Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (261)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Fantastic!
First things first. If you`ve read the other reviews that are here and they say that the 5.1 audio track will not play in their DVD players, there is a simple reason for that... They don`t support the Super Audio CD format, that`s all. These DVD players should be able to playback the 2 channel remastered version that is also on the disc. And Blimey is it good! Jeff Wayne...
Published on 29 Nov 2005 by Darren Wells

versus
66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't broke so why fix it?
I was originally after a digitally re-mastered version of this classic album but what I have ended up with here is actually a re-mixed version, which has tweaked and tampered with the original master, ill-advisedly in my opinion. The result is a 'poppier', softer, more diluted sound, perhaps re-mixed for a more modern feel. Whatever, I don't really like it. The...
Published on 4 July 2009 by S. I. Moore


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Fantastic!, 29 Nov 2005
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
First things first. If you`ve read the other reviews that are here and they say that the 5.1 audio track will not play in their DVD players, there is a simple reason for that... They don`t support the Super Audio CD format, that`s all. These DVD players should be able to playback the 2 channel remastered version that is also on the disc. And Blimey is it good! Jeff Wayne is a total Genius and 30 years on this new remix of the album is sounding as fresh as if it was recorded recently. The 5.1 works really well and the story is captured so beautifully on this album.
One major piece of advice, if you can afford it, do order the "Collectors Edition", comes with superb book, the new mix, and a couple of other cds with remixes, and outtakes, there is even a version of Richard Burton`s speech without music, which reads like a talking book. Adding to that, a DVD about the history of the album this represents excellent value for money. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic piece of the 1970s British music, 8 Mar 2003
I love this album! It was the first album I ever bought in about 1979. I'd been badgering people for some money towards it for my eighth birthday and then, when the day finally came, I remember coming back on the bus with it proudly tucked under my arm. The original had a large picture booklet with some fascinating paintings of the Earth under the rule of the martians - I particularly remember the one of the crows picking at the flesh of hoods of the martian tripods and these are faithfully reproduced in the new CD booklet.
This is a very unusual record that is quite unlike anything else before or since. It features superb musicianship with classic thumping 70s basslines from the excellent Herbie Flowers and top vocal performances from the likes of Justin Hayward, Phil Lynott and David Essex. Richard Burton's narration is hypnotic and the words are strangely poetic in a way HG Wells' original book isn't.
The recording still sounds just as good to me today and the CD remastering brings it to life in new ways I hadn't heard before.
If you have never come across this album, I would highly recommend it as a strange and satisfying listening experience. If you had it years ago, why not renew your acquaintance with this 70's classic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ULLAH!...indeed!, 8 July 2005
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
I remember this album when I was a kid back in '78 I believe. It captured my imagination then and still does.
Obviously it has been re-released to capitalise on the new movie, however it is not a cheap shot.
This SACD 5.1 re-master and re-mix is one of the best SACD's I've heard.
Many people may not like the rather Prog-Rock music, but to those who do this album has it all.
The 5.1 sound is jaw dropping. I have never heard the music so sharp and clearly defined. Vocals stand out, guitar parts that were once hidden deep in the stereo mix now have more intensity (listen to The Heat-Ray). The synths sound as if they are plugged straight into your amp and whirl around the room. There is a lot of dramatic use of panning, front to back, left to right etc and whilst this would ruin most music in TWotW it is all part of the drama. At times the music thunders through your speakers at others it is soft and rolling (The Red Weed). Maybe my only complaint is that at times the change between soft and loud is quite abrupt. However it adds to the overall effect.
If you own an SACD player and have like this wonderfully eccentric Concept album them you must buy this. Worth every penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real, long overdue treat for fans, 30 Jun 2005
This is an excellent package for die-hard fans of this epic work. The sound quality is superb when listened to on a conventional cd player, but it is awesome when heard in 5.1 surround sound. It serves to remind us how innovative and powerful this album remains today. Although the musicians were fairly well known, they weren't big name stars and it's amazing to think they produced music and atmospheres of this quality. Imagine some of their equivalents today producing such work. No, I can't either! The real gem is the outtakes disc. It's very interesting to hear Richard Burton working with David Essex and the two of them sharing laughs, although David Essex is clearly nervous due to the presence and sheer charisma of Richard Burton. The Spirit Of Man alternate versions and band run-throughs make fascinating listening too. The lyrics altered considerably before the final version was nailed. The documentary offers a great insight into the making of the album and compliments the info in the book very well. The artwork in the book and the package in general is both beautifully and lavishly presented. The original paintings are here as with the double vinyl release, but they're more vibrant and clean without losing any of their eerie charm. Overall, this is a fascinating, worthwhile package, but I would only recommend it to the dedicated fan. The asking price, from the stand point of a War Of The Worlds fanatic, is quite reasonable, but it could possibly be too great for the casual fan. My only criticism concerns the paper sleeves that the discs are sleeved in. They are flimsy and a bit cheap looking compared to the rest of the package and the artwork that adorns them does not match the quality found elsewhere in the book and cover. The artwork on these paper sleeves appears to be the result of a rushed after though. Apparently, the Italian printing company who produced the sleeves, used the wrong paper and later copies of this set will have cd sleeves of thicker paper. This will improve their appearance. Nevertheless, these are minor niggles and it doesn't prevent me from giving this release five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't broke so why fix it?, 4 July 2009
By 
S. I. Moore "Stu" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was originally after a digitally re-mastered version of this classic album but what I have ended up with here is actually a re-mixed version, which has tweaked and tampered with the original master, ill-advisedly in my opinion. The result is a 'poppier', softer, more diluted sound, perhaps re-mixed for a more modern feel. Whatever, I don't really like it. The original was perfect so there was nothing to do save to enhance the various strings, synths and guitars with a digital remastering, however, it feels like a formulaic 30 minute TV makeover has been applied here and WoTW is poorer for it.

Newcomers to this fantastic musical rendition of HG Well's novel will not know any better and will probably love this 30th Anniversary version. Those who know the original well should stick with the basic CD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!!!!! modern day classic, 31 July 2003
By 
Mr. B. R. J. Fanson "luminova" (Bodmin, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I studied this piece of musical genius for my music G.C.S.E. in the late eighties and fell in love with it.BR>The remastered translation to CD can only be described as AWESOME! Jeff Waynes musical vision of H.G. Wells novel now makes my spine tingle like my old worn copies used to,only more so.
Richard Burtons opening dialogue is amazingly convincing,and you can understand why Orson Welles original broadcast caused such widespread panic in America in the early part of the last century,especially when you consider that the aeroplane was still really in its infancy,interplanetary travel really was in the realm of science fiction.
If you like instrumental music,especially with a '70's rock synthesiser twist,this is a must have CD. Yet although it is very much a product of its era it is a unique piece of musical history and as a result is timeless.
The War Of The Worlds should be part of your musical collection along with Rick Wakemans musical vision of Jules Vernes "Journey To The Center Of The Earth" another unique '70's instrumental classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 25 Jun 2005
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
I bought this album when I was 17 on double cassette and that was before the arrival of CD's and I am still playing it. Rushing out to the shops to get this new version on CD and hope to be playing it again for another 20 years. Definetly a desert island album !!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, well-performed and inventive - if a little dated., 18 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Dominic L. Brown (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The War of the Worlds (Audio CD)
I remember hearing this album when I was about 10 years old (late 1980's), and I absolutely loved it! My older brother bought it, and played it non-stop for about 6 months, and that was it - I didn't hear it again until the release of the new film version jogged my memory.
There is still a lot to enjoy on this inventive and atmospheric double album. I suppose that this is really a rock opera, and a very good one - it is very well written and performed, and the key theme is highly memorable, and evokes the story brilliantly. It is certainly musically superior to either "Hair" or "The Rocky Horror Picture Show". It is almost certain that a musical score to his momentous story would have displeased H.G. Wells a great deal, but it re-introduced this superb tale to the world in the 1970's, after a disasterous B-movie in the 1950's, and so did his legacy a great service.
The voices are almost universally great, with Richard Burton as the journalist the absolute star of the show, in fine voice as always. Julie Covington is great too as Beth, and Phil Lynott is good as Parson Nathaniel. Davis Essex is the major letdown - his rendition of the artillery man, whilst competent, begins to grate after a time, simply due to the accent he adopts. The singing is of a very high standard throughout, with Chris Thompson especially good on "Thunderchild" and Justin Hayward (The Moody Blues) putting in some great performances. David Essex generally sings better than he speaks, and Gary Osborne's lyrics are well-written and evocative.
The music is the real strength here though - the score is inventive, and there is some great musical talent onboard. Jo Partridge puts in some excellent guitar work, and with session players Herbie Flowers on bass, and Barry Morgan on drums the standard of playing is superb. At times the music is tremendously atmospheric and evocative, and some of the original sound effects are outstanding. "Horsell Common and the Heat Ray" is stirring stuff, and anyone who has not heard and enjoyed the opening theme "The Eve of the War", has been living underground for 30 years. There is also great beauty in "Forever Autumn", with sweet-picked guitar, soaring strings, and a great performance from Justin Hayward. At times, the arrangements and instrumental effects sound very dated to contemporary ears, but overall it is still powerful stuff.
Definitely worth a listen, this album will appeal to those who remember it from younger years, and with the release of the new film version of H.G. Wells' story, hopefully it will find some new fans. As a matter of interest - this release plays with no problems at all on my PC, contrary to previous comments. Excellent stuff and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I could ask for and more., 6 Jan 2011
By 
Dominic (Doncaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The War Of The Worlds (Audio CD)
The album itself is fantastic and the songs are memorable to say the least. I wasn't aware of the fact that a booklet came with the CDs until it actually arrived and I was thoroughly pleased with the pictures that really brought the music alive.

Perfect condition, arrived on time.

Astounding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW huge boxset-quick review, 18 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. G. P. Schofield "fortysixter" (UK, South London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It goes without saying you won't be buying this unless you are a big fan of the musical version of WOW.
If you are then this plush, wonderfully produced CD collection is for you.
There are 7 cds, that consist of the original album re mastered, all the out takes, richard burton reading the abridged version of the book ( around 45 mins long) and lots of track remixes. That alone is truly the definitive WOW collection.
But then you have the amazing LP sized case, beautiful art work on two thick cardboard covers.
Then finally you have the sleeve notes...I say notes, there is so much stuff in here thats it more like a small magazine, photos of the recording sessions, all the renditions of the WOW book covers, newspaper clippings, various photos of the Album as its been released over the years, and lots of notes.
Frankly this whole package is gorgeous, even if it is outrageously expensive ( I only paid 54.00 for mine and I thought that was steep), but its going for a lot more in the shops !
WOW in more ways than one...if you like the Jeff Wayne version, you'll love this.....but really, one for the true fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews