Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Big surprise
Somewhere in this CD, Peter Seeger, who recorded most of this before a live audience in 1966, talks about camping out wild with folk singers like Cisco Houston in 1942.
I detest live re-recordings of old hits & this guy seemed like a geriatric then, so why am I always playing this, you ask? Couldn't be the fact you're 52 yourself now, you say?
Don't think...
Published on 7 Oct 2004 by The BlackFerret

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars concert recorded
this cd has been recorded at concerts and i personally like to hear the artist sing the songs without all the clapping etc so not what i thought it was
Published 13 months ago by mpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Big surprise, 7 Oct 2004
Somewhere in this CD, Peter Seeger, who recorded most of this before a live audience in 1966, talks about camping out wild with folk singers like Cisco Houston in 1942.
I detest live re-recordings of old hits & this guy seemed like a geriatric then, so why am I always playing this, you ask? Couldn't be the fact you're 52 yourself now, you say?
Don't think so-Seeger is a consumate professional musician, for starters and the fact that this was actually recorded at one of his peace/summer camps, in front of a pretty young audience, doesn't see him lower his musical standards, nor talk down to the audience.
Few people before or since have managed to sign from the Left without becoming diatribal or polemic. Seeger rarely loses his easy charm and Little Boxes is the most obvious example of a cutting satirical commentary disguised in a virtual kid's song.
You also learn from whence Seeger learned these songs, or got the influence for them, Guantamera coming from an 1898 Spanish/Cuban original and Turn, Turn, Turn virtually straight from Ecclesiasticus.
I will admit I only got it originally for one vaguely remembered track, but came to find there are jewels throughout this coalfield or industrial landscape, which is probably how Pete Seeger felt it ought to be, as it is in real life.
And yes, that one track, The Bells Of Rhymney, is worth it alone. For all I've said about polemics, no other song you'll ever meet about Capitalism/Materilalism will raise YOUR hackles as this does, assisted by Seeger's flawless delivery.
In conclusion, a quite thrilling, enchanting experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A singer for all generations, 3 Jan 2009
By 
Susila (Italy and Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why should it be necessary to write a review of this CD? After all, it is a faithful digital version of the Columbia LP of the same title (CS 9416), presumably well known to potential purchasers who want something that can be played on their CD equipment. But then.... maybe not everyone out there grew up in the postwar years of folk music, flower power, civil rights, anti-war movements... the lot. Maybe there are those who wonder what their old folks keep remembering and harping on. Well: here is the answer. A representative collection of the best of this folk song icon, complete with the excellent original jacket notes. And throughout it all, Pete Seeger's inimitable presence - gentle but persuasive, with humour and irony. And warmth and understanding - as when he unobtrusively explains the lyrics of `Guantanamera'. In addition to the classics of the original LP (like `Little boxes', `Where have all the flowers gone?', `Which side are you on?', this version has four bonus in-concert tracks: `The big muddy', `Barbara Allen', `This land is your land' - and that all-time Weaver favourite, `Michael row the boat ashore'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of great songs, 9 Jun 2006
By 
Some people, including Seeger himself, claim that Seeger never had any hits. Where Have All The Flowers gone was a hit for Peter, Paul And Mary, Turn Turn Turn was a hit for The Byrds and Wimoweh was a hit for The Weavers.

Pete Seeger got a single in the top ten chart only one time. That song was Little Boxes which is the opening number for this collection.

Maybe these songs never were 'hits' but they are a fine collection of folk songs, old and new. This album was originally published in the late sixties and the CD version has a couple of extra tracks.

But I still recommend that you start your Pete Seeger collection somewhere else. American Favorite Ballads 1-4 are fine collections of old American folk music. Anyone of them is more interesting than this collection. As for Seeger's political songs I recommed Smithsonian Folkways' If I Had A Hammer - Songs of Hope Struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction, 8 Feb 2010
This is a great introduction if you don't have or don't want anything else by Pete seeger.
All his well known stuff is here but I suggest that if you like this you'll be looking for more of the great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great contributor to music and politics, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On hearing of Pete Seeger's death, it was good to buy a current selection of his music as all our current PS music is on LPs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play it again and again, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great value CD that you will play over and over. Just sad he's not around to be churning out new songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some brilliant songs, a couple of not so great but as it contains "little boxes" it still gets 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars REAONS FOR MY MARKING, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On playing Irealised that there were a coupleof songs not my favourites and another disc had other favourites - not your fault I cannot have everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've passively listened to Seeger for years, but it wasn't until his recent death that I was able to put a name to his music. And what music! Seeger encapsulates a spectrum of emotions: the austere renditions of Where Have All The Flowers Gone? and The Bells Of Rhymney; the melodic rhythms of Wimoweh, Turn and Guantanamera; and not least, the strident simplicity of We Shall Overcome. Although the sound quality of some of the live recordings does not match that of the studio tracks, the album still makes excellent listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trip down Memory Lane, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband and he is thrilled to bits with it as he has always been a Pete Seegar fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews