Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant: A Star Is Born !
Lucky to have stumbled upon Gabriella when i took my daughter to see the Sugababes recently. She just blew me away with a fantastic live performance and the album is no disappointment with a mixture of great "rock chick" songs and songs Amy Winehouse would be proud of,and all at the age of 16,unbeleivable.
This girl should be a big star soon and quite frankly she...
Published on 29 Mar 2008 by Mr. Mark Hagley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay album
A disapointing album as there were only a couple of songs on it that i really liked. i wish i had just downloaded an mp3 file of the songs i liked rather than pay out for the whole album
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by tweety pie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant: A Star Is Born !, 29 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Mark Hagley "simpleclass" (barnstaple, devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
Lucky to have stumbled upon Gabriella when i took my daughter to see the Sugababes recently. She just blew me away with a fantastic live performance and the album is no disappointment with a mixture of great "rock chick" songs and songs Amy Winehouse would be proud of,and all at the age of 16,unbeleivable.
This girl should be a big star soon and quite frankly she deserves everything that comes her way.
So if your thinking about buying this album just go for it,you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 18 April 2008
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
Amazing! This deserves to be one of the biggest selling albums of 2008. This CD makes you grin. It blazes like your own personal chunk of sunshine. From the instantly likeable `Sweet About Me' through a whole range of brilliantly produced gotta-be-hits, `Lessons To Be Learned' is almost entirely brilliant.

With lyrics that range from catchy-cute to curiously comical ("There's a caterpillar in my soul"!), performed by that engaging, amazing, unique vocal talent, this collection just makes you keep going back - and you can't help but nudge that volume control higher and higher each time...

Personal favourites after first few hearings - `Don't Want To Go To Bed Now' and `Got No Place To Go'. But this is packed full of gems that might take my `favourite' place the more I listen.

Do yourself a favour - get this album - put Gabriella Cilmi on your i-pod - then lie back all summer with the volume full blast and put a caterpillar in your soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic first Album !!!!, 1 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
Too be perfectly honest, if this girl does not get acclaim real soon it'll be proof that the Music industry is truly fixed!!!! Seriously this is a very good album. A terrific voice bounces out of some very admirable music rifts. Not seen her live yet, but would think she has got something new to offer a somewhat drab pop rock industry at the moment IMO! Only 16 hmmmm doesn't seem possible but so what, the girl can sing and should be top dollar!! Do yourselves a favour and just buy the album, you won't regret it. There are some very catchy tunes inside!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS WILL BE HUGE, 20 Mar 2008
By 
B. Wasley "Ramone's Handler" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to be given a 6 track sampler EP (work in radio in Australia) and this album will be huge, she is brilliant, great song writing, catchy tracks, cannot wait to hear the finished product and can't believe she is only 16. Anyway this girl deserves any and all success that comes her way, haven't been this excited about a new artist since I don't remember, all hail Gabriella hehe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great start !, 17 Jan 2009
By 
P. T. Dennis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my first comment on Amazon reviewing an album and I cant believe how much pretentious garbage people are willing to say about a CD!!

It's a "pop" album from a very talented newcomer. What do people expect ?
This album is full of catchy happy songs ! What is wrong with that ?
I seriously think that some of these "reviewers" need to chill out a bit more and enjoy life !!

Get it ..its great !!

ENJOY !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars [] Lessons To Be Learned, 30 May 2008
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
Yet again, another songtress bringing back soul into their music and if im honest its not do as effectively on this album has it has on others (amy winehouse, duffy) but apart from this, i do like this album and i like the crossover effects of her songs and they work so well.

not my favourite album this year from this kind of artist but definately worth a mention as there is some good songs on the album.

stand out tracks =

sweet about me
sanctuary
awkward game
cigarettes and lies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Baby Baby !, 27 May 2008
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album.
This just gets played over and over.
Tremendous delivery and various musical influences.
A great mix.
This is good.
Go on Buy It.Pure music.
PS Listen to the new revamped CD single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut, 2 May 2008
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
I first saw Gabriella on 'Later with Jools Holland' and I was very impressed. I bought the album and I am still very impressed. An excellent debut album. The songs are easy to listen to, sung well and the production is spot on. I look forward to hearing more from her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a star in the making, 7 April 2008
By 
Sfield (oxford, oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
well i only needed to hear sweet about me, gabriella"s debut single to realise that this really is a star in the making.most of the tracks are made up of lyrics which really do not make much sense, talking about caterpillars and most other things which do not make sense. this really does not matter though, as her songs will soon be ringing in your ears, and you will most probably be singing them in the car.when i first played the album i have to say i thought it was rubbish, but as with most music you really need to play it a few times, and i rate it now as one of the best buys i have made for a while now.her voice is so infectious, and different from most vocal singers, she stands out in a class which will give me and most other people 10 out of ten. please go to the top of the class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars okay album, 2 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lessons To Be Learned (Audio CD)
A disapointing album as there were only a couple of songs on it that i really liked. i wish i had just downloaded an mp3 file of the songs i liked rather than pay out for the whole album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lessons To Be Learned
Lessons To Be Learned by Gabriella Cilmi (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews