Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
Those who only remember Prefab Sprout for 'Hot Dogs and Jumping Frogs' do not know what they are missing. The Sprout frontman, Paddy McAloon, is a singer songwriter of exceptional talent and originality. This was the first album I bought of theirs and have never looked back. From the bouncy opening number, the album goes from strength to strength, with only one track...
Published on 20 Mar 2000

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet talk ,like candy, rots........
For me,this is where the rot started to set in for the Sprouts.After the edgy'Swoon'(loaded with promise)and the near perfect 'Steve McQueen,Paddy McAloon had established a reputation as probably the finest song writer of the decade. Although containing some classy writing and catchy tunes there is an overall impression of sugariness to this album.There are some great...
Published on 27 July 2005 by M. A. Reilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Those who only remember Prefab Sprout for 'Hot Dogs and Jumping Frogs' do not know what they are missing. The Sprout frontman, Paddy McAloon, is a singer songwriter of exceptional talent and originality. This was the first album I bought of theirs and have never looked back. From the bouncy opening number, the album goes from strength to strength, with only one track 'The Golden Calf', a disappointment. Immerse yourself in the exciting tunes and clever lyrics, for example on 'Cars and Girls', 'Hey Manhatten' and the classic 'I Remember That'. 'Nancy' is a gentle and touching portrait of a marriage which will spin around in your head till you simply must sing out loud. I can't recommend this album too strongly - buy it, you won't be sorry !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sprouts are a matter of good taste..., 1 May 2005
This review is being written over 15 years after I bought my original 'From Langley Park to Memphis' on cassette tape: on the long-overdue occasion of its replacement by CD. The original was bought after hearing 'King of Rock 'n Roll' on the radio and thinking "that sounds like fun". Boy - if I had known what I was getting myself into!
Of all the Sprouts' albums (and I do have them all), this is for me one of the best. The sheer range of themes and styles sweeps the listener from the orchestral 'Manhattan' through the poignant 'Nightingales' to the slightly tongue-in-cheek 'Cars and Girls' without losing either ones interest or engagement. The lyrics are consistently intelligent without the impenetrability of some of the Sprouts earlier work, and Paddy never insults or cajoles his audience - just gently guides them (or perhaps 'seduces' would be a better word) through his emotional journey. I would defy any true romantic to hear 'I Remember That' without a sigh and a nod towards past loves long lost, or not to smile at the 'Venus of the Soup Kitchen' and wonder where to sign up.
Call it 'sophistipop' or 'intellipop' or whatever strange polyglot combination catalogues use to cram artists into a box; say they sound a bit like Blue Nile or Big Dish or some other band that makes their own way off the beaten track through the maze of life: Prefab Sprout are unique. Of course, I'm already a fan, so you'd expect a good review. But don't miss the point - it was this album that made me a fan in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Like A Bolt Out From The Blue...I Remember That..." - From Langley Park To Memphis by PREFAB SPROUT (2009 Japan CD Remaster), 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE JAPAN-ONLY 2009 REMASTERED VERSION ***

"From Langley Park To Memphis" was first issued March 1988 on Kitchenware Records in the UK and on Epic Records in the USA. It felt like a more commercial version of its brilliant predecessor "Steve McQueen" from 1985 - and building on that incredible groundwork - it was eagerly awaited - and so raced to Number 5 in the UK charts.

It was released on LP/MC and CD at the time in fairly good sound - but a remaster has been long overdue. Some of its hit singles have been remastered for "Best Of" compilations, but this is the first time the entire album has been sonically upgraded - and it's an absolute wow - even it is only available as a limited edition import from Japan...

PACKAGING:
This 26 August 2009 Japan-only CD is on Epic EICP 1245 (Sony Music Japan) and is part of 6 albums reissued there - all in remastered form (45:32 minutes). It's one of those mini LP replica sleeves in an Obi and resealable outer plastic (picture provided above), which also reproduces the original inner sleeve. The inner sleeve's nice to look at, but of course because of its 5-inch size, virtually illegible - hence the need for the separate lyric booklet. There's also another insert advertising further Eighties CD titles, but it's entirely in Japanese...

SOUND:
CD sites in Japan have claimed that each has 2009 remastering, and although I can't actually find this in writing anywhere on the disc or packaging (that I can understand), I don't need to see it in writing because I can hear it. The sound quality is simply GLORIOUS.

Highlights include the beautiful melody of "I Remember That" (lyrics above) and an incredible punch out of "Knock On Wood" and an absolutely HUGE feel to "The Golden Calf". A lot of the time, you're just in awe of Paddy McAloon's superb songwriting and how well so much of it has held up - the arrangements, the clever lyrics, the melodies that grow and grow on each hearing - 20 years plus and they still move me...

It is of course a shame that the many unreleased tracks off the singles "The King Of Rock & Roll", "Cars & Girls" and "Hey Manhattan" are not on here, but this release doesn't pretend to be anything other than a straightforward transfer of the album.

With no sign of British or US remastered versions on the horizon, fans of this superb British band and their brilliant albums will need to own this.

Recommended wholeheartedly.

PS: the other albums reissued in this Japanese Limited Edition series are:
1. "Swoon" (1983) on Epic EICP 1276 (21 October 2009 release)
2. "Steve McQueen" (1985) on Epic EICP 1244 (26 August 2009 release)
3. "Protest Songs" (1985 Recordings Released in 1989) on Epic EICP 1277 (21 October 2009 release)
4. "Jordan: The Comeback" (1990) on Epic EICP 1278 (21 October 2009 release)
5. "Andromeda Heights" (1997) on Epic EICP 1279 (21 October 2009 release)

PPS: see also my review for "Jordan: The Comeback" from the same series - and thanks to TIM SQUIER of Revival Records for a lend of the 2 CDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Langley Park To Memphis (MP3 Download)
Reminds me of my youth and more. Great sound and lovely to have the extra acoustic tracks which are so adeptly delivered by this great band. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Prefab Classic, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up there as one their best albums. Some memorable tracks including "Cars & Girls" and "King of Rock & Roll". There is a good crisp and clean sound across theis album. A good addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From John Peel to the Top Ten, 4 Oct 2003
This album which contains the Sprouts' biggest hit is, inevitably, hated by fans of "Swoon". To be sure, it has its faults, yet there is some great material here. "The King of Rock and Roll" caught the public ear, and although it is hardly representative of their work, it does show that Paddy McAloon has a healthy disregard of what his audience supposedly wants (the theme tune to "Where the Heart is", songs for Cher also indicate this, too).
"From Langley Park..." has a distinctly playful air about it, indeed a few of the songs are reminiscent of the soundtracks to the classic old Disney cartoons with lots of sweeping strings and cutsey lyrics ("We are cartoon cats..."!). Despite the sweet feel to the material, there is bite also. "Cars and Girls" takes a pop at (then) label mate Bruce "The Boss" Springsteen and his distinctly limited imagination.
This album is worth buying to hear "Nightingales" which is, perhaps, the Sprouts most realised work. Stevie Wonder guests on harmonica and, along with Paddy's almost whispered vocal, the effect is stunning. It is the musical equivalent of the world's most luxurious chocolate eaten with the girl of your dreams.
The only real letdown is "The Golden Calf" where the band unconvincingly rock out. Paddy, leave that to Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet talk ,like candy, rots........, 27 July 2005
For me,this is where the rot started to set in for the Sprouts.After the edgy'Swoon'(loaded with promise)and the near perfect 'Steve McQueen,Paddy McAloon had established a reputation as probably the finest song writer of the decade. Although containing some classy writing and catchy tunes there is an overall impression of sugariness to this album.There are some great redeeming moments(Cars and Girls,Venus of the Soup Kitchen and the Sprouts finest Rock & Roller 'The Golden Calf')but the syrupy overlay to these tracks eg Nightingales is the thin end of a wedge which pervaded later albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HOT DOGS! JUMPING FROGS???, 1 May 2007
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After the absolutely amazing "steve mcqeen" the album "langley park to memphis" sees the beloved sprouts trying new sounds..some work some dont!

the album opens with "king of rock and roll" the sprouts only top 10 single..and im afraid to say one of the few tracks i dont particularly like..the inane chorus (although so catchy you hear it once you will never forget it) ruins it..or makes it...the verses are great paddy but then a nonsensical chorus...you cant help but sing along but there is no depth!

"cars and girls" was the first single and stalled in the charts at no.44 it has the trademarks of a great prefab track and sounds a lot more like the singles from "steve mcqueen"...one of my favourites!!!

"i remember that" "enchanted" and "hey manhattan" are full of the trademark prefab sound of summer and great tracks...""nightingales" is another strong track it has a christmas feel to it a.k.a "whams 'last christmas!'

the last 4 tracks are more experimental..where they branching out or getting lost in the dream to break the usa? "knock on wood" with its reggae feel doesnt feel right.."golden calf" has some great guitar riffs but something is missing..."nancy" is a pretty lovesong but forgettable..."venus" sounds like a showtune...very nice but nothing wondeful!

this may have been the best selling prefab sprout but it is by no means the best....still a good album but after "steve mcqueen" a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stil a good album, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always liked the album when I first bought it on vinyl.This purchase was on a whim but I still very much enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pop Moments, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Prefab Sprout are one of the best pop bands of all time (including the fantastic Beatles, yes...), mostly because of the superb lyrics of Paddy McAloon. This album is their most explicit "Pop-Album" and, next to Steve McQueen (the best album EVER) it's their best record. If you like good moments in company of nice pop sounds, you MUST buy "From Langley Park To Memphis" and all the other records of Prefab Sprout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Langley Park To Memphis
Buy MP3 Album£5.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews