Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DANGEROUSLY ADDICTIVE
After the headstart made by Kelly Rowland, Miss Beyonce Knowles has made a speedy catch up with this amazing debut, containing previous hit singles 'Work It Out' and 'Bonnie And Clyde 03', and has spawned the smash number one single 'Crazy In Love'. So what's the album like then?
'Crazy In Love' is an absolutely amazing track, the only word that can describe it is,...
Published on 22 July 2003 by tomkatz4

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe da hype:
Shes got the body, the voice, she can move, shes beautiful and my dream woman.
The song “Crazy in Love” gets you moving, it makes me want to get up and do the Butt dance with her. its got good beats and is the first song on her Album.
So I was expecting the rest of the song on the album to be similar. But personally it was a BIG let down. Despite...
Published on 5 Aug 2003 by aby


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DANGEROUSLY ADDICTIVE, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
After the headstart made by Kelly Rowland, Miss Beyonce Knowles has made a speedy catch up with this amazing debut, containing previous hit singles 'Work It Out' and 'Bonnie And Clyde 03', and has spawned the smash number one single 'Crazy In Love'. So what's the album like then?
'Crazy In Love' is an absolutely amazing track, the only word that can describe it is, well, funked-out! And Jay-Z's rap is good, but kind of unnecessary.
Track number two, 'Naughty Girl', is without doubt the best on the album. Sampling the classic Donna Summer track 'Love To Love You', this is about as filthy as Beyonce gets, and definitely the most r'n'b of all the tracks.
'Baby Boy' (featuring Sean Paul) is a real grower of a track, with the two artists providing electricity beyond belief. 'Hip Hop Star', which features two members of Outkast,is like 'Crazy In Love' in the respect that it is quite pop-oriented but hinted with r'n'b, and it has great lyrics.
Later on in the album comes 'Signs' with Missy Elliott, which won't be too everyone's taste, and is actually quite saccharine. 'Dangerously In Love 2' is the stand out ballad on the album without doubt where Beyonce showcases her amazing vocals to full effect. It's a follow up to a track from the Destiny's Child 'Survivor' album.
'Be With You' features on the early section of the album and is one of the better tracks on the album.
However, the rest of the album is sadly made up of bland ballads which do nothing except sound monotonous, they are mainly clustered towards the end of the album. More r'n'b stompers like 'Crazy In Love' would have been welcome on the album to make this a more appealing and stylish album.
Overall, though, Beyonce dazzles the competition with this debut, and has ascended up the musical ladder to become the current Queen of the entire musical world. Fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe da hype:, 5 Aug 2003
By 
aby (Slough, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Shes got the body, the voice, she can move, shes beautiful and my dream woman.
The song “Crazy in Love” gets you moving, it makes me want to get up and do the Butt dance with her. its got good beats and is the first song on her Album.
So I was expecting the rest of the song on the album to be similar. But personally it was a BIG let down. Despite guess singers, like Sean Paul, Missy Elliott. All who have good reps for R&B and Hip hop tunes. But all there talents were wasted on this Album.
The album was riding on the song “Crazy in Love” to sell. I love that song so much I even brought the DVD..!!!!!..
With all the marketing and promotion, we are lead to believe that this is one of the best album every. Being number one in this country and that country. I can only guess that the people who brought the album did exactly what I did and not question it. We brought it on the reputation of Boyonce from Destiny Child.
The first song I upbeat and the rest is quite mellow.
I would recommend that you listen to the Album first, either borrow it from a friend or listen to it in the shop.
If Boyonce does do a second album, I will not be in to much of a hurry to purchase it till I heard the reviews.
But I still think she is sexy with a beautiful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have, should have been better..., 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Let's face it, 'Crazy In Love' is this genre's track of the year and, with that on board, this album was already on two stars. For me though, it all seems a bit rushed. Tracks aren't memorable. I listened in one hit driving to work and, a key test, I found I couldn't really remember tracks as I went along. Funnily enough, I listened to Alicia Keys before and the difference in class is there for all to see. I'm not going to knock Beyonce for the sake of it though and 'Speechless' certainly grabbed my attention - a Prince-esque production right out of the top drawer. 'Be With You' was decent as well as, of course, are the collaborations with Jay-Z. As I said in my title, could have been better. Here's to the next one, Beyonce!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great relaxing album, just needed more excitement., 26 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Beyonce has been the driving force and the major talent behind Destiny's Child. With tracks like Survivor, Independent Woman and Bootylicious she proved she was as good a writer as a performer. Dangerously in love features all the singles, Bonnie and Clyde 03, Work it Out and the forthcoming standout track Crazy in love. These are the strongest tracks on the album. It is full of rnb type-ballads, so don't expect any other Crazy in Love type tracks. It's far from amzing but it is definately listenable and one to relax too. Other good tracks are Naughty Girl which is a reinvention of a Donna Summer song. Signs, which features Missy Elliot is another highlight aswell as That's how you like it featuring Jay-Z which feels very summery and as she describes how perfect he is it manages not to be too cheesy.
The duet with Luther Vandross shows Beyonces impressive vocal range and Dangerously in love II, is such a good song that it doesn't seem to matter it sounds identical to the Survivor album version. In all if you like Destiny's Child and want an album to get loved up to, this is for you! Beyonce says its an album for people in love or want to know about love and she's totally right. Just a few more faster tracks and less fillers would have made it a 5-star album.Not a bad debut though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just buy the singles..., 5 July 2005
By 
J. Taylor (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
If you heard the excellent singles and thought the album might provide some more, stop. After two stunning tracks 'Crazy in Love' and 'Naughty Girl', the album lurches through some forgettable collaborations and slushy, sentimental ballads. There is little to look forward to when the bits you already know are removed. 'Bonnie and Clyde 03', another single, is welcome partly because it heralds the end and a quick change of pace that helps forget the middle tracks.
Perhaps it's naive to expect tracks like 'Crazy in Love' to fill the album, but it quickly steps down a gear and seems to stop trying. I'm glad I own the tracks that persuaded me to buy the album but would probably not buy it in hindsight. No danger of loving the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not what you think, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Cath (Leeds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Like just about everyone else I bought the album because of the single " Crazy in love" ...
But the album just doesn't live up to that single. If you were hoping for a funky album packed with tracks just like that one, forget it.
To be fair the first 3 tracks are good ( they include Crazy in Love, and Naughty girl- which is great) but after that it all turns a bit slushy and at times even a bit whiney!
The track with Luther is lovely and it's not that the rest of the slow stuff is terrible, it's just disappointing.
Destiny's Child's last album was similar in a way. There were some really funky tracks and a whole lot of slush ( way too much for me).... and Beyonces is the same. Both albums have too many tracks on as well.
That said, the album does redeem itself with " Bonny and Clyde" and " Work it out" tagged on at the end. It's Beyonce at her finest.
Listen to it first, 'cos I'd lay money on it, it's not what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half good & half what the hell??, 13 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Aight, i've been a DC fan a good few years now, and i was looking forward to the new Beyonce style and image. I was expecting tight beats, songs with a different meaning and more Soul R&B rather than Jazz R&B. Beyonce has hit the high note on a few songs, which includes Baby Boy, Crazy in Love (which I'm still half liking and half sick of) Bonnie & Clyde 03 (With one of the rap kings, Jay-Z) and My favorite, Yes. One thing i found though is Beyonce always seems to put the same old message in her songs...Love! Wheres heartbreak, loosing somebody close to you, or a song about you feeling somone but you know that it'll never happen? The beats on the songs are Ok, and i gotta admit, you'll never grow tired of Bonnie & Clyde, but Beyonce has gotta put a better effort into her next album, DC or solo. I'm not saying don't buy it, cuz everybody has their own opinion, but if you are into the Jazz side of R&B, then this is the cd for you. If you don't, then have a look around on Amazon for 'Maria, My Soul'. It's great and the songs really do have a great message behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beyonce producers Work It too much, 22 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
The two singles that top and tail this album are great floor fillers full of soully attiitude. I was hoping the material in between them would be just as good.
Unfortunately though, Beyonce's voice is almost drowned out in some tracks as her producers have over egged songs, reducing her vocal too little more than backing.
Also what becomes apparent very quickly is that whilst Beyonce has a great voice she hasn'the desire to do much with it. So rather than the powerful soul delivery you think she could deliver it's pure pop with a bit of breathy attitude thrown in.
And her choice of lyrics?! If she's not telling us what a sexy sista she is (right yeah, with your parents overseeing your every move)it's all cloying "my world is nothing without you" stuff.
This album really made me realise what a great singer Diana Ross was. Check out her early stuff and you'll see what I mean.
There is some okay stuff on this album but nothing that sets it apart from many other chart friendly R n B stuff.
Maybe, if Beyonce lives a little more and spends less time picking out shoes for photo shoots she'll produce more interesting material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to write home about, 7 July 2003
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
Is it me or does Beyonce tend to scream and wail her way thorough her songs. The listener is left wondering when she will start to exploit her full vocal range (if indeed, she has one). The cd is passable but then its bound to be with Sean Paul, Luther, Missy and Jay Z fronting it. I really don't think Beyonce has much longevity because her first solo album is not impressive enough. I would admit that the first track is very catchy and will no doubt be an instant success, in that case, for what it worth - well done !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beyonce Review, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerously in Love (Audio CD)
It is impossible to deny that Beyonce has an incredible voice, and is an outstanding performer. However, I can't help but think she is a little weak on the songwriting side. The vocals on this album are admirable, but Dangerously in Love would be much stronger if the incredible voice sang incredible songs, as opposed to the predominantly bland songs that appear on this album. It's a worthwhile buy, as it's generally entertaining enough, but Beyonce doesn't quite live up to expextations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews