Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the country girl!
Even though I followed series 4 of American Idol, I know that many people will be put off by the fact that Carrie is the winner of a reality tv show if that is not there kind of thing. But I would just like to say that this album is definitely worthy of buying and is not cheesy in the slightest. If you hadn't knownwho she was, you would not be able to say this was her...
Published on 4 Jun 2006 by Emma W

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great - too many rock sounds
Carrie underwood has power in her voice and is a good singer.
She can belt out the notes and looks good on video but her songs sound a bit similar
after you've heard a few of them.Hasn't got Taylor Swift's subtlety.
Published on 11 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the country girl!, 4 Jun 2006
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
Even though I followed series 4 of American Idol, I know that many people will be put off by the fact that Carrie is the winner of a reality tv show if that is not there kind of thing. But I would just like to say that this album is definitely worthy of buying and is not cheesy in the slightest. If you hadn't knownwho she was, you would not be able to say this was her first professional album. There is a mix of country and contemporary country with the acclaimed song "Jesus, take the wheel". Overall I would not hesitate to recommend the album..good start to a very potential career!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American idol just keeps churning out the talent!, 14 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
i never thought american idol would find someone to rival the wonderful Kelly Clarkson but i was definately wrong!
this album catches you right from the first listen,my favourites being some hearts, starts with goodbye,thats where it is and before he cheats which is packed full of attitude that you'd never expect from such a sweet looking girl.
Although its not quite up to the standard of kelly clarksons fantastic 2nd album breakaway its streets ahead of kellys first offering.
Proving that talent show winners can with the right people behind them produce a fantastic album,i predict big things for carrie in the future and im sure it wont be long until the british public pick up on her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Wasted, 14 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
Before listening to this CD I was quite aprehensive, because I was worried that the CD wouldn't display Carrie's true potential as a singer and performer. I was wrong.
The CD opens with a bang in the form of Wasted, and closes well with Inside Your Heaven. Here Is my track by track rating, and personal review...
1. Wasted - This is a good opener to the CD with a catchy chorus, despite the song going on for 5mins, you wont get bored. Great Song with Infectious chorus. 8/10
2. Don't Forget To Remember Me - This is a nice song, about moving away from home. Nice chorus and well written make this a good sing along song. 7/10
3. Some Hearts - One of the CD standouts. A very pop track, but wonderful vocals and a super chorus. One of my personal favourites. 9/10
4. Jesus Take The Wheel - It's not a heavy religous record, but has some great references. Beautiful chorus and great vocals. Another stand out song. 9/10
5. Night Before (Life Goes On) - A nice song, that really lets Carrie's voice take centre stage. She holds some killer notes, however the song itself has a fairly complicated story line to it. 7/10
6. Lessons Learned - A good song, with quite a country feel to it. Wonderful chorus, but easily forgettable. 7/10
7. Before He Cheats - A track that really shows off some personality. Great vocals, with a good chorus. 8/10
8. Starts With Goodbye - A Lovely song about ending love. Wonderful vocals, and Carrie's vocals really shine. Perfect chorus that is catchy yet not annoying. 8/10
9. I Just Can't Live A Lie - Another Album highlight. Perfect vocals, and I can see this being a big hit, in america and over seas. 9/10
10. We're Young Beautiful - Good song but my least favourite on the album. Reminds me alot of Charlotte Church on this track, although she maybe over does it abit on the singing side. 6/10
11. That's Where It Is - The Album Highlight. 90% Perfect, only the verses let this song song down. Not much more to say! 9/10
12. Whenever You Remember Me - Nice song, but doesnt live up to its predecessor. Good strong chorus though. 8/10
13. I Ain't In Checotah Anymore - Here we see Carrie's writing style, and how she would pan a song out. Well writen and nice chorus. 9/10
14. Inside Your Heaven - The winner's song from American Idol. Good strong vocals, although the lyrics are abit cheesy. Good however. 7/10
Theres my review, i hope you enjoyed it. Carrie's album is a must buy for any AI fan, and also someone who likes country or pop or even country-pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars carrie underwood, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
i watched american idol from the very begining and pick carrie as the winner and boy did she deserve it .some might say she looks cute and is squeeky clean but can she sing !!!!!!her debut album "Some hearts "is a great album something for everyone especially all you die hard country fans ,my favourite track is "jesus take the wheel "which miss underwood took 2 number one in both country and mainstreem charts .over all i would give this album 9 1/2 out of 10 takin the 1/2 off for her been to damn perfect haha (im only jealous )lets hope her next album will be as great keep it up carrie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic!, 2 Jan 2007
By 
R. Wood "Nightlock" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
After watching only the final of American Idol 4 online and seeing Carrie win, I immediately decided to buy her album and wasn't disappointed one bit! She has an amazing voice that can rival original American Idol winner Kelly Clarkson, and the album is simply packed with brilliant songs. Favourites for me are Wasted, Jesus Take the Wheel, The Night Before (Life Goes On), Before he Cheats and of course her first ever single Inside Your Heaven. Can't wait for her second album, hopefully it will be evejn half as good as her first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Carrie! Carrie! You Brought It Home, Dawg" Randy Jackson, 28 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
Carrie Underwood - Winner of American Idol 2005. Everyone was a little worried whether Carrie could be a nationwide success with Country-Pop; but she is! Some Hearts is a brilliant genre-wide album which completely showcases Carrie's talent.
Some Hearts and Jesus Take The Wheel are the strongest songs on the album. The others are all 8/10+.
The small town girl from Oklahoma keeps blowing us away with her voice.
Keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Trevor Ball (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
The fist album from the American Idol winner is an instant winner. Jesus take the wheel won all sorts of awards and the rest of the album follows that success. I am sure there will be many more albums from this soon to be superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums of the decade...., 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
1.Wasted-great song..typifies the album in terms of striking story telling 9/10

2.Don't Forget To Remember Me- 10/10...this one couldnt have been better....i found myself identifying with so many lines in the song

3.Some Hearts-catchy tune 7/10
4.Jesus Take The Wheel-great inspirational ballad 9/10
5.Night Before (Life Goes On)-Carrie's atsory telling in this album is surreal 9/10
6.Lessons Learned-powerful 8/10
7.Before He Cheats-great creativity and light hearted 8/10
8.Starts With Goodbye-good ballad. 7/10
9.I Just Can't Live A Lie- 6.5/10
10.We're Young And Beautiful- upbeat country track 7.5/10
11.That's Where It Is- 6/10
12.Whenever You Remember- ups the ante again. 8.5/10
13.I Ain't In Cecotah Anymore-follows on from track number 2. carrie at her best 9/10
14.Inside Your Heaven-good ballad 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrie Underwood, outsells all American Idol Winners, 24 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. B. M. Jones "Brenton-Lee" (PAIGNTON,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
Amazing Album, Simon Cowell has predicted while she was in American idol after she sung her song Alone which is still on youtube that she will outsell the American idol Winners includes Kelly Clarkson and he right 3 Years later this year he announced it on Idol Give Back 2008. Well Done Carrie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 May 2006
By 
Jennifer Reilly "getmyhurrdid" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Some Hearts (Audio CD)
My god can this girl sing! Fell in love with Carrie Underwood when she sang "Alone" on American Idol. Was afraid that this album might have been a dissapointment, but i couldn't have been more wrong. I've never been a huge country fan but this girl has completely changed my mind. "Jesus take the Wheel" and "The night before life goes on" had me in tears, Carrie sings them beautifully, "Before he Cheats" is another great one.

I cannot say enough good things about this album, if you loved Carrie on american idol, you will be LOVE this album. I can't stop listening to it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Hearts
Some Hearts by Carrie Underwood
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews