous albums but the majority of tracks are lyrically brilliant and original. From Heads Unworthy and Entertainment are my out and out favourites but the whole album is well worth listening to, on repeat. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More From The Best In The World..., 19 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
First of all,This is another great album from the best band in the world.Its an essential purchase and any fan of rise against will already own it.Those who have never listened to Rise Against have been missing out for too long and need to start,Appeal To Reason is a good place to start doing so.Its not their best album yet,(Which is Revolutions per minute by the way) But is roughly on par with The Sufferer and The Witness and features two of rise Againsts very best songs ever:Hero of War and Audience of One.Theese two songs are worth the asking price alone,THEY'RE REALLY THAT GOOD.In addition, Other great tracks include Collapse,Kotov Syndrome,Entertainment and Saviour.Thats not to say the other songs aren't exeptional in their own right.Every track on the album is supremely listenable,Incredibly written and get better every time you hear them.Whilst their style may have altered over the years,They are still the best band in the world and anyone with a slight love for punk/metal/rock will love Rise Against and will not be dissapointed with this album...they will be enlightened and expireience what music truely is...(WARNING-RISE AGAINST WILL MAKE ALL OTHER FORMS OF ROCK MUSIC PALE IN COMPARISON. SO BE PREPARED TO DEDICATE YOURSELF TO THE BEST)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
Have found it difficult to find a band similar to rise against that have a combination of deep lyrics and heavyish rock. All the songs in this album are great, at times they can seem quite samey, however songs such as Hero of War can have extremely great lyrics, and re-education is an extremely catchy song I've actually listened to while being in the gym.

If your a fan of the band this album is a must have, it's always important to support great bands like this one, hopefully some day they'll tour in Ireland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Appeal To Reason (Audio CD)
Only just found out about this band recently, so I was a bit concerned about the strength of the album. I shouldn't have worried as pretty much all of the tracks are really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Appeal To Reason
Appeal To Reason by Rise Against (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews