Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Perry's Perfect Journey Send-Off
Although SP didn't tour with Journey after the release of this album; his work on it along with Neal Schon, Jonathan Cain, Ross Valory and Steve Smith helped make IMO one of Journey's best albums.

'Message of Love' is a cracking opener to the album with a storming chorus and is followed on track 3 by the Grammy nominated 'When You Love A Woman'. Other standout...
Published on 28 Feb 2007 by cdjourneyfan

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Sequencing and too many ballads ruins record's pacing. A review sixteen years in the making!
Strange how things you mean to do sometimes just never get [down] done, or written out for others to know. Like "Super Mario 64" (also from 1996), I have it difficult to believe that I have not yet written a review for "Trial By Fire" by Journey so many years after its initial release, given my rather tempetous and long standing relationship with the record...
Published 23 months ago by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Perry's Perfect Journey Send-Off, 28 Feb 2007
By 
cdjourneyfan (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Although SP didn't tour with Journey after the release of this album; his work on it along with Neal Schon, Jonathan Cain, Ross Valory and Steve Smith helped make IMO one of Journey's best albums.

'Message of Love' is a cracking opener to the album with a storming chorus and is followed on track 3 by the Grammy nominated 'When You Love A Woman'. Other standout tracks are 'One More' and the 2006 re-masters bonus track 'I Can See It In Your Eyes'.

I got the US import version of the re-master, but it seems this UK release will be exactly the same; so if you like Journey and don't have this album, you should definetly buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic!, 10 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
Having read some indifferent reviews, I wondered whether this 1996 release would be up to the usual Journey standard - I needn't of worried.
It's Journey doing what they do best. Great rockers such as "Message of Love" & "Don't wake the Lion" to the melodic ballads, "When you love a woman", (a US No.1) and "Easy to Fall" to name two on an album with a greater emphasis than previous releases on ballads.
But please don't let that put you off. With 15 great tracks here it's excellent value for money.
So whether your cruising in the car or relaxing after a long day, this album makes an ideal choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve's swan song, 17 Mar 2007
How can you give a Journey cd anything less than five stars?, my only criticism is the cd has a few too many ballads which are not up to the standard of the stand out ballad "When You Love A Woman," so the album does drag a little (it's about 78 mins long) but having said that there's some fine tracks, for me they tend to be the more rockier ones like Message Of Love, One More, Castles Burning & Can't Tame The Lion. you also get the previously Japan only track "I Can See It In Your Eyes". Steve Perry (vocals) Last album with Journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the most popular Journey album, just the best., 21 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
Trial by Fire is the album that many of us die hard Journey fans thought we would never see. It marks Journey's return to the studio, with their most popular band line up, after a break of a whole decade. Long after we had given up hope, Journey rose from the ashes invigorated with new life and new experiences gained from the band members separately pursuing their own solo careers during the separation. This album is full of new ideas, and whilst being characteristically Journey, it brings a new dimension to the bands repertoire.
If you used to listen to Journey but lost touch with the band during the '86-'96 Journey drought and you still think that Journey's Escape is the best album they ever released, then give this one a spin. For me, this is the best album that has ever been laid down onto plastic by any band. Not only that, it has the best album cover too!
Where do I start? You have 14 tracks on here (actually 15-if you're not too quick to turn it off at the end). To pigeon hole things very crudely, there are four 'rockers' and four 'power ballads' and several others that don't really fit into either category. But beyond that, this album shows the first signs of what I think of as the new Journey 'wall of sound' era where they hit your senses with many layers of sound at once. Despite the change of lead singer, the later albums 'Arrival' and 'Red13' continue this trend and expand upon it. The band matured significantly during the break and the music is altogether more thoughtful these days.
The quality of the musicianship is first rate throughout as you would expect from the line up that brought you 'Escape' and 'Frontiers'. Perry's vocals soar through the whole album and if this is the last album he ever records with Journey then it's a superb finale. Also, listen out for Jonathan Cain's beautiful keyboard work on 'Still she cries' where he robs the tempo and breathes life into the music. If you like this, try listening to Cain's excellent solo album (Back to the Innocence) released a year earlier. Neal Schon makes his presence felt on every track, his interplay with Perry on 'Castles Burning' is great and I won't even mention his solo on 'Can't tame the lion'. Everyone writes about that, but why are they surprised? They should know what he's capable of. Check out 'A prayer for peace' on his 'Electric World' album if you want to be seriously impressed. It's also very good to see Smith and Valory back on this album, rhythm sections don't come any better.
I rushed out and bought this one when it was released in 1996 and have been listening to it ever since...not tired of it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic journey album., 21 Sep 2000
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
After a long period away from the studio they have returned with a truly awesome easy listening album. It plays well to all age groups and has the ability to become an all time favourite. Many great new songs from the most successful journey line up and just keeps getting better with each time it's played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 5 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. D. M. Eynon "derek_eynon" (Bromsgrove) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
When You Love A Woman, It's Just The Rain and Trial By Fire are examples of the kind of fine songwriting rarely seen in a rock band. Steve Perry's voice is better than ever, soulful, soaring, Neal Schon is brilliant (and would be hapy to tell you so, at length, I believe) Ross Valory is masterful on bass,
oh and there's a little cod reggae hidden track on the end, if you wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Farewell, 14 Jun 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album has really grown on me over the years, since its initial release in 1996, and I appreciate it more now than I did originally. Although Steve Perry's vocals were evidently not at their best at this point, he still sounds great. As this turned out to be his last ever Journey album, it's a fitting farewell to The Voice that helped take Journey to the top. It was also the last album for drummer Steve Smith.

Overall, it's a mixture of ballads and up-tempo songs, but there is an air of melancholy in some of the music, beautiful as it is, and I think it's one of their most 'spiritual' albums - certainly from the Perry era. It's very reflective and nostalgic. One of the songs (When I Think of You) maybe about Perry's late mother.

The re-mastered release with booklet also contains the bonus track I Can See It In Your Eyes, which is a great solid rock track with a brilliant uplifting solo from Neal. The original bonus track Baby I'm a Leaving You, a fun 'reggae' number, which was hidden as an extension to the final song Trial By Fire, is included as a stand-alone track.

For true fans and collectors: some of these songs (most notably Colors of the Spirit and Can't Tame The Lion) almost sound like they've been re-mixed, so this is definitely a re-master, and not just a re-issue. A worthwhile addition to your Journey collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is one of the better albums they did .steve perry,s voice is slightley changing as hes got older.it is brilliant shame it was steve perrys ,s last album with journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a big fan, 3 Dec 2011
By 
C. J. Dean "genesis top" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
This album / cd was a last farewell by Steve perry with the band and as such is a must for myself as a die hard journey fan - get it and listen to his amazing vocal range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Trial By Fire (Audio CD)
Perfect. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trial By Fire
Trial By Fire by Journey
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews