Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars57
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2007
Wow, this is an awsome album from the metal gods. They some how improved on Screaming For Vengance with this album Defenders Of The Faith,

with stand out songs such as Some Heads Are Gonna Roll and The Sentinel.

I was amazed when i first heard this album, it's a really addictive album with catchy songs and great guitar work.

A 5 star album in my view, i recommend it to any rock and metal fans.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
This is the album that started me off in the 1980s. I remember listening to it when it came out and I was instantly a convert. Every track exudes power, confidence, variety, skill, and heavy, very heavy, metal. The opening tracks are a punch in the stomach and leave your head feeling dizzy. There is such an orchestral feel and composition to the Priest sound of this period: such a rich texture of heavy riffs and pounding drums.

I had a very big problem after listening to this album for three or four times a day: all the other albums I kept buying or borrowing sounded so not-heavy compared to Priest. It was a problem because I couldn't satisfy my need for a heavy rock sound. Eventually, it was what attracted me to the speed and thrash metal at the end of the 1980s.

I still listen to 'Defenders of the Faith' - not as regularly as I used to do, but over two decades later it still feels fresh and electric.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
5 stars for an album that I do not believe to be the best lp, that Judas Priest released.
Reason....it's a monster of a heavy metal lp, it doesn't give you a chance to enjoy it on your own terms, it rips through you from beginning to end, it's an experience more than a journey. It came at the right time for Judas Priest, they had already broken into the American market, and this was the album to ensure they became permanent residents of the USA.
The reason I don't feel it's the best Judas Priest album is due to the fact of it being very formulated, it had one agenda, to tear you apart with razor sharp no surrender metal, and it achieved this 100%, it is what it is....a sadistic brute, but it isn't the Judas Priest that gave us that power metal with intelligence and dignity, "Killing Machine" is a much better album, "Point of Entry" has a far better writing skills,"British Steel " may be rated as the best known Judas album but that has a few metal fillers amongst the Priest classics. To sum up "Defenders of the Faith " it's a honest album, that knows what it is, it is genuine 110% British Heavy Metal, you are buying pure decibel destruction on a mighty scale...it does not disappoint, but don't expect the best Judas Priest album you've ever heard, if you want class and metal sophistication in the song writing department buy the 1979 to 1981 albums.....if your in need to be torn limb from limb this is the album for you....it is a murderous metal monster......if it ain't movin it ain't groovin,
Buy and Enjoy......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Judas Priest's ninth studio album was released in 1984. Defenders Of The Faith is an album often celebrated by Priest fans but isn't as famous as some of their other albums like Painkiller, British Steel or Screaming For Vengeance. The album doesn't feature as regularly in top 100 album countdowns but don't let that discourage you; this is a very good record indeed.

After the band's previous album Screaming For Vengeance had taken the band to new heights of popularity, breaking the US market two years earlier, Priest had a tough job following it up.

Defenders Of The Faith does a good job of trying however. It largely follows the formula of its predecessor, only with a marginally heavier and darker edge. Tracks, such as `Eat Me Alive,' and `Freewheel Burning,' are the type of big and exciting Heavy Metal songs that you want from Judas Priest, and they mix neatly in with slower material like `Love Bites,' or `Night Comes Down.'

It could be argued that Defender's Of The Faith is a sort of perfect center of Judas Priest's 1980s output. Not flashy or innovative, not a big departure or a new chapter but an absolutely refined and well crafted album of the sort of music you want from the band.

If you like Judas Priest, don't overlook Defenders Of The Faith. The songs are good, the performances are good and the album has all the wailing vocals and guitar solos that the band stands for. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2003
With this album, Priest kept the Metallion alive with a burning heavy metal album that was not only one of the best Priest albums, but one of the best heavy metal albums around.
Its not slow, but not fast, just downright heavy! One of the greatest features of this album, for a guitar fan like myself, is the incredibly crisp, clean and quality solo's. Priest weren't divulging in the extra heaviness that came about in the Painkiller album with new double bass techniques. That extra edge may have been missing at this stage but this made the music appear some what more technical.
All in all, the clean sound that comes out of this album surprised me at the time, as I was used to the ridiculous wah of Slayer and brutality of At The Gates.
Rob Halford's voice is as powerful as ever on this album. I would recommend listening to a few songs first before purchasing to get used to Halford's voice.
Great heavy metal, get it in the collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Certainly one of the best albums if not the best that judas priest have ever produced, no weak songs, fast paced, intense, face melting solos, and epic vocals as you would expect from Halford. The sentinel is probably the best song priest have made! Must buy for judas priest fans!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2006
This album represents a solid offering from the priest it is certainly not a classic as there are too many tracks which really don't deliver such as Heavy Duty/Defenders of the faith which is just a bit of a plodding rip off of Queens "We will rock you" which falls well short of the mark.

However there are some really great tracks on offer here as well like The Sentinel, Freewheel Burning and Rock Hard Ride Free. For me though the production is a little too slick and polished and, has a bit to much of a Pop feel to it, the edgy Killing Machine or the brilliant Painkiller are far better examples of what the Priest are capable of.

If you like the more commercial side of Judas Priest this is probably the album for you as well as British Steel but if like me you prefer the harder sharper Priest stuff then you can give this one a miss
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
You can't beat a bit of Judas Priest can you; falsetto vocals over squealing guitars with a nice pounding rhythm section. Obvious comparisons with Iron Maiden, with perhaps more of a rocky feel. Less clean.

Painkiller was actually the first Judas Priest album that I bought and as a result I have a preference for Priest when they are going a million miles an hour. I have to say though that the slower songs on here don't put me off one bit and give a more dynamic listen.

The bonus track `Turn on your Light' isn't bad but doesn't really fit with the album, the notes in the booklet speak of not really knowing why the song was left of but it is too clean and pop like for this album. Still a nice bonus and one for the raised lighters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
The KINGS of metal at there peak.What a great set this is, The album as we all know is classic and the live set is a real treat, any priest fan should add this to their collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Hi, I keep getting asked for reviews on Priest. As I keep saying thirty are no superlatives Left in the O.E.D to describe them!!! Long Live "THE METAL GODS"!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.