Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Of A Superb Career
I acknowledge that, first and foremost, I write this review as a fan. Having said that - I will also first acknowledge what is disappointing about this collection: no liner notes (the record company SHOULD have commissioned David to write about the songs); David's hit recording of 1974 "Please Please Me" is a surprise omission (recorded live, it captures the mass...
Published on 24 Nov 2006 by P. N. Clark

versus
55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all original hits
The song COULD IT BE FOREVER on this compilation is NOT the original hit version when released in 1972 instead its sadly a waterdown version of this superb song when David originally recorded it. I AM A CLOWN has been heavily edited at the beginning compared to the original hit song. As far as I know the Partridge Family song ONE NIGHT STAND was never release in mono...
Published on 13 Nov 2006 by Luke73


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all original hits, 13 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The song COULD IT BE FOREVER on this compilation is NOT the original hit version when released in 1972 instead its sadly a waterdown version of this superb song when David originally recorded it. I AM A CLOWN has been heavily edited at the beginning compared to the original hit song. As far as I know the Partridge Family song ONE NIGHT STAND was never release in mono BUT it is here! The sound engineer who remastered this CD must have forgot to switch on the stereo button.

THE LAST KISS and the 'single' version of ROMANCE (still waiting CD debut) would have completed this compilation. But these tracks are sadly missing.

The CD booklet is bare bones. Hardly any liner notes and absolutely no pictures in sight apart from the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Of A Superb Career, 24 Nov 2006
By 
P. N. Clark "Music Fan" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I acknowledge that, first and foremost, I write this review as a fan. Having said that - I will also first acknowledge what is disappointing about this collection: no liner notes (the record company SHOULD have commissioned David to write about the songs); David's hit recording of 1974 "Please Please Me" is a surprise omission (recorded live, it captures the mass hysteria of David's audience at the time); the version of "Darlin'" is not the remixed track issued as a (hit) single in 1975 (the version included here is David's passionate album track vocal).

Now to the good bits: this is a fabulous selection of David's hits and greatest from 1970 to 1975. It brings together most of the songs that topped the charts worldwide during the period when David Cassidy was the undisputed King of Pop. And it reminds the listener what an incredible singer the man was/is and how well he could interpret a song. These songs are David's legacy to the pop world, a legacy that is too often ignored by self-appointed pop critics.

Songs like "Could It Be Forever", "Daydreamer", "How Can I Be Sure", "Rock Me Baby", "I Write The Songs" (David's version was the original) and "Cherish" are all pop classics and demonstrate David's vocal versatility. The Partridge Family hits are well-written, superbly performed, mini pop masterpieces.

I'm particularly pleased to note that the original version of "If I Didn't Care" with the extended harmonica section finally resurfaces as the one included in this collection!!!!

David Cassidy in his hey day was unassailable. His records sold in the millions. His concerts, held in the biggest venues worldwide, were complete sell outs. His face on a the cover of a magazine guaranteed a sold out edition. This collection is a great reminder for those of us who lived it all and a testimony for those who didn't. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Could It Be Forever - The Greatest Hits, 15 Dec 2006
By 
I would just like to say that I really enjoy this CD but was disappointed that the track Darlin' was cut short, not like the album version. I really like the track The Puppy Song which is my favourite song. I think that as CD's go this one is most certainly the best David has done, I was really surprised that Please Please Me wasn't on here like on the Definitive Collection of David Cassidy and Partridge Family songs, but that aside I think that the songs are really great, and perhaps next Christmas David will release an album of Christmas songs.

I think that David is a great singer and can't wait for him to release a new album next year and hope to see him in the rewind tour next year - if there are any tickets left for the London Arena concert.

Laura Lambert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love this, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever...The Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
I had forgotten how good David Cassidy's songs were and what a great voice he had, or perhaps still does, bought partly for nostalgia reasons bu the songs sound fresh today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album - all Davids hits are on there fab to be able to hear him sing cherish again many happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every song is one of those brilliant, easy to sing to, oldies that take me straight back to those teenage years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still the same, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another good little cd just like l first heard them, the older ladys see love him, like most of the tracks but not all. would fully recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever...The Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
This is a great wee album. Find myself singing along. Memories if lying in bed as a teenager looking at David's pics all over my bedroom walls. Even remembered old boyfriends lol love it. Great value. Treat mix if songs well done amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back so many memories, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever...The Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
Music brings back memories so quickly and vividly. Cassidy was mega
back then. Different world,different times. The innocence of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could it be Forever - The Greatest Hits, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD bought back memories of when I was young and a great David Cassidy fan, a must for all those that want a trip down memory lane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb47b333c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews