Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Band Back On Top!!!
Jools Holland and his big band had a run of incredibly impressive albums- the 'and friends' series, 'swinging the blues', and the excellent collaboration with Tom Jones. Then came the very disappointing 'Moving out to the country', and last year's greatest hits compilation, and I started to fear that Jools and the gang had started to lose their way and run out of ideas...
Published on 18 Dec 2008 by Victor

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the informer
I like Jools Holland, so was a bit disappointed that there was not enough of his panio solo's. I suppose if you like soul singers you would say this was good. Overall I would say it rates as good, but not anything better than that
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by The Informer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Band Back On Top!!!, 18 Dec 2008
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Jools Holland and his big band had a run of incredibly impressive albums- the 'and friends' series, 'swinging the blues', and the excellent collaboration with Tom Jones. Then came the very disappointing 'Moving out to the country', and last year's greatest hits compilation, and I started to fear that Jools and the gang had started to lose their way and run out of ideas (though live they were still as good as ever). Then along comes this album, blowing away any doubts. They're back, they're on form, they're having a blast. This album does what Jools and co. do best - delivers a set of swinging tunes, designed to get you up and dancing. If you're not even tapping your feet to the music by the end of the last track you need urgent medical help!

The album contains a well selected set of covers and originals, played with decided vim and vigour by the band. Vocals are shared between Jools, the superb Ruby Turner, and Rico Rodriguez (on the standout ska track L-O-V-E). The band are on fiery form, meshing together superbly and delivering a wall of sound that's totally irresistable. The best bit though is that every one sounds like they are really enjoying themselves. This is music as it should be, none of your Miles Davis serious experimentalism here, just a bunch of friends having a load of fun and sharing the joy.

And that's just the first disc! Included in this release is a second album called 'Consider The Source', a selection of recordings taken from live concerts in Cathedrals. The emphasis here is on Gospel, with Ruby Turner really coming into her own. The set is fantastic, and really is how church ought to be! There'd be a lot more people there on a Sunday morning if we had hymns sung like this!

All in all an excellent, swinging album, which marks a return to form for a terrific group of fun loving musicians. Highly recommended to fans of swing, blues, ska, gospel, or just music lovers in general. This really is the next best thing to seeing them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Informed, 15 Dec 2008
By 
JB Richards "JBR" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
This is one of the best CD,s I have ever heard, the mix of ska r&b big band and boogie woogie is fantastic. Ruby Turner has an outstanding voice whether singing upbeat or ballads. It is worth buying for THE INFORMER alone but my favourite is
L-O-V-E a tremendous ska beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rhythm, 7 Feb 2009
By 
A. Perry (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Bought this after watching an interview with Jools. The interview inspired me to purchase the CD. When it arrived I was so pleased with it and have to confess I have never bought a CD by this artist before. But the music with its participating singers have created a brilliant range of big band music. You can't help tapping toes and moving to the beat. Some slower songs but they fit well with the theme. Great CD to play when entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillian Big Band Sound, 10 Dec 2008
By 
Princess Mononoke (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
If you like Jools you will love this, a fantastic collection of songs. The second CD is religious music with a swing, literally. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jools and Co, 2 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Jools and company at their best. Slightly biased as I have loved all of the "Jools and friends" series of cds and this one is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Jules Holland and Ruby Turner.
Together they turn in a double album of complete pleasure which will just carry you on and on and on.
If you don't know Ruby Turner then this is the place to find her, once found never lost whilst Jules Holland, the master, supports, backs and fronts this amazing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Informer, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Bought this CD for my wife as part of her xmas present as she is a big fan of Jools having just attended one of his rescent conserts.
She seems to be very pleased with the CD and as I haven't listened to it myself I can't comment on the music.
If you are also a Jools fan then you will know the type of music to expect and so will probably love this CD.
As mentioned my wife loves it and she is very hard to please,so going on that alone I feel comfortable in recommending this CD to anyone thinking of buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 8 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Another great album from Jools and the band. Something for everyone. If you enjoyed watching his recent live tour you'll love this. Quality musicians who obviously enjoy what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
Inspired by seeing him and the band live while on holiday on Guernsey I ordered this and have barely stopped playing since we got back four weeks ago. They are great fun live, full of energy and enthusiasm and that comes across just as much on this studio album. The various singers lend the CD a similar, happy party feel.

The varied pace and tone is delivered via top quality musicianship, making it a CD you can stick on repeat without ever bored. I don't know why I've taken so long to buy one of his CDs - a foolish assumption that it would be all him singing and so a bit samey, probably -but better late than never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic foot tapping album, 1 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Informer (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing one of the tracks on the radio. Its a great album - the piano playing is awesome, the rhythm and blues band are excellent. Each track gives you something different - from really upbeat swing to thought provoking ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa977efa8)

This product

The Informer
The Informer by Jools Holland (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews