Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magnificent!
I know that there are stuffy purists out there who would not approve of David Fray's interpretations of these Bach concertos, but don't let that put you off as after all, Bach never originally wrote these as PIANO concertos anyway - they are transcriptions of works for other instruments. This album is an absolute joy; Fray infuses these pieces with new life, exquisite...
Published on 18 Jan 2009 by J. L. Bertram

versus
8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty playing but not Bach
Again we have here a case of a youngish pianist trying to make a mark with Bach - a dangerous ambition and one that needs superlative musicianship and magic to pull off. David Fray is, unfortunately, not the man for the job.

A good effort in directing from the piano, except the orchestra was not 'tight' - they seemed to follow Fray in a rather haphazard...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by AbsoluteClassical


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magnificent!, 18 Jan 2009
By 
J. L. Bertram (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
I know that there are stuffy purists out there who would not approve of David Fray's interpretations of these Bach concertos, but don't let that put you off as after all, Bach never originally wrote these as PIANO concertos anyway - they are transcriptions of works for other instruments. This album is an absolute joy; Fray infuses these pieces with new life, exquisite beauty and new insights.

For me what stands out is the attention to detail - every note, every tone seems to be carefully considered, with nothing out of place. The quality of the recording is superb, piano and orchestra nicely balanced.

It's such a pleasure to rediscover these works. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary new piano talent, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
The French pianist David Fray is doing an excellent interpretation of Bach's work on piano. His cooperation with the German Chamberphilaharmonie of Bremen makes this record a true delight to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach - Piano Concertos. David Fray piano and dir., 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
Bach is alive! David Frays interpretation is a absolut must for any musiclover and especially for Bach lovers. Buy this! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 Mar 2009
By 
A. Lee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
I've been looking for Bach Concerto in A major for ages. There are only a handful of recording out there for this Concerto and the interpretations were all so dull! The concerto was played like it was an exercise piece. Anyway, I stumbled upon this and listened to the extracts and bought this CD. I was so impressed! I always believe that Bach's pieces should be played with brilliance and spirit, and this is it! This CD does not disappoint, all the concertos were played with great precision and enthusiasm. Simply the best (just to borrow the phrase from Tina Turner!)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Bach......, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing David fray on the radio. Thank goodnes I did. David Fray is an extremely talented and gifted pianist. His playing of Bach on this album is beautiful and commading. He plays with such verve and confidence.

He brings a real joy to the music. I also love the wonderful Murray Perahia and I have to say in my eyes he is very close on his heels.....

You will not regret purchasing this album It will sit alongside the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty playing but not Bach, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
Again we have here a case of a youngish pianist trying to make a mark with Bach - a dangerous ambition and one that needs superlative musicianship and magic to pull off. David Fray is, unfortunately, not the man for the job.

A good effort in directing from the piano, except the orchestra was not 'tight' - they seemed to follow Fray in a rather haphazard fashion, which led to the individual movements not quite scanning. There is a certain degree of poise and polish to the actual pianism, but this is let down by the thinnest tone and, at times, really rather ludicrous attempts at ornamentation, which actually interfered with the natural flow of the music. Bach wrote definite music - strong, perfectly designed, precise and profound. These elements cannot be overlooked when trying to perform. Fray seems to be sure of what he is doing, but it is all rather flimsy - there is no angst in the wonderfully profound slow movements of these works, there is no drive in the gushing outer movements. It all felt far too precious and, at times, egotistical, as though Fray was not thinking of Bach's intention, but his own - a quality that can work in the right hands, but not in this case. One of my major quibbles was the lack of contrapuntal interplay - one needs to be able to follow the individual lines as they sing their own melodies. Fray's playing saw the lines all merging and this created a wash of sound - a gentle wash - that renders the music almost inconsequential. This is not flimsy music and should not be approached in such a way. Bach's music speaks to us now as strongly as ever - it is relevant, it is timeless. Fray made these works sound as if they were mere uninspired miniatures and not the great works they happen to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ultimate bach?, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bach: Piano Concertos (Audio CD)
this is one amazing interpretation of JSB. Never heard more inspirering playing. Buy it, and, like me, You are going to listen to this Young frenchman again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6709264)

This product

Bach: Piano Concertos
Bach: Piano Concertos by Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews