Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better but talent on show for all to see
The View just knocked me off my feet when I heard Wasted Little DJ's and Skag Trendy way back when. I heard Edith Bowman compare this to Definitely Maybe, that is a huge over-reaction. At the moment the world has gone mad for indie, when Oasis were cutting their teeth it was nearly impossible to get a record deal. They were hardened on the indie circuit and had a...
Published on 23 Jan. 2007 by Mr. M. A. Morris

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do's and Don's
The View are a talent - that's obvious.
That their debut album isn't a classic is due to a number of factors: One is vocalist Kyle Falconer; he needs to have more faith in himself, be more strident with his self-belief. When he' not trying to sound like Liam Gallagher or the lad from Arctic Monkeys', his delivery is far too polite (my 'polite' way of saying it's...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Paul Ess.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better but talent on show for all to see, 23 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
The View just knocked me off my feet when I heard Wasted Little DJ's and Skag Trendy way back when. I heard Edith Bowman compare this to Definitely Maybe, that is a huge over-reaction. At the moment the world has gone mad for indie, when Oasis were cutting their teeth it was nearly impossible to get a record deal. They were hardened on the indie circuit and had a songbook full of tunes before they were signed; this isn't the case for these fresh faced Dundonians. The benefit to this is that we get bands that will get better and better with each album. The View show incredible song writing talents on many of these tracks but my problem is that with an album to fill there are a couple of fillers that revert to copying their heroes, Libertines/Babyshambles mainly. There is no doubt however that Comin Down is a belter, as are all the singles, Skag Trendy, Gran's for tea and Street Lights even if the last two lack the rock 'n' roll pazzaz you might like these Primal Scream supporters to have flowing through their veins.

It is unfortunate that they are going to be likened to urch-rock like The Paddingtons and The Others, and its even worse that they are going to become contempories to indie formula bands like The Kooks and The Fratellis. Make no mistake they are a class act, one or two songs less (certainly Face for Radio and Claudia should have been a B-side) and they should have included Posh Boys and Up The Junction despite the fact they have already been B-sides. Anyway don't worry about the gripes, climb on board because I'm sure these lads certainly have a Definitely Maybe/Up The Bracket in them, just that this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than you might think!, 31 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
OK, I'd heard all the hype, heard 'Same Jeans' 24 hours a day on Radio 1 (smallest playlist on the air!) and thought must be patriotic and get The View. I thought they would be just an Arctic Monkeys replica but I must admit, as much as I like the AMs, The View offer just a little bit more. Lyrically they are equally as good but musically they are more accomplished. Yes, there are echoes of bands gone by, 'The Smith', 'Oasis', 'Dodgy' but they have their own sound which makes stand out.

Lyrically things can be playful one minute, grim the next! Like life maybe!!

There are no weak tracks but for me standouters are 'Face For The Radio','Skag Trendy','Wasted Little DJs' and the incredible 'Wasteland'.

If you have any qualms about buying this, forget them as the album may not be what u are expecting! Bring on Summer Festivals!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but..., 15 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
...unfortunately these lads stand to be destroyed by the ever excitable media and commercial world. Yes, it seems to be a re-occuring pattern now. I think the most obvious comparison will be with the Arctic Monkeys - a brilliant, amazing, exhillarating band that are slowly and painfully being picked apart by over-exposure. You get the feeling that such bands would rather remain in the sheltered'underground' of music, where there are loyal and passionate fans a plenty and less of the overly-enthusiatstic, money-snatching moguls.

However, there is nothing I or indeed anyone can do to stop this, and so I shall proceed with my raving of this fantastic band.

Where to start?

To be blunt about it, every single song on this album brings something fresh and delivers effortlessly every time. I can understand why some people feel that many of the songs are a bit repetitive which is fair comment. However if you go into this album wanting and expecting it to be good, which I did, then you will thoroughly enjoy it.

My personal faves are "Superstar Tradesman", "Face For The Radio"(which I'm predicting will become the (pronounce as 'theee') tune of the summer, and subsequently will become hideously over-played and thus, I shall then probably resent it forever more) and the unquestionably brilliant "Wasted Little DJ's". Other songs that provide highs and deserve a mention are the rousing "Comin' Down", infectious "The Don" and the down-right crazy "Skag Trendy". However, I promise you that every single song is actually quite fantastic.

Some people have said that they are just Libertine wannabes, and yes, it would be fair to say that they have obviously taken inspiration from the legends themselves, but there's nowt wrong with that as far as I'm concerned!

All in all I would encourage you to buy this album, however I won't be too upset if you don't because a) I'll never know anyway and b) I already own it so I'm content.

Further listening I hear you eagerly cry?

Rather predictably, The Libertines, Arctic Monkeys and The Strokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Ignore This Band!, 25 Jun. 2007
By 
T Brooks (Oxford, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
The music is fun and catchy. However like most bands now a days once the radio and tv shows get hold of them their songs will be drummed into your head. Even so this is defiantly worthy of a place in anyones CD collection.

The best songs on the album include:

+ Superstar Tradesman

+ Same Jeans

+ The Don

+ Face For The Radio

+ Dance Into The Night

+ Claudia

+ Streetlights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The View are on fire..., 22 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
An example of why British music really is the best in the world - just a magnificent debut album -up there with "Definitely Maybe" and "The Stone Roses". The View manage to mix the raw energy of The Libertines with the catchy hooks of Oasis. If the Arctic Monkeys had the hype but not quite the songs, The View are proof that sometimes, the hype can be justified.

Opening with "Comin Down", it's an unrelenting amazing opener complete with vocals resembling Rob Harvey of The Music. It really does set things in motion brilliantly. By the time you come to the end of "Same Jeans", 3 songs in, you know you're in for something special.

"Don't Tell Me" is perhaps one of the more Oasis-soundinng numbers, think a Scottish "Digsy's Dinner" and "She's Electric" and you're about there.

"Skag Trendy" and "The Don" boast the catchiest basslines on the album, it's a band at the top of their game some 6 songs in to their debut album!

Standout track is "Face For The Radio", an absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking acoustic song. Proof that The View can do both acoustic comedown and all out rock 'n' roll. Again, with Oasis-tinged lead guitar in the middle, by the end of "Face For The Radio", you realise this album is starting to stand out, and I mean, REALLY stand out.

The second half of "Hats Off To The Buskers" picks up with debut single "Wasted Little DJ's", another Libertines-esque track with a brilliant chorus. "Dance Into The Night" and "Claudia" wouldn't be too out of place on a Beatles album, whilst "Street Lights" reminds me of The Kinks.

Closing track "Wasteland" is a ska-esque all out 1000 beats a minute 2 and a half minutes, ensuring The View go out with a bang, by the time is draws to a close, your speakers will probably have spontaneously combusted.

There are times when we really need to embrace bands like The View who have shown more promise on their debut than has been seen in over 10 years. Bloc Party were overhyped. The Arctic Monkeys were overhyped.

Finally this time, a band who really do show that proof really is in the pudding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing from Dundee since "The Broons", 23 Jan. 2007
By 
Alistair Carrie "allymacd" (Kirriemuir, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
Take the energy of The Arctic Monkeys (Comin Down), add the melodic twists of The Fratellis (Dance Into The Night, Claudia), mix in some of your favourite Specials (Wastelands) and Blockheads (Don't Tell Me) riffs from the seventies, shake up with a bit of nineties britpop (Streetlights) then smooth down with a soft ballad or two with a nod to The Beautiful South (Face For Radio). The foursome from the "non-posh" end of Dundee are shining lights in a pretty dark time for the city. Showing all sorts of influences in their music they combine this with a huge dollop of originality and great humour in songs about their life in Dundee; they bring a broad smile to the face of this particular son of the Tay. A great album which for me is only let down by the production, but maybe I just prefer a less raw feel. I love the fact the songs are about everyday things and sung in a real Dundonian accent, especially "Gran's For Tea" and "Skag Trendy". My only complaint is that they missed out "Posh Boys" (it's on the "Wasted Little DJs" ep).

Buy this Album.

They're gonnae be BIG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic quality - this group will go far, 5 April 2007
By 
Ms. R. P. Colbourn "HixxySoft" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
I bought this album along with Good Bad & The Queen. Thought they were both mediocre, but carried on playing this one. I've been to over 600 live performances over 25 years, and have over 500 CDs, of which this is the best. This band have what it takes to be as big as the Beatles. Although many influences can be heard - Undertones, Sex Pistols, and many others, their sound is unique - a blend of punk/blues and pure rock'n'roll. The words are genius - Skag Trendy is a sad song of epic quality. Street Lights just has you imagine looking down into a Scottish city (Edinburgh for me) at all the lights. The singer has the occasional Johnny Rotten sound. Most of all I love the changes of tempo - both in singing and backing. I went to see them on the NME tour and whilst even more raw live, they are superb. It staggers me that such a young group can produce something so original, with such meaningful words, and such musical quality.If you've bought this and not sure on it - listen again until you love it!! If you haven't bought it - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Begins Here......, 31 Jan. 2007
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
The View arrived on a wave of hype in the summer of 2006 and their first two single 'Wasted Little DJ's' and 'Superstar Tradesman' were both number 15 in the chart after recieving heavy airplay from Zane Lowe and this hype looks set to continue. This album is a really good debut from the Scottish band. They seem to have a nice mix of The Undertones and The Libertines and this can only result in great tunes.

I have decided not to award 5 stars as it is not yet a 'classic' album. The album requires a few better tracks to have the 'classic tag' bestwoed upon it. However, the tracks that are on it are really good and should make the bands live set a must-see of 2007. With songs such as 'Same Jeans' and 'Skay Trendy' The View will be a favourite band for many this year and they will rightly have this crown.

Not as mind blowing as it could have been but certainly a very good album.

The View have the number one album here, 2007 (well the first few months) will be there year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good honest fun, 16 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
Fine album, very enjoyable and not limited to just a couple of tracks at all. They're not glamourising or overblowing where they come from, and there's no great drama or misery in their lyrics, just everyday life with a gentle humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Hats Off To The Buskers (Audio CD)
I know its only january but this album will take some beating for best album of the year. The View are amazing. They are able to switch between up beat songs like 'Wasted Little DJs' to more mellow songs like 'Face for the radio'. Every track on the album is quality with 'Superstar Tradesman' being the standout track. Guitar on that is top draw. Simply this is a must have album for all music fans. Enjoy.

THE VIEW ARE ON FIRE!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews