Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improves with repeat viewings
Works more often than it fails and is visually excellent throughout, with great attention to detail and atmosphere. Watch it a couple of times and it gets a lot funnier. The three disc edition is good value with a lot of great extras and the extended cut IS better than the theatrical release. Sure to be a cult classic in a few years time.
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch
Roberty downey and tom cruise make 5 star performances, and its a good job because the film came so near yet so far... Some hilarious moments, but with the cast, i expected it too be a bit more 'gag to gag', and less action (though i acknowledge it was also and homage to the likes of Apocalypse now)... all in all not a bad film though
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Mr. David Simmonite


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improves with repeat viewings, 29 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Works more often than it fails and is visually excellent throughout, with great attention to detail and atmosphere. Watch it a couple of times and it gets a lot funnier. The three disc edition is good value with a lot of great extras and the extended cut IS better than the theatrical release. Sure to be a cult classic in a few years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all of you out there like me that need audio and subs info..., 11 May 2010
By 
Joao Dias (Lisbon, portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Specs for this BLU RAY EDITION:
- AUDIO: English 5.1 Dolby true HD / German/French/Italian/Spanish 5.1 Dolby Digital
- SUBTITLES: English/English SDHT/Dutch/Finish/French/German/Italian/Norwegian/Spanish/Swedish
- COMENTARY SUBTITLES: English/French/Italian/German/Spanish

This edition includes digital copy and the specs above are as listed on the back cover.
Hope this helps
Cheers/Joćo Dias
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious!, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Jane Lloyd (UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film will really appeal to anyone who likes Robert Downey Jr. or who is familiar with any jungle or Vietnam based movies, as they are all sent up very well. If you often find Jack Black's limited-to-one-character goofy acting irritating, do not let this put you off: he is not so bad in this film as he sends up his off screen druggie persona extrememly well, and Robert Downey Jr alone is worth buying the movie for: he is hilarious from start to finish. It's a very good humoured fun movie, and will especially appeal to people familiar with other movies of the jungle/veteran type as the tongue in cheek homage is covered very deftly. Nick Nolte is superb in his "grizzled Vietnam veteran" role, and Tom Cruise is a deliciously unredeemable villan. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Roberty downey and tom cruise make 5 star performances, and its a good job because the film came so near yet so far... Some hilarious moments, but with the cast, i expected it too be a bit more 'gag to gag', and less action (though i acknowledge it was also and homage to the likes of Apocalypse now)... all in all not a bad film though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but brilliant, on the border between cult and mainstream, 16 Mar 2009
Although this (the director's cut) was perhaps just a little long, I really enjoyed this film and laughed till I cried in more than one place. But it is a film where you sense that not everyone will like it. Some of the comedy is direct and irresistible: the verbally absurd, like Downey's gibberish Chinese when trying to con the leader of the drug-band or the visual humour of Stiller running along with his "son" stabbing him in the back until Stiller finally throws him off the bridge. But some is conceptual humour: remembering the idea of just what you are watching right now, or registering that the occasionally stupid, trite dialogue is crafted that way parodically.

If you are considering getting this film, my advice is stop reading any other review when they mention Tom Cruise. I have noticed that some reviewers describe the nature of his role: for me this is a spoiler! When you finally realise who he was during the credits, this is one of the funniest surprises in the film.

The film is also justly well known for the trailers at the start, these are very good, but they are by no means better or even as good as the best moments in the film proper. Its main faults are overlength - a few cuts would have worked wonders (a pity that you can't choose between Director's Cut and Theatre Version, as with so many BDs these days) - and that the opening sequence of the film until they stop rolling is not THAT funny.

As parodies go this is not in the league of "Austin Powers", which was much better as dissecting the cliches and idiocies of older Bond movies than this is at sending up war movies. But this film gains extra dimensions through ridiculing the self-importance and pretensions of Hollywood, and this provides much of the best humour. Being vague to try and avoid a spoiler, I'll say one of the funniest bits is when the studio boss does not change his attitude at all after realising his rather large initial misunderstanding.

Highly recommended, and the picture and audio quality are very much worthy of Blu-Ray. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder, 18 July 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Tropic Thunder' was directed by, co-written by and starred Ben Stiller and makes for a fairly amusing couple of hours viewing. From the spoof adverts and film trailers at the start of this film you know what you're letting yourself in for and the film continues in much the same vein. This is a spoof Vietnam film about the filming of a Vietnam film and it borrows very heavily from Platoon, as well as other famous Vietnam films to a lesser extent. If you know your Vietnam war films you can play spot the scene relatively easily. This didn't have me belly rolling in laughter, but it did have some funny moments that raise a laugh and it is fairly easy going and humorous. The cast is pretty great, with many famous faces, not least Tom Cruise as a funny film exec and Nick Nolte as a Vietnam Veteran, but the one who stole the film for me had to be Robert Downey Junior who had me laughing at nearly every line he delivered, he was very funny and this film would've been a lot duller without him. The direction was good and the pyrotechnics were pretty impressive too. If you've seen other Ben Stiller films you'll know what to expect, this has plenty of his off the wall comedy, slightly crass jokes and lots of furrowed brows and pouting. For an afternoons easy viewing this is pretty decent, nothing ground breaking or amazing, but a good enough comedy to pass the time.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder is brilliant, 3 July 2009
Tropic Thunder is one of the most sarcastic films I have ever seen. It takes shots at every thing the film industry has come to represent and is hilarious in doing so. I've never laughed so much, and it's all based on the truth. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tropic Thunder, 2 July 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Tropic Thunder' was directed by, co-written by and starred Ben Stiller and makes for a fairly amusing couple of hours viewing. From the spoof adverts and film trailers at the start of this film you know what you're letting yourself in for and the film continues in much the same vein. This is a spoof Vietnam film about the filming of a Vietnam film and it borrows very heavily from Platoon, as well as other famous Vietnam films to a lesser extent. If you know your Vietnam war films you can play spot the scene relatively easily. This didn't have me belly rolling in laughter, but it did have some funny moments that raise a laugh and it is fairly easy going and humorous. The cast is pretty great, with many famous faces, not least Tom Cruise as a funny film exec and Nick Nolte as a Vietnam Veteran but the one who stole the film for me had to be Robert Downey Junior who had me laughing at nearly every line he delivered, he was very funny and this film would've been a lot duller without him. The direction was good and the pyrotechnics were pretty impressive too. If you've seen other Ben Stiller films you'll know what to expect, this has plenty of his off the wall comedy, slightly crass jokes and lots of furrowed brows and pouting. For an afternoons easy viewing this is pretty decent, nothing ground breaking or amazing, but a good enough comedy to pass the time.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never get off the boat, 7 May 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Tropic Thunder is an amusing slapstick film with some gross bits (Steve Coogan's head for example) alongside a nice line in Hollywood insider humour and pastiche. Robert Downey Jr's playing of Samuel L Jackson as Russell Crowe is of another level though. There are lots of references to Apocalypse Now, and if it directs a few folks that way then it will have done none harm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great features, 2 April 2009
By 
Elad Aaron (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have seen Tropic Thunder a week I have watched The Dark Knight, a movie that blew my mind. By the time it had reached Israel, I have heard that it replaced The Dark Knight as the #1 movie in America. At some point, of course, it had to come, but I was really interested to see the heir of the Dark Knight - and I wasn't disappointed.

I can speak for hours about Tropic Thunder and how I became addicted to some of the scenes there. To me it was the funniest movie of 2008, on I can say for sure that it's among my "top-5" movies.
The special edition of Tropic Thunder has many bonus materials, which is a great thing for a die-hard fan like me.
First of all - the director's cut, which features many extended scenes, and other scenes which didn't make it to the thatrical cut. I must say that it's great for a die hard-fan of this movie, but I do think that a first-timer would prefer the theatrical cut at a first glance.

The alternate ending and the extended scenes are funny, as well as the "Blowing S#!t up" feature. The commentery is also great, and very funny.

All in all it's a great movie, and a great package for all of the Tropic Thunder's fans out there in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tropic Thunder [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£7.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews