Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Begins at Forty - Quo's still Rockin' on the longest farewell tour
From 'Pictures of Matchstick Men' in 1968, to the Ultimate Quo collection 'Pictures - 40 Years of Hits' in 2008. This set is an excellent retrospective of Quo's 40 years in the business. The four CD's covers their whole career, with 76 great tracks including their first Christmas release 'It's Christmas Time', which is also their 75th single. The collection is mounted in...
Published on 10 Nov 2008 by Mr. D. Catchpole

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pictures 40 years of hits
it's an OK cd if you're not a quo fan and just want a taste of their music in your cd collection.
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by roadrunner


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Begins at Forty - Quo's still Rockin' on the longest farewell tour, 10 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. D. Catchpole "Headbanger" (Bury St Edmunds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From 'Pictures of Matchstick Men' in 1968, to the Ultimate Quo collection 'Pictures - 40 Years of Hits' in 2008. This set is an excellent retrospective of Quo's 40 years in the business. The four CD's covers their whole career, with 76 great tracks including their first Christmas release 'It's Christmas Time', which is also their 75th single. The collection is mounted in the front of a lavish 12" x 12", 120 page hardback book featuring copies of the pictures painted by various stars and artists, who have created their own versions of classic Quo album and singles covers. The originals having now been auctioned in aid of The Prince's Trust, making 100,000 for the charity. The presentation of this collection is also excellent and is well worth the extra money over the cost of the basis two disc, forty track collection, and will most certainly be a collector's item in the future. May Quo still be Rockin' All Over The World for many years to come, hope to catch them on the current leg of their extended farewell tour in Cambridge in February 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class, 21 Dec 2009
By 
L. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
What can i say 40 years and still going strong . This is all there best stuff and more .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new to Quo?, 8 Nov 2008
This review is from: Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
Ignore the miseries, this is a really good rockin' album. I have kind of mocked these guys for years - yet having heard this CD I am amazed how many of the tunes I actually know and really like. You'll probably be the same. What more can I say? It's cheap as chips. Give it a listen. Hell Yeh!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a quality product !, 22 Jan 2009
When I received this I was taken aback at how good it is. A lovely hard back book, intro from Prince Charles then reproductions with associated write-ups of all the paintings (pictures) that were done for Status Quo's charity auction at Bonham's which raised 100,000 for the Princes Trust just before Christmas 2008 (how that wasn't reported in the press/TV is beyond me). And then you get 4 CDs of Quo's music as well attached to one of the hard inside covers - just fantastic, definitely a treasure to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for diehard fans, 6 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
This album isn't aimed at or for Status Quo `diehard' fans, who know every track they've ever record; Nor the sort of person who wants to hear little known B sides, alternative versions of tracks and live performances.

This album is for the occasional fan, the sort of person who enjoys listening to The Quo's better known `commercial' hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quo:Pictures, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent way to listen to Quo throughout the years. Real value. I didn't realise I still knew the words to the early tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Audio CD)
THIS IS A CRACKING COMPILATION COVERING QUO FROM ITS PYSCHEDELIC BEGINNINGS THROUGH MA KELLY'S GREASY SPOON TO THE PRESENT. THIS IS WELL RECORDED AND PRODUCED TO A HIGH STANDARD REFLECTING THE BAND'S CONTRIBUTION TO BRITISH ROCK MUSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Rockin', 24 Jun 2009
By 
K. Johansen "luvmusic" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't improve on any of the reviews that are already written.

Suffice to say the record company have done Quo proud, not only did they release this magnificent set but there's also a companion 2 cd and a hardbook version with a dvd!

Quo's music makes you feel good and having seen them twice in recent years in concert made me realise just how good they are and they work very hard onstage to ensure we all have a great time.

The hits old and new are here plus album tracks, anniversary medleys and their Xmas single.

It's also good to see the lavish illustrations - painting of their album sleeves by their peers.

If you like Quo, you will relish this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Ruby Anniversary - 40 years of Quo, 22 Jun 2009
By 
A. Thom "Tex" (King's Lynn, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Status Quo - Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Earbook)

Simply a "MUST HAVE" for anyone who claims to be a true Quo fan. I have been a fan since 1976, the days of the original line-up! This album knocks spots off any other band's "best of" album.
It's a pity all good things must come to an end, but Status Quo will be here for a few more years yet. It would have been nice for the original line-up to perform together on this ultimate album. But the band will always be my favourite, I have all the albums from "Matchstickable..." to "Earbook".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attention all Quo collectors!, 18 April 2009
By 
E. Wren (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great collectors set. The 4 CDs in the front of the book make sure you have all the hits from the guys, and together with the very different paintings and artists give you an interesting read as well. Buy a couple then frame some of the pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pictures: 40 Years of Hits
Pictures: 40 Years of Hits by Status Quo (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews