Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance/Wobble's best work to date!
Few musicians on this planet are able to fuse totally unrelated styles of music and let them click. However, if there is one musician alive today that is able to do it, it must be England's Jah Wobble (AKA John T. Wardle). Using his wobbly base lines as kind of glue Wobble can mix diverse musical styles together, make it sound authentic and even sneak in his baselines in...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by Julio Punch

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Clash...
Despite the seemingly plethora of positives here, I can't agree with the reported synergy. For me, and others I played this Wobble to, it seemed the Chinese sounding vocals grated and Wobble's characteristic heavy dub did not compliment.

Disappointing as I am a fan and have a few of his. English Roots, Mu, Space all good, nothing has matched ...Bedlam though
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Retro HiFi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance/Wobble's best work to date!, 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
Few musicians on this planet are able to fuse totally unrelated styles of music and let them click. However, if there is one musician alive today that is able to do it, it must be England's Jah Wobble (AKA John T. Wardle). Using his wobbly base lines as kind of glue Wobble can mix diverse musical styles together, make it sound authentic and even sneak in his baselines in styles like English Folk or traditional Chinese music without letting it sound out of place.
This CD is an extension of Wobble's earlier albums Molam Dub (in which he fused Jamaican Dub with traditional Asian singing) and Five Tone Dragon (that featured his wife Zi Lan Liao on the Guzheng or Chinese Harp). It must be said that Wobble's former mate from PIL was almost as quick as the high regarded bass player himself with the compilation "China Dub". Will Asian music combined with western elements be the new trend in world music as African music was in the 1980's? Time will tell. But Wobble will be way ahead of the pack, as always.
Wobble travelled to China to enlist several outstanding vocalists for this album. Gu Yinyi is half Mongolian and half Tibetan and a master of Mongolian and Tibetan singing traditions. Ms Wobble, whose input in this project I estimate is almost as important as that of her better half, seems to be the Jimi Hendrix of the Chinese Harp. Good old Wobble devotee Clive Bell plays flute on several tracks and Ku Hsiung Li does an outstanding job with the bamboo flute on several others.
The CD starts with four continuous songs. The amazing vocal technique of the Mongolians, unknown to the West, is heard and Wobble's wife makes her instrumental entrance on a song called "Solitude". My favourite song on the album is "Happy Tibetan Girl". It has the perfect combination of amazing vocals, studio programming and a catchy bass line.
In my honest opinion this is Wobble's best work to date in a catalogue of 30 albums! (though I must confess I don't own all of them). This album has an originality and freshness to it that seems to be almost extinct in the music world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drew 42's Review, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
Wobble doing what he does best - great synthesis of trademark bass and western musicians with traditional Chinese music - partly courtesy of Mrs Wobble playing the magical Chinese harp. "This can't possibly work" I thought when I first heard about it - such different musical genres...but by gum it does! By all accounts the live performance was a highlight of WOMAD 2008...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chinese Dub Delivers Big Time, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Br Heath "TedH" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
For anybody lucky enough to have seen one of last years concert performances by Jah Wobble and co of this Chinese Dub material this album is a Godsend. The spirit, enthusiasm, power and fun of the event is wonderfully put across.
Watch your Bass though, Jah delivers some of the most bone throbbing bass by anyone for a long time.
This is world music for none muso's.
WONDERFUL!Chinese Dub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb CD of Chinese pipa and qin msuic, 11 Dec 2007
By 
Julian Joseph (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This recording features two of China's most expressive instruments: the 4-stringed lute pipa and the 7-stringed classical long zither qin. Cheng Yu is an exceptionally talented musician who plays both pipa and qin to stunning effect. "Flowing Water" brilliantly conveys all the moods of a river from a rushing torrent to a gentle flow, as well as the deeper significance of the music depicting the close friendship of a legendary master musician and the woodcutter who so greatly appreciated his music. The sound of the pipa in "Ambushed on Ten Sides" vividly portrays the sounds and emotions of a historic battle. Three of the pieces are accompanied by the bamboo flute, played by flute virtuoso Wang Ciheng and qin and flute master Li Xiangting. A superb CD and a "must buy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and brilliant, 29 Nov 2008
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
Luckily i was able to see Jah on tour. I had listened to some of his other work and I really liked it but I wasnt sure what to expect from "Chinese Dub", i thought the reggae beats and bass would be left out but I was certainly wrong. the vocalists in the band were spine chilling, so perfect and eerie at the same time. The massive range of instruments included te guzheng to simple pots and pans, guitars and of course Jah on bass. Everything came together, everything worked to create a sound like I had never heard before, chinese dub! It was a spectacle for the eyes and ears and I strongly recommend you buy this album it will not dissapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jah wobble-chinese dub, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Andrew Johnson "AJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chinese Dub (MP3 Download)
This album really works, bought it on spec, glad i did, hope mr wobble is going to showcase this album live.
AJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sino Dub, 18 Mar 2010
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
Jah Wobble has already given us Laos Dub (Molom Dub) which was a bit like ancient hip hop, with heavy dub bass lines, but he goes one step further with Chinese Dub. With the help of his wife, Zi Lan Liao, he recruited singers from Tibet and Sichuan and fused his own heavy bass lines and dub sensibilities with 'ancient' Chinese singing and instruments. It must have been great to see on stage and it sounds wonder full too. I think in the future this work will be seen as very forward looking as China assumes the mantle of a world power. The sound is refreshingly unpolished-- some of recorded live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top!, 22 April 2009
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
Not much to add to other reviews. Just to say that here's yet more of the usual,innovative and high quality Wobble music to be enjoyed by those who know...which should also be discovered by those who don't, yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album., 29 May 2010
By 
Andrew Cowie "acowie" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese Dub (MP3 Download)
I heard Happy Tibetan girl on a world music sampler - I downloaded the rest of the album on the strength of that and I wasn't disappointed. Happy Tibetan Girl is still my favourite track but it's well worth checking out the rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he's done it again, 17 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: CHINESE DUB (Audio CD)
jah wobble has shown once again that music is the ultimate way that people who do not have a common spoken language can communicate with all the expressions and emotions of the spoken word.
thanks for some more blindingly good music.
nik marcelline, london
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CHINESE DUB
CHINESE DUB by Chinese Instrumental Ensemble (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews