Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accompaniment to a remarkable series
You know you're about to watch something quite special when the score first kicks in and something inside you reacts instantaneously. I had the exact same feeling with "Gladiator" that I had with the first episode of "Band of Brothers" - expecting them to be both crash-bang-wallop action extravaganzas, but as soon as the music started, I realised that...
Published on 7 Nov. 2001 by Pendaswyf

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
fantastic music well able to stand alone from the picture.
Published 4 months ago by Tom Troll


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accompaniment to a remarkable series, 7 Nov. 2001
You know you're about to watch something quite special when the score first kicks in and something inside you reacts instantaneously. I had the exact same feeling with "Gladiator" that I had with the first episode of "Band of Brothers" - expecting them to be both crash-bang-wallop action extravaganzas, but as soon as the music started, I realised that I was in for something quite different, and quite emotional. This score is fantastic, and again like the "Gladiator" score, perfectly captures the atmosphere of the film. This music really makes something happen inside of you emotionally, both raising your spirits and creating a sense of dread that match exactly the mood of the outstanding series that it accompanies. The standout tracks are the music for the title sequence, the 2 suites (tracks 2 and 3) and Winters on the Subway. Absolutely beautiful. It's one of those rare soundtracks that seem to have been made by the picture rather than for it. If you are as huge a fan of the series as I am, you could do a lot worse than buying this album. The title music is worth the money alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, exciting, pathos. Music to get emotional about!, 2 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
The music evoked another time, another place that those who were there can recall only in their memories and those who were not can but imagine. As Easy Company fought their way from Normandy to Germany the music was a wonderful way of reliving the episodes already screened and imagining the content of those still to air. Like many of the 'minmialist' sepia-like visual sequences, the music too had a simplicity that seemed to focus on just the essentials - nothing wasted, yet with a rich melange of mood. In my view one of the finest pieces of screen music for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmatched Accompaniment to a Majestic Series, 29 Aug. 2003
Since purchasing this album, I've listened to virtually nothing else. The Main Theme alone is probably one of the most moving pieces of music written in the last fifty years; the two Suites are admirable and vastly 'listenable' alternative takes on the rest of the score, and the selection that makes up the rest of the album is superb. The string quartet is enough to make you cry, and the final track, featuring a choral accompaniment to the main theme is strangley uplifting. The TV series is the ultimate statement of there being no glory in war, only infinite sadness, and this album echoes and enhances that sentiment without becoming mawkish. I know of no other soundtrack that both matches its source perfectly, yet remains a masterpiece in its own right. Utterly, utterly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional bliss!, 1 Jan. 2002
By 
J. Kirkland "jennyk" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Superb from the first moment that you here the main theme you know this is something special!
Haunting, perfect and captures a past time superbly, soundtracks don't get much better than this!
To add to this the two Band Of Brothers Suite's are excellent, all the music reminds you of scene's from the series and its finale with Austria and the exceptional Band Of Brothers Requim put this in a class of its own.
Michael Kamen should be proud, this music is everything it should be and a little more. Buy and listen! For any person who likes classical film music this belongs right up there with John Williams! Superb and the emotional impact is huge. Thank you for producing such a wonderfull soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Nov. 2001
I never really liked Michael Kamen (although I love a great deal of other film composers), but Kamen has, with this Coplandesque masterpiece, won me over. This is a fine score, even if, like me, you never found the music particularly interesting in the actual series. On it's own, however, this album really shines. Highly recommended - even if just for the wonderful suites (especially the second one). You don't even have to be a particular fan of the series to enjoy this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jan. 2002
This Soundtrack recaptures the moving account of the famous Easy Company in the Band of Brothers series.It's not hard to feel very emotional when listening to the various tracks.Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of Brothers (Kamen) [Soundtrack]., 6 Dec. 2005
By 
Mr. R. Tilbury "roytibbs" (Sussex. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you liked the series you will love the sound track. You will end up in a world of your own plus it's so relaxing just make sure you don't leave the kettle on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, superb, Michael Kamen sound track music. Best buy., 26 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The stirring and meditative backing music from a truly awesome series.
Aworthy dedication to the incredibly brave and couragious men of the
101st Airborne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fans of the Show, 5 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This rating is based on the fact that I'm a big fan of the series. The music is wonderfully evocative and is great for easy listening background music.
If the Theme music for the series moves you then this is for you especially if you like classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of Brothers Score, 28 Sept. 2010
By 
DCC (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Absolutely sublime score that perfectly suits the series. Forms a sort of organic cohesion of orchestral beauty that stirs your soul and makes you empathise completely with the men of Easy company through their highs and lows.

Utterly brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews