Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Of A Superb Career
I acknowledge that, first and foremost, I write this review as a fan. Having said that - I will also first acknowledge what is disappointing about this collection: no liner notes (the record company SHOULD have commissioned David to write about the songs); David's hit recording of 1974 "Please Please Me" is a surprise omission (recorded live, it captures the mass...
Published on 24 Nov. 2006 by P. N. Clark

versus
58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all original hits
The song COULD IT BE FOREVER on this compilation is NOT the original hit version when released in 1972 instead its sadly a waterdown version of this superb song when David originally recorded it. I AM A CLOWN has been heavily edited at the beginning compared to the original hit song. As far as I know the Partridge Family song ONE NIGHT STAND was never release in mono...
Published on 13 Nov. 2006 by Luke73


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not all original hits, 13 Nov. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The song COULD IT BE FOREVER on this compilation is NOT the original hit version when released in 1972 instead its sadly a waterdown version of this superb song when David originally recorded it. I AM A CLOWN has been heavily edited at the beginning compared to the original hit song. As far as I know the Partridge Family song ONE NIGHT STAND was never release in mono BUT it is here! The sound engineer who remastered this CD must have forgot to switch on the stereo button.

THE LAST KISS and the 'single' version of ROMANCE (still waiting CD debut) would have completed this compilation. But these tracks are sadly missing.

The CD booklet is bare bones. Hardly any liner notes and absolutely no pictures in sight apart from the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Of A Superb Career, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
P. N. Clark "Music Fan" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I acknowledge that, first and foremost, I write this review as a fan. Having said that - I will also first acknowledge what is disappointing about this collection: no liner notes (the record company SHOULD have commissioned David to write about the songs); David's hit recording of 1974 "Please Please Me" is a surprise omission (recorded live, it captures the mass hysteria of David's audience at the time); the version of "Darlin'" is not the remixed track issued as a (hit) single in 1975 (the version included here is David's passionate album track vocal).

Now to the good bits: this is a fabulous selection of David's hits and greatest from 1970 to 1975. It brings together most of the songs that topped the charts worldwide during the period when David Cassidy was the undisputed King of Pop. And it reminds the listener what an incredible singer the man was/is and how well he could interpret a song. These songs are David's legacy to the pop world, a legacy that is too often ignored by self-appointed pop critics.

Songs like "Could It Be Forever", "Daydreamer", "How Can I Be Sure", "Rock Me Baby", "I Write The Songs" (David's version was the original) and "Cherish" are all pop classics and demonstrate David's vocal versatility. The Partridge Family hits are well-written, superbly performed, mini pop masterpieces.

I'm particularly pleased to note that the original version of "If I Didn't Care" with the extended harmonica section finally resurfaces as the one included in this collection!!!!

David Cassidy in his hey day was unassailable. His records sold in the millions. His concerts, held in the biggest venues worldwide, were complete sell outs. His face on a the cover of a magazine guaranteed a sold out edition. This collection is a great reminder for those of us who lived it all and a testimony for those who didn't. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE GREAT NAMES OF THE 70'S SCENE', 5 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly as an earlier reviewer has pointed out , not all the songs are the original recordings,
that aside the disc does in some form harbour most of his hit material from the 70's in the
main.
Of course ,David Cassidy came to the fore as a result of his association with the American
show 'The Partridge Family' he had that clean-cut boy-next-door image making him popular
with the girls of that time.
He was an accomplished musician and song-writer, his vocals more than acceptable back
then.
'David' had two number one successes those being 'How can I be Sure' (1972) and in 73'
'Daydreamer' / The Puppy Song.
His first chart success was in fact 'Could it be Forever' / 'Cherish' witch peaked at number '2'
in the U.K in 1972.
Among some of the other hits on-board - 'Rock ME Baby' (Chart '11' 1972) 'I am a Clown' /
Some Kind of Summer' ( Chart '3' 1973) 'If I didn't Care' (Chart '9' 1974) and 'I Write the Songs'
(Chart '11' 1975) - (This Song a 'Barry Manilow' number )...and...'Darlin' (Chart '16' 1975)....
all numbers mentioned can be found on this release, one or two of his 70's hits are not included
on-board, however the songs he's best remembered for, are.
He did have one or two chart entries beyond the seventies which also are not included.
'David Cassidy' was one of the acts that remain remembered from that time, he does in fact still
perform to this day.
Though as mentioned earlier there are one or two quibbles with this release, I have to say, overall
it's a fair reflection of the mans music and more importantly 'The Memories We Have'

-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Could It Be Forever - The Greatest Hits, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
I would just like to say that I really enjoy this CD but was disappointed that the track Darlin' was cut short, not like the album version. I really like the track The Puppy Song which is my favourite song. I think that as CD's go this one is most certainly the best David has done, I was really surprised that Please Please Me wasn't on here like on the Definitive Collection of David Cassidy and Partridge Family songs, but that aside I think that the songs are really great, and perhaps next Christmas David will release an album of Christmas songs.

I think that David is a great singer and can't wait for him to release a new album next year and hope to see him in the rewind tour next year - if there are any tickets left for the London Arena concert.

Laura Lambert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the Memories !, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
This C.D. played twice already by me on receipt of it and love David Cassidy's unique vocal even more now than then ! This is an excellent C.D. for those who wish like me to re - live those Partridge Family days as well as hear and appreciate just why David's music was a hit in the 70's assisted by his own natural appeal to his audiences !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the best, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are of an age to remember The Partridge Family on the television then you will remember David Cassidy who shot to fame and fortune on the back of the show..and here you get to realise why both were huge at the time..brilliant pop music that sounds as fresh now as it did in the 70's....a truly awesome collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love this, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever...The Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
I had forgotten how good David Cassidy's songs were and what a great voice he had, or perhaps still does, bought partly for nostalgia reasons bu the songs sound fresh today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Transported to my teenage years!, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Claire A Farr (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was (still am!) in the Donny camp, rather than the David camp, but on listening to this CD I was immediately transported back to my teenage years. Wonderful! Memories of listening to the top 5 on, I believe, a Tuesday lunchtime at school, listening to Radio Luxemburg under the covers in bed, buying all the magazines with the pictures of Donny, David, the Bay City Rollers. Oh the memories that this CD bought back. If you were a teenager in the 70's and want a quick blast of memories, then I would definitely recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could it be Forever - The Greatest Hits, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great CD bought back memories of when I was young and a great David Cassidy fan, a must for all those that want a trip down memory lane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back so many memories, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Could It Be Forever...The Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
Music brings back memories so quickly and vividly. Cassidy was mega
back then. Different world,different times. The innocence of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews