Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2011
Plenty of tracks on here to indulge yourself. Stacey and her husband Jim can do no wrong. This is superb stuff, good production, good recording and her voice is just so, so sexy! If you like laid back jazz vocal - buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
I saw this great jazz singer life in Norwich and she was just fantastic and the CD has the same clear and great sound.
If you are a audiophile nut like me you will really enjoy the sound of this cd.
ENJOY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2003
Just when you thought she could not do better Stacey pulls this one out of the bag. It's a departure from the normal formula but takes her voices places you would not expect.
Jim and the band are, as always superb and the production values so exceptional, they jump out of the speakers!
This lovely mix of material combined with Stacey's voice transport to a magical place where you are completely relaxed and de-stressed.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
Stacey sings like an angel and has superb backing from her saxophonist husband and his band. Especially nice if you like the old standards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2006
This album is a delight from start to finish. A glorious voice and classy interpretations ... definitely not just jazzy background music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
I enjoy the music, Stacey Kent's voice and the selection of tracks. It is great music to listen to in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
A fantastic album with Stacey Kent. I love to listen to this. Over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Just so laid back and chilled - good price for a good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2004
Stacey Kent is another of Michael Parkinson's favourites; hardly a Sunday goes by without him playing something of hers. This album is dubbed "a collection of songs associated with some of Stacey's (male) musical heroes" and, helpfully, the liner notes mark against each track which hero is associated, from "The Best Is Yet To Come" (Tony Bennett) to "Bookends" (Paul Simon). (You could argue with some of the attributions, but I'll skip that here.)
They are all lovely, standard songs, subtley arranged for a jazz quintet to give a intimate, cozy, late bar or jazz club atmosphere - this is no big band bash. Stacey's is not the most musical voice I've ever heard, and she treats these songs in a very subdued, low key way, almost as if she's singing to herself. There's certainly little emotion given, the nearest she comes to raising the vocal tone is towards the end of "All I Do Is Dream Of You", attributed, ironically, to Dean Martin.
The result is an album that's great for playing very late at night, when it doesn't matter if you fall asleep, or perhaps if you can't get to sleep, because the chances are you soon will. It's nice, just a little too zzzz...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
I bought this at Ronnie Scotts when she played there at the end of August. A generous helping of wonderful standards, added to by Stacey's unique sprinkling of magic dust. For existing fans: you won't be disappointed. For first-timers: you'll be overjoyed to discover Stacey and to realise that there is much more where this came from!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)