Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars117
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2008
From 'Pictures of Matchstick Men' in 1968, to the Ultimate Quo collection 'Pictures - 40 Years of Hits' in 2008. This set is an excellent retrospective of Quo's 40 years in the business. The four CD's covers their whole career, with 76 great tracks including their first Christmas release 'It's Christmas Time', which is also their 75th single. The collection is mounted in the front of a lavish 12" x 12", 120 page hardback book featuring copies of the pictures painted by various stars and artists, who have created their own versions of classic Quo album and singles covers. The originals having now been auctioned in aid of The Prince's Trust, making £100,000 for the charity. The presentation of this collection is also excellent and is well worth the extra money over the cost of the basis two disc, forty track collection, and will most certainly be a collector's item in the future. May Quo still be Rockin' All Over The World for many years to come, hope to catch them on the current leg of their extended farewell tour in Cambridge in February 2009.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2009
When I received this I was taken aback at how good it is. A lovely hard back book, intro from Prince Charles then reproductions with associated write-ups of all the paintings (pictures) that were done for Status Quo's charity auction at Bonham's which raised £100,000 for the Princes Trust just before Christmas 2008 (how that wasn't reported in the press/TV is beyond me). And then you get 4 CDs of Quo's music as well attached to one of the hard inside covers - just fantastic, definitely a treasure to keep.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
Ignore the miseries, this is a really good rockin' album. I have kind of mocked these guys for years - yet having heard this CD I am amazed how many of the tunes I actually know and really like. You'll probably be the same. What more can I say? It's cheap as chips. Give it a listen. Hell Yeh!!!!
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
I can't improve on any of the reviews that are already written.

Suffice to say the record company have done Quo proud, not only did they release this magnificent set but there's also a companion 2 cd and a hardbook version with a dvd!

Quo's music makes you feel good and having seen them twice in recent years in concert made me realise just how good they are and they work very hard onstage to ensure we all have a great time.

The hits old and new are here plus album tracks, anniversary medleys and their Xmas single.

It's also good to see the lavish illustrations - painting of their album sleeves by their peers.

If you like Quo, you will relish this set!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
this is a quo Fans paradise, all their very best in one place, this Album delves into the Quo's early years to present day, it covers more than just the rock beat that is the trademark of this great band,,it also covers their more subtle style of play, it is a mixture of rock and easy listening and more than that, Status Quo also show their ability in reproducing the original Rock N Roll classics, made famous by stars like, littl richard, chuck berry, dion and others, all wrapped up in a style that only the Rossi/Parfitt touch can acheive.

A must have item to anyone who has even a small regard for this Band, it gets no better..............
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2008
This album isn't aimed at or for Status Quo `diehard' fans, who know every track they've ever record; Nor the sort of person who wants to hear little known B sides, alternative versions of tracks and live performances.

This album is for the occasional fan, the sort of person who enjoys listening to The Quo's better known `commercial' hits.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
This album was originally released in 2008, to mark the 40th anniversary of Quo's first hit single, Pictures Of Matchstick Men. It is a very good album, with some storming songs and most of their best singles. However, I do have several reservations. First of all, the track listing on the back of the box is not numbered, which makes it a bit awkward when you look at the box and want to skip certain tracks. This can become very tiring, especially if you want to skip more than one song, because it means that you have to count the tracks to find out which track number you want to skip. Also, although this album was advertised as containing all of Quo's Top 20 hits, there are several noticeable omissions. Where are Going Down Town Tonight, Dreamin', Running All Over The World and Anniversary Waltz Part 2, all of which made the UK Top 20? Another problem with this album is it also contains songs that were never big hits and didn't even make the Top 20, for example, In My Chair, Mean Girl, I Didn't Mean It and Fun Fun Fun. Beginning Of The End is also included, which didn't even make the Top 40, so it can hardly be considered to be a hit and also It's Christmas Time, which only just scraped into the Top 40. So, this album would only really appeal to a casual Quo fan, who would only be interested in the biggest hits and who would not be bothered by such flaws and who would already own all of the songs, anyway. So, four stars from me, for this very good, but flawed album. I think Quo still have yet to release the definitive hits album, if they ever do. Nice try, though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Status Quo - Pictures: 40 Years of Hits (Earbook)

Simply a "MUST HAVE" for anyone who claims to be a true Quo fan. I have been a fan since 1976, the days of the original line-up! This album knocks spots off any other band's "best of" album.
It's a pity all good things must come to an end, but Status Quo will be here for a few more years yet. It would have been nice for the original line-up to perform together on this ultimate album. But the band will always be my favourite, I have all the albums from "Matchstickable..." to "Earbook".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
What can i say 40 years and still going strong . This is all there best stuff and more .
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
This is a great collectors set. The 4 CDs in the front of the book make sure you have all the hits from the guys, and together with the very different paintings and artists give you an interesting read as well. Buy a couple then frame some of the pictures!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)