Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install and simple to use
I was amazed how easy this little gadget was to set up and install considering my previous experiences while staying in bed and breakfast accommodation in areas that had Freeview before we did, where I'd struggled to understand how their Freeview set-top boxes worked and was struck how clunky the software seems compared with the Sky set-up we had at home.

We...
Published on 16 Dec 2008 by Bluebell

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good but software problems
I purchased one 10 months ago and it worked very well, but it now comes up with error message NO SIGNAL. The only way to get it work again is to switch off for a few minutes and then rest the gadget. Once you can cope with, but it is happening too often. The manufacturer appear to be aware of the problem, but no fix as of now. After 13 months it eventually stopped...
Published on 31 July 2009 by Old Sailor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install and simple to use, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
I was amazed how easy this little gadget was to set up and install considering my previous experiences while staying in bed and breakfast accommodation in areas that had Freeview before we did, where I'd struggled to understand how their Freeview set-top boxes worked and was struck how clunky the software seems compared with the Sky set-up we had at home.

We had terrible analogue TV reception in the Scottish Borders and so I wasn't too hopeful that the switch to digital terrestrial TV would lead to better reception. An ancient Sony TV unused for years that has been transformed by this TVonics gadget: great picture; easy channel change with the handset (this TV is pre-handsets, or Skart sockets, etc); programme information and Ceefax all for such a small price.

Another advantage is that, if you have satellite TV and this Freeview box attached to your TV you can set one channel for the satellite and another to terrestrial digital Freeview and so record on one channel and watch a different programme on the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tiny and terrific!, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
This is a terrific little gadget. It is just the thing for an old TV without a scart socket. It is so small that it fits on top of the tv using the self-adhesive pads (you can cut to size). The remote is easy to use (the remote that came with it is a large-size remote and not the tiny one pictured. Don't know if this is now standard or just an anomaly!!) .

To set it up you just switch on at mains, then plug the Tv aerial in at the back and use a coaxial lead to go from the unit to the tv. You then find a spare channel on the TV and "tune" it via UHF. The set-up menu appears when you reach the right point and you simply store the channel. The only minor niggle here is that you have to reset the RF default channel via the settings menu as the default (39) causes interference with channel 5 (37). I simply set it to 41 (you can go up or down) and it was fine. The picture is sharp/clear and it has a 7-day EPG which updates itself. (you can switch this function off via the menu if you wish). The menu has nice features such as picture ratio (4:3/4:3 letterbox or widescreen) and timer setting.

Overall a great item for that old (second/third?) tv that you want to add freeview to but don't have a scart socket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good but software problems, 31 July 2009
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
I purchased one 10 months ago and it worked very well, but it now comes up with error message NO SIGNAL. The only way to get it work again is to switch off for a few minutes and then rest the gadget. Once you can cope with, but it is happening too often. The manufacturer appear to be aware of the problem, but no fix as of now. After 13 months it eventually stopped working completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very small and very good, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
We bought this about a year ago to use with a wall mounted tv, its that small you can run it on a small lead so it sits behing the tv.

The other relly good thing about this is it transmits via an aerial lead as opposed to scart so its 1 less wire. We use it on the 2nd TV where we dont need/notice the difference between a scart broadcast signal or an arial broadcast one so this is perfect.

I understand TVONICS used to be the sony people in Wales who set up the company when Sony pulled out - the quality of product is up there with sony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible picture !, 9 Jun 2009
By 
J. Macdonald (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
When my £16 supermarket set top box got damaged, I decided to buy a more expensive replacement. I chose the TVonics because it looked small and simple to use, but primarily because it had received 14 5-star reviews out of 14.
I am sorry to be the odd man out here but I am really disappointed with this product. The picture quality is so poor that some channels are unwatchable; the picture breaks up and freezes all the time. The picture quality using my previous box was ,without exaggeration, ten times better.
I am going to bin this and buy another £16 box from the supermarket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little box, 3 April 2009
By 
Mub (Charlton Musgrove) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
This is a great little digital receiver, small enough to fit in the palm of your hand. We also purchased an amplified indoor aerial to use it with, and the reception on our old bedroom TV is great. A couple of bits of advice though. This model does not come with the IR(Remote Control Extender) lead included. This is an even smaller device that plugs into the unit, so that you can still use the remote control when the unit is placed behind the TV, or out of sight somewhere. You just attach the front of the IR lead, with a supplied sticky pad, to the side of the TV, so that the remote control can communicate with it. The slightly more expensive TVonics Model MFR-300 comes with this included, and will save you money if you want to buy the IR lead as an optional extra. The other thing to remember is that the default setting of the unit is to automatically scan for new channels when the unit is in standby mode(ie at night). If you use an amplified indoor ariel, and you switch it off at night, then the unit will try scanning with no adequate signal, and you will loose most of your channels, and have to retune in the morning. However this default setting can be turned off, and the problem goes away. Overall, very satisfied so far with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TVonics MFR-200 Small but not always beautiful, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Brian McN (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
The MFR-200 is a neat package and easy to set up. However, the picture quality is not as good as that provided by a conventional box with a SCART connection.

The major problem with it is that every few days it reports "No signal" and requires a reboot by turning the power supply off and back on. Very irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor customer service, 3 Nov 2009
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
Purchased tvonics MFR 200 following recommendation by Which magazine. Unit became faulty after 13 months (1 month out of warranty). Phoned customer service, waited 10 mins on expensive call before a response from adviser, but was only told it was unlikely there was a problem and could be due to digital switch over. Suggested I waited for switch over but unit still not working, tried to email for address to send for repair but without success. I certainly would not recommend the company or the products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Jury is still out!, 3 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
Had some initial setup problems but settled those by resetting the digibox, however I currently have to reset every second day or so as it seems to forget the previous settings and reports "no signal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this product (TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set top freeview box), 10 July 2009
By 
This review is from: TVonics MFR-200 Small Digital Set Top Freeview Box (Electronics)
This is the second freeview box I buy from Amazon. The first one lasted for over a year but the TVonics started malfunctioning after one month of purchase! It was cheap and very easy to install I grant you but then it turned out to be utterly disposable. I am seriously thinking that I should just buy a SKY package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews