Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond is back. And so is David Arnold with a wonderful score.
I recently saw the impressive new Bond film with my parents and was completely taken with the film score by David Arnold. So much so that I felt compelled to purchase it. In my view, with this superb CD, David Arnold has produced some of his finest work to compliment one of the best Bond movies.

The brass and percussive hues that burn throughout the score are...
Published on 15 Dec 2006 by film fan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious omission!
If I was reviewing this from a purely musical perspective it has to rate as 5 star. David Arnold is just brilliant as a composer for Bond and has the mood just right for the genre with his superb musical scoring. But, and it's a big but, as a soundtrack album it only rates 3 stars - where is the main title track?! Why oh why release a soundtrack album without the main...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by Porle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious omission!, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
If I was reviewing this from a purely musical perspective it has to rate as 5 star. David Arnold is just brilliant as a composer for Bond and has the mood just right for the genre with his superb musical scoring. But, and it's a big but, as a soundtrack album it only rates 3 stars - where is the main title track?! Why oh why release a soundtrack album without the main title theme and one of the best ones as well! If you want 'You Know My Name' then I'm afraid you will have to look elsewhere - this is a very serious omission!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond is back. And so is David Arnold with a wonderful score., 15 Dec 2006
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
I recently saw the impressive new Bond film with my parents and was completely taken with the film score by David Arnold. So much so that I felt compelled to purchase it. In my view, with this superb CD, David Arnold has produced some of his finest work to compliment one of the best Bond movies.

The brass and percussive hues that burn throughout the score are mesmerizing. From the opening track, 'African Rundown' which is a near 7 minute epic of percussion and African drums mixed in beautifully with the rest of the orchestra. Another epic track is the explosive and grand piece called 'Miami International'.

Other favourites of mine are 'Solange', a short but memorable piece, 'Stairwell Fight', 'Vesper' and possibly 'Death of Vesper'. The end track is the favourite theme of Bond in 'My Name is Bond...James Bond'. What a way to finish off the film and also this outstanding CD. I've only listened to it all the way through once, but I will listen to it some more. This is one of my favourite film soundtracks I've listened to. It has raw power in the opening track with the percussion rhythms and flare moving on through the emotional side of Bond to the fire and passion of 'Trip Aces' and the epic expanse of 'Miami International'. This track is impressive, powerful and runs in at a staggering 12 mins 40 secs.

What we have here is possibly one of the best film scores of the year so far. David Arnold's Casino Royale is engaging and brilliant. Out of all his scores for the Bond films, I would quite easily say that this one is his best work by a long way. It fits in effortlessly with the film and, like Daniel Craig as Bond, is very smooth and cool. I know that it doesn't feature the Bond song by Chris Cornell, but don't let that detract from this brilliant recording. A hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond is Back!, 14 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
Finally, after waiting 19 years (since The Living Daylights), we have a Bond soundtrack that can rank alongside the greats of many of John Barry's efforts in this genre. This is simply the best David Arnold Bond soundtrack. Why? It contains less of all that electronic noise, and is back to good orchestration. As this is the beginning of Bond's spy career, it is only fitting that the classic Bond theme is really only heard at the end of the film (and so at the end of the soundtrack). African Rundown is perhaps the most fast paced piece of music (similar to the other Arnold Bond pre-title cues). Good cues throughtout the cd. Though, please be aware, the title song, You Know My Name, is not on this soundtrack, only heard in various cues. Good effort all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as Bond has found has roots again, so has Arnold. Brilliant!, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Mark Higgins "mark7793" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
As much as he had brought to the James Bond series, I had lost faith in David Arnold. Die Another Day was a mess of electronic beats and manipulation, with just a few minor gems.

No more! With Casino Royale he has totally reinforced his place as the successor to John Barry. Thankfully he was permitted to be involved in the theme tune which allowed him to include it throughout his score.

And what a score! The only track to include a lot of the synthesised music is the airport track (Miami International) and that works. "I'm the Money" and "Aston Montonegro" contain excellent orchestrations of the theme tune and "Dinner Jackets" contains (in the last half) a great tribute to John Barry.

The final track makes what was already a brilliant scene one the most outstanding pieces of cinema history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond gets his mojo back, 16 Jun 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
After the too-often bland mechanics of The World is Not Enough and the unimpressive techno stylings of Die Another Day, David Arnold's score for Casino Royale marked a return to the more John Barryesque approach of his Tomorrow Never Dies, with even a few touches of Stargate in there as well. Despite there being only a few references to the title song (curiously not included on the CD) in the score, there's less of the post-Barry problem of Bond scores with no thematic consistency here, with Arnold's most notable main theme being an insistent, physically aggressive but slightly less relentless than expected action theme. The Bond theme itself only appears in the final cue in a particularly robust retro rendition. There are more quiet moments and sensual this time round over the length of its 74 minutes (City of Lovers probably the best). It's not one of the great Bond scores by any means, but in a poor year for film music it's one of the better recent efforts. Be warned, the track listing contains one massive giveaway if you haven't seen the film yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Energetic score, but where's the song?, 16 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
David Arnold's Bond-scores lack warmth and distinctiveness, it's hard to tell one from another, and the lack of stirring romantic themes reminds us that Arnold is not John Barry. That said, David Arnold's Bond-scores, "Casino Royale" included, overflow with energy, and the constant stream of fast-paced, drumbeat-driven tracks always provide a cool, adrenaline-pumping listening experience. There is one strong reason to avoid this album though, as somebody decided not to include the film's theme song, "You Know My Name" by David Arnold and Chris Cornell. You might think this is a scam by the money-greedy Bond-producers to make us buy two discs instead of just one, but according to Wikipedia, it happened because Cornell wanted the song to be "his", so the Bond-fans couldn't have it. Well, either way, there's no end to greedy little people in this world, and obviously the song should have been included. Show them what you think of that, avoid the "Casino Royale"-soundtrack and buy any one of David Arnold's other Bond-scores instead. Chances are that except for the song you won't be able to tell the difference anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but no title track, 14 Dec 2006
By 
B. Sheppard "Baz180" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
I expected to get the main title track, and was extremely disappointed.

The album is good, but the rating reflects the lack of main theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the title track?, 21 Nov 2006
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
On the strength of only one hearing so far, I would say that this is a freer David Arnold. Although his firmly rhythmic action writing is never too far away, this work has a sense of breadth; as well as pace aplenty, there is space to breathe. If you are among those who like David Arnold's treatment of Bond, you should enjoy this.

My question is this: since when did a Bond soundtrack album NOT included the vocal track(s), be it the title track or otherwise? I am not impressed by this. Now you may call me 'old-fashioned' but, when I buy the original soundtrack to a film, I expect to get the title track thrown in aswell (is "You Know My Name" the title track? I haven't had a chance to see the film yet!), not just interpolations of it! Or is that now to expect too much? Have I missed something here?

For this reason I can only justify three stars - I dislike this sort of incompleteness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real mixed bag!, 14 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
As a fan of the James Bond music scores, the wait for Casino Royale's music has been an eager one. It's also been something of an emotional rollercoaster.

When EON Productions announced that it had acquired the rights for Casino Royale, David Arnold mentioned in an interview that the series would have to take a completely new musical direction from now on. Hooray, I thought; this should be an interesting departure!

To be completely honest, I had hoped that Arnold would not be selected to do the score for Casino Royale. This was a new James Bond film, with a new direction and a whole new take on the character. The last three Bond scores had rather left me cold, with their derivative style, techno percussion loops and repetitive, pounding brass.

However, when the Sony website released thirty-second clips of each track on the new album, I was surprised and delighted by how much of the traditional Bond magic had seeped through into the new score. The rollercoaster went up.

This feeling was not to last. I should have remembered that James Bond is always surrounded by marketing hooha and that any talk of a radical departure in the music would probably have to be seen in that light. It would be unfair to accuse David Arnold of disingenuity; in some ways this score is quite different from its three predecessors.

But there is the rub.

There may be more orchestra, but it's still loud and cacophonous. For sure, there is a little more melody (and EON Productions has at last allowed Arnold to relate the rest of his score to the song), but there isn't anything like enough melody for a Bond score. Gone is the electronic techno, but in its place is an equally distressing chaotic din of percussion and wailing brass.

The rollercoaster noesdives!

The real problem is the action cues. In the romantic passages where the melody for is actually allowed out, the score is vibrant and lovely. But when the Bond character gets up to his usual mischief, by the score we could be in quite literally any action film genre at all. Nowhere is this contrast more apparent than between tracks eight and nine. Track 8(Miami International) is at teeth-jarring 13 minutes of typical, generic action film music. Just as you're reaching for the paracetamol, on comes Track 9(I'm the Money) and you feel like you're back in a Bond movie. For all of 27 seconds at least.

It's very hard to know how to grade David Arnold's score for Casino Royale. This is obviously a vastly superior work to the last two Bond film scores he has done. But if it bests Tomorrow Never Dies, it does so barely by a whisker. And despite some eerie overtones from Bernard Herrmann and Jerry Goldsmith, it doesn't even stand in the shadow of any of the other non-John Barry Bonds.

It gets three stars because it's halfway there. But a classic Bond score it ain't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnold has Done it again, 14 Nov 2006
This review is from: Casino Royale (Audio CD)
From the first track you will be astounded by the sheer quality of Arnold's score, it gets the pulse pounding. Rather Than use the Bond theme it uses You Know My Name By Chris Cornell (Which Unfortunatly is Not on the soundtrack) and gives the score a fresh and new feel.

I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino Royale [International Version]
Casino Royale [International Version] by Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews