Customer Reviews


749 Reviews
5 star:
 (525)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the pinnacle of superhero movies
This is a film so good that I don't feel it can be fully taken in on first viewing. This was an issue I found with The Matrix as well. Both films are so loaded with ideas, so complex in the painstakingly loving creation of an alternative universe, that on first viewing it's easy to become overwhelmed and fail to absorb a large chunk of it all. That was my experience at...
Published on 6 Aug 2010 by Benminx

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ledger's show stealing performance.
Bale an his annoying Batman voice return again for the sequel to Batman Begins.
The film starts off pretty good but looses steam pretty quick after the first 20-30 minutes.
The plot is a bit laughable and even though Nolan wants it to be more realistic it still has a lot of absurd sequences that are not realistic. From falling off skyscrapers to the precision...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Moore


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the pinnacle of superhero movies, 6 Aug 2010
This is a film so good that I don't feel it can be fully taken in on first viewing. This was an issue I found with The Matrix as well. Both films are so loaded with ideas, so complex in the painstakingly loving creation of an alternative universe, that on first viewing it's easy to become overwhelmed and fail to absorb a large chunk of it all. That was my experience at the cinema, and as a result I thought the Dark Knight was just 'pretty good'. On seeing it again on Blu-Ray it's clear that it's actually 'Phenomenal' in every way.
The Batman world has evolved from the first film, as it should in every good sequel. Christian Bale is back and excellent once again, now finding himself battling imitators as well as bad guys. Ex-girlfriend Rachel is now dating hotshot star DA Harvey Dent, played by a tough and likeable Aaron Eckhart, and Heath Ledger truly deserved that Oscar as the Joker. His character must have been worked on for months. He comes across as a completely authentic human being, full of tics, personality and insanity and is utterly captivating when on screen. The script's plot is artfully written and shows off a terrific range of character arcs, stunning Bat technology, and bad guy shenanigans. Bale also gets to wheel out more emotion than before and faces harder choices in his actions. The photography is stunning, glitteringly clear on Blu-Ray and showing the film off to its full potential.
All of the actions taken throughout the film feel like they fit the story properly and service the script, not the other way around which is the case in so many superhero movies. In fact, it's hard to imagine how they came up with something so tightly written. The story is tense, and allows the characters an enormous range of action and emotion, despite also exhibiting a deeply moral core.
As movies go it's hard to rate this highly enough. In photography, in action, in direction, all of it is an unmitigated triumph. This may well be one of the best action films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm.......... good film, average DVD, 3 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this to be a very intelligent piece of 'comic book' film-making, accomplishing the difficult feat of having Batman appear to be a strangely normal part of the real world. The action sequences are impressive, all the more so for being live action rather than CGI, and the performances credible. Aaron Eckhardt is particularly notable as Harvey Dent, his zeal always bordering on the manic even as a good guy. Gary Oldman is wonderfully understated and Michael Caine is, well, Michael Caine. I was left wondering if Gyllenhaal's character might return as Catwoman if there is a sequel. But of course the buzz was all about Heath Ledger. He is astonishing in his portrayal of the Joker. Regardless of his untimely death and the hype that surrounded this film as a result, this performance really does deserve a nod at Oscar time as he simply gobbles up the screen whenever he appears.
I give the DVD 4 stars rather than 5 as I was a bit disappointed by the extras in what is supposed to be a 2-disc edition. I thought the 'news' items a bit pointless and there was too much emphasis on the Imax sequences. I did not expect a morbid Heath-fest but I did expect some kind of mention, even if only to go into more depth about his approach to the character of the Joker. I like to hear the actors talk about their characters and the process of making the film and there is little of that to be found here. So from that point of view I found this a disappointing buy and would probably have gone for the single disc edition if given the choice again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from a non-film buff, for non film buffs!!!, 5 Sep 2009
By 
I admit, I came to the new batman films with a somewhat preconceived notion that they would be typical comic book films, glossy and boring, but nevertheless an agreeable way to spend two hours or so. However, I was very wrong, whilst in opinion, it is not quite te masterpiece that some claim, it is nevertheless a brilliant film, the plot is genuinely compelling and the setting genuinely dark. Christopher Nolan has finally got the full potential out of the Batman world not only that but there is some stellar acting on show, not just with Heath Ledger but from Micheal Caine and from Morgan Freeman as well.

Now onto the Blu-ray conversion, which has been the subject of some controversy in the reviews below. My view is that so long as you watch it without purposefully looking for the aspect ratio changes, you won't notice them too much and they won't annoy you. What you will notice is that the film envelops you in the world of Gotham City.

Overall personally I like the fact that they filmed some of it in IMAX it adds to the film, rather than taking away, in my opinion. I also loved the film, it is fun and not totally serious, but it's still great nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing film!!, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Dark Knight is outstanding!!I bought the film on triple play so it had the blu ray,special features and the dvd.I loved the blu ray picture quality.Its one of the best blu ray picture qualitys i've ever seen on a blu ray!I am going to give the picture quality an a+.Now on to the story.The joker wants Batman to reveall who he is and if Batman says no he he will kill people of gotham.I don't want to tell you any more of the story or otherwise I will spoil it fore you.The story is nice and easy to understand but I think the film makers should of thought of a more exciting storyline.The actors in the film are fantastic!Especially heath ledger as the joker.He makes the film very very exciting because when he puts on an expresion on his face it makes you wonder what he planning to do.Christian Bale returns as Batman and he does a great job in the film overall the actors in the movie make it feel as if its a true story.So i am going to give the cast an a+.Now on to the special features.There are quite a few.

Special Features:Gotham Uncovered creation of a scene-director christopher nolan creative callaborators.umask the incredible detail and planning behind the film,Including stunt gaging.Filming in IMAX,the new batsuit and bat-pod.Batman tech-the incredible gadgets and tools in HD.Gotham Tonight-6 episodes of gotham cable's premier news program.The galleries-the joker cards,concept art,poster art,production stills,traliers and Tv sports.
The special features are very intresting to watch.So i am going to give it an A+.so overall the dark knight triple play gets an A-.I hope you enjoyed my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly Dark, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Peter WarrenRothwell "PeteR" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is not often the case that the sequel is as good as, if not better than the original, but "The Dark Knight." is definitely a worthy successor to "Batman Begins". Words of warning though, pay attention to the certificate! Don't be one of those parents that let their eight-year-old watch this film and is then surprised that their child has nightmares. This is a very dark tale! Heath Ledger's well-deserved posthumous multiple awards, for his portrayal of The Joker, creates memorable and disturbing scenes, suggestive of deeply cruel violence; stealing every scene he is in. Christian Bale, as Batman, takes the story of our hero from triumph to tragedy; supported by excellent performances from Michael Cane and Morgan Freeman amongst others. But, of course, this is much more than intense drama. The special effects are stunning and the action will leave you breathless. The filmmakers have paid attention to every detail of the visuals and soundtrack to make this DVD worth watching many times over to pick up on everything that they achieved. If that is not enough for you, the second disk of features will probably give you all the information you could wish for about the making of the film. This two-disk release is well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars variable aspect ratio just works!, 14 Dec 2008
By 
D Poisson "Perennialist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The film's great, blah blah, nothing new.

This is really to comment on the Blu-Ray variable aspect ratio that is featured on this BD. As a film purist, I was VERY sceptical about the idea of moving from letterbox to full-screen aspect ratios during such a brilliant film. I was so worried that it would look cheap and gimmicky that I rented the BD before buying to make up my mind. At the worst, I would get the DVD and get the whole thing in letterbox format, I thought.

Looking back, I am glad I checked, because it really could have been awful, but honestly? I'm not sure how I could imagine that such a landmark film would be the object of cheap gimmicks...

The switching from letterbox to full screen is so subtly integrated that my wife didn't even notice it(and she's just as film savvy as I am - I knew about the VAR so I was looking out for the switches)

Here's the verdict: I found that it actually added to the film.

The opening bank heist and the lorry vs bike scene (don't pretend you don't know the one...) both get the full screen treatment. Obviously, they are two amazing set pieces that really benefit from the involving appeal of the full-screen experience. They are also two scenes that must have been intentionally shot with no important info on the sides, so you really do lose nothing you would have wanted to keep and you gain immersion and pixel-perfect definition. This is not Channel 5 cutting of the sides of your favourite movies just to get rid of the black stripes. When the black stripes go, it's because it really is best that way. And then when they come back, it's integrated into dark scenes so that you don't even realise it.

Other full-screen moments include wide-angle pans over the city giving you a completely immersive experience. The switch to full-screen on these scenes give you the impression of flying over Gotham at night. Incredible.

I will now never accept to see the film in any other format. This truly seems to be the director's vision. And if it isn't, then it should be. Who would have thought that The Dark Knight could be improved on? I feel humbled.

EDIT: Yes, obviously, when I say full screen, I mean the full 16:9 (1.78:1) of an HD TV, as opposed to letter-box 2.4:1 which presents black lines at the top and bottom of the screen. (For those commentators who appear to be watching their blu-ray films on a 4:3 cathode-ray tube... I do suggest sticking to DVD or even VHS: it's much cheaper! Another tip would be to buy two speakers so you can upgrade to stereo sound! I hope this clarifies things for you.)
Though it is interesting to learn that the sequences that I was so impressed with were originally shot with that 16:9 IMAX ratio, staying therefore 100% true to the director's vision. So in the end it's the DVD version that cuts material off, not this blu-ray version. Thanks for the info!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Batman Film Ever!, 26 Dec 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Dark Knight (Blu-Ray).

Product Info.
Format: PAL, Subtitled
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, German, Italian, Korean, Portuguese, Chinese, Danish, Swedish, Norwegian
Dubbed: French, Italian, Portuguese, German, Spanish
Audio Description: English
Region: All Regions
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.35:1
Number of discs: 2
Classification: 12
Studio: Warner Home Video
Running Time: 152 minutes

Cast.
Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne/Batman
Michael Caine as Alfred Pennyworth
Heath Ledger as The Joker
Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent/Two-Face
Maggie Gyllenhaal as Rachel Dawes
Gary Oldman as James Gordon
Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox
Colin McFarlane as Gillian Loeb
Chin Han as Mr. Lau
Michael Jai White as Gambol
Ritchie Coster as The Chechen
Eric Roberts as Sal Maroni
Sarah Jayne Dunn as Sal Maroni's Mistress
Nestor Carbonell as Mayor Garcia
Anthony Michael Hall as Mike Engel
Joshua Harto as Coleman Reese
William Fichtner as Manager of Gotham National Bank
Cillian Murphy as Jonathan Crane/Scarecrow

Budget: $185 million
Box office: $1.005 billion

Extra Content:
·Gotham uncovered
·Batman tech
·Batman Unmasked
·Gotham Tonight
·The Galleries

The Plot.
With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon & newly appointed District Attorney Harvey Dent, Batman sets out to dismantle the remaining criminal organizations that plague the city streets. The partnership proves to be effective, but they soon find themselves prey to a reign of chaos unleashed by a rising criminal mastermind known to the terrified citizens of Gotham as The Joker.

Timelord Thoughts.
Well what can I say about The Dark Knight apart from its EPIC!

This sequel ups the ante in both action, spectacle but more importantly emotion, Heath Ledger deserved his posthumous award for his interpretation of The Joker giving one of the all time best performances of a comic book villian ever!, Ledger encapsulates the character brilliantly who's funny, scary, frightening, disturbing & completely insane, when Ledgers on screen all attention is on him as he dominates every scene he appears in.

But lets not forget that this is Christian Bales show & once again is outstanding as Bruce Wayne/Batman who brilliantly channels the charm of Bruce Wayne & inner turmoil of Batman, the scenes in the police holding cell were Batman beats up the Joker who simply keeps on laughing at him are dramatic & intense which are my favourite scenes of the movie.

The Batpod chase set's a new benchmark in blockbuster spectacle which is truly entertaining edge of your seat tension fuelled action, while the climax with Batman rescuing hostages & facing the ultimate dilemma brings the movie to a cracking nail biting conclusion.

Let's not forget the wonderful understated performance of Aaron Eckhart as Harvey Dent/Two Face who pulls off the task of being Gotham's white knight until fate steps in & the lives of Harvey, Batman & Comissioner Gordon are changed forever.

Good support comes from the supporting cast Michael Caine as Alfred the father figure of Batman/Bruce Wayne, Gary Oldman is simply superb as Chief/Commisioner Gordon who's trying stablize Gotham's corrupt police force.

The Blu-Ray features a clearer & sharper colourful transfer with amazing crystal clear sound that's well worth paying a little more for this far superior upgrade.

This film is a phenomenal movie & surpasses Batman Begins, the acting is first rate, the action is skilfully directed & the drama paced superbly by Director Christopher Nolan who set's a new benchmark in epic quality film making, just how is Nolan going top this?

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Some men just want to watch the world burn", 14 July 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Bruce Wayne and his masked alter-ego don't actually feature in this film as much as you'd think, instead the focus is on the other characters. We don't see a great deal of Bruce Wayne, but when we do Bale excels - there are times when his Patrick Bateman from American Psycho seems to shine through as he gives the impression of being a carefree playboy yuppie. We are aware that in order to live his double-life, he must sacrifice his own image and popularity.

It's great that the film makes an effort to build up the characters who will become Batman's nemeses - often in comic-action films the baddies are 2-dimensional larger-than-life beasts who appear, cause a bit of hassle, and then get obliterated by the hero. Batman is famed for its outrageous bad-guys, but in Dark Knight they have a grittiness which grounds them in reality - this makes them seem far more sinister. Instead of almost cartoon-like caricatures they feel eerily like the product of a broken society.

It's difficult to discuss this film without gushing praise to Heath Ledger for his performance as The Joker, it's all justified - his performance was sublime and The Joker comes across as a unhinged sociopath hell-bent on causing destruction for a very personal motive. He doesn't crave money, not even power - and it is his unpredictability which makes him so creepy. But through it all there's always sympathy for him, he might be a evil lunatic who kills with no emotional regard - but behind the make-up he's a damaged soul. He stands as a message to us all, the scariest realisation is that Gotham City produced this monster.

Helping to reel the film into plausibility are the answers to many of the questions an action hero film naturally produces: What do ordinary folk think of Batman? How does he make all of his money when he's busy fighting baddies? Does he get hurt? And how do bad guys recruit henchmen?! We also see the evolution of his suit, being Batman requires constant developments - and having your very own version of Bond's Q in the company helps! (I half expected Morgan Freeman to say "do be careful Wayne! This may look like an ordinary biro, but...")

Dark Knight contains most of the clichés you expect in an action film, but in addition to that it delivers a bit more. It breaks the conventions of the genre and that's a good thing. There's always something unexpected; the film reaches a natural conclusion, but then it slaps you round the face and you haven't a clue how things are going to turn out.

In a nutshell: This sequel continues the darker style and throws more violence into the mix. Batman Begins was a great introduction to a new re-imagining, and Dark Knight is still a good film which manages to stretch the genre. I can't help but think though that the film tried to chuck too much into the mix. Two villains were present when only one was necessary.

When this film ends it's clear that the new Batman film franchise is taking another step into the dark side. You know Batman is going to save the day, but you never know at what cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


256 of 296 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio and Subtittles, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Audio: Dolby True HD: English5.1, Dolby Digital: Brazilian Portugese 5.1, Castilian Spanish 5.1, French 5.1 , German 5.1, Italian 5.1,

.Subtittles English, Brazilian Portuguese , Castalian Spanish , Complex CHinese, Danish, Dutch,French, German, Italian ,Korean , Norwegian , Portuguese Spanish and Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb cinematic experience for a inexpensive price, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Alexandre P. Soares (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie per se is mind-blowing. Two and a half hours that passes in a blink of an eye and yet keeps you longing for more. Amazing film-making, extraordinary acting, well written script... OK, nothing new so far.

This 2 disk BD edition reflects the contents' excellency. The transition between the IMAX shots (1.78) and the traditional 2.35 widescreen shots is seamless and allows the viewer to see the picture in the way the director intended to present it. A high quality video transfer, crisp and clear audio and a supplements galore completes the package. And better, for an affordable price!

In a nutshell, a superb cinematic experience for a inexpensive price. Absolutely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight (Region 1) [Blu-ray] [2008] [US Import]
The Dark Knight (Region 1) [Blu-ray] [2008] [US Import] by Christopher Nolan (Blu-ray - 2008)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews