Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Packaging
If you want a Doris Day hits album this has all the important tracks you will need. It also has a few good tracks seldom on other compilations..."Fly me to the moon"...."Close your eyes"...."Dream a little dream of me".All gorgeous. However if,like me, you are an ardent fan you will notice there are two previously unreleased tracks( from TV specials sources)which you...
Published on 3 Mar. 2007 by Colin R. Holmes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected
I love Doris Day's voice and could listen to it all day. However I was disappointed in some of the songs on this album, and when playing the CD, skip past over half of them. Just my taste I suppose, but it sounds very 60's.
Published 13 months ago by Marion Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Packaging, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
Colin R. Holmes (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
If you want a Doris Day hits album this has all the important tracks you will need. It also has a few good tracks seldom on other compilations..."Fly me to the moon"...."Close your eyes"...."Dream a little dream of me".All gorgeous. However if,like me, you are an ardent fan you will notice there are two previously unreleased tracks( from TV specials sources)which you MUST have. They aren't wonderful but they're not at all bad. To hear Doris singing "Feelin groovy" is interesting.As for "The way we were".....you've got to own it. They are very clever at this repackaging job. Genuine Doris fans will buy it for those two tracks and I have to admit other fans who just want the hits,well, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A magical collection of hits and rarities..., 29 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
"The Magic of Doris Day" is a cutely packaged CD collection from Doris's official record label SonyBMG. It features a nicely balanced combination of international hit singles and essential album recordings from the Columbia vaults. The real bonus for fans are the inclusion of two songs that make their debut on CD. These gems were recorded after Doris had departed her long-time label and had embarked on a very successful 'sitcom' career on American television. Included is a medley that in part featured on her first TV special and her heartfelt rendition of Streisand's "The Way We Were" which she taped live during her second and last TV special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection - wrong tracklisting on amazon, 16 Oct. 2012
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
This is an interesting collection with some rarities such as "The Way We Were" (although Barbara Streisland's version remains definitive). It's also one of the few places you can find her lovely recording of "Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps". Another place to find that is on 41 Hollywood Greats.

Note that amazon have the wrong track-listing at present - hopefully they'll have fixed this by the time you read this! The correct listing is:

1. Whatever Will Be, Will Be (Que Sera, Sera) 02:08
2. Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps (Quizas, Quizas, Quizas) 02:35
3. Move Over Darling 02:40
4. Pillow Talk 02:12
5. Teacher's Pet 02:37
6. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered 02:44
7. When I Fall In Love 02:59
8. It's Magic 03:38
9. Lullaby Of Broadway 02:52
10. Secret Love 03:38
11. The Deadwood Stage 03:16
12. The Black Hills Of Dakota 03:02
13. A Very Precious Love 03:04
14. Everybody Loves A Lover 02:43
15. Love Me Or Leave Me 02:16
16. Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words) 02:35
17. Dream A Little Dream Of Me 03:45
18. Close Your Eyes 03:11
19. You'll Never Walk Alone 02:33
20. Sentimental Journey 03:12
21. Medley: Secret Love / Who Will Buy? / The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy) 04:11
22. The Way We Were
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
Peter Gordon (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
For anybody of a certain age, this lady is a must. Her voice and her ability to capture a melody, is unsurpassed.

It is a great pity that those seeking their fortunes the relatively easy way, via television 'talent' shows should learn from singers such as Miss Day and Jo Stafford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MANY OF 'DORIS DAY'S' BEST LOVED SONGS ON-BOARD THIS ALBUM', 17 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
Five Stars for the many memories of both the music-scene of the 50's and the silver-screen.
Born 'Doris Mary Ann Kappelhoff' in 1922 or maybe 1924, strange not being sure i guess.
As 'Doris Day' the lady enjoyed a sparkling recording career mainly during the 50's with songs
such as 'Secret Love' (Chart '1' 1954) and 'Black Hills of Dakota' (Chart '7' also 1954) of course
these two numbers from the being from the memorable movie 'Calamity Jane' as of course is
'The Deadwood Stage' the album also includes her number one smash hit of 1956 'Whatever
Will Be, Will Be' (Que Sera Sera) and 'Ready Willing And Able' (Chart '7' 1955) 'A Very Precious
Love' (Chart '16' 1958) 'Love Me Or Leave Me' (Chart '20'1955) 'Everybody Loves A Lover'
(Chart '25' 1958) and her 1964 number '8' Hit - 'Move Over Darling'
There are many other well known 'Doris Day' gems on-board from films and albums which i'm sure
many will remember.
Of course 'Doris Day' had quite a film career of 'love/comedy' roles playing opposite stars such as
'Rock Hudson' and 'James Garner'
This album is a great collectors item for those of us that have memories of both her music and indeed
her film roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
All good'uns on this collection. All the classics and a couple of unreleased tracks. Track listing info is good too, giving details of original release dates, composer , conductor. No pictures of that beautiful face but the sound is good and no doubt it will confuse the neighbours hearing this amongst the nickelback, U2 and Miles Davis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Mum!, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
She absolutely loves it and plays it on her personal CD player while shes ironing!! No MP3 or I pod for her.......................... shes 75 and likes to have her cd player attached to her belt!!! She also is known to have it belting out on her ghetto blaster (her words not mine) and has been known to ignore callers at the door cos nits so loud......... As a teenager of the 50's this compliation hits just the right spot.........Would recommend and have actually made her bring it with us to play in the car so we can have a good old singalaiong on the way to Tesco...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely songs from the lovely voice of a lovely lady, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
After seeing a recent BBC4 documentary regarding Doris and being impressed with her singing I decided that I wanted a CD of her best material. Being an Alfred Hitchcock fan, I was already aware that Doris was a good actress from her performance in "The Man Who Knew Too Much" and the song from that film "Que, Sera Sera" highlighted an amazing voice. I have also recently seen the film biopic of 20s and 30s singer Ruth Etting in "Love Me Or Leave Me" where again, Doris gives a great performance both in singing and acting.

This CD has all the tracks that I want of Doris' career and in particular I like "Que, Sera Sera, Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps, Move Over Darling, Pillow Talk, Teachers Pet, It's Magic, Secret Love, The Deadwood Stage, The Black Hills Of Dakota, Love Me Or Leave Me" and "Sentimental Journey." The rest of you songs are also highly enjoyable.

The sound quality is very good on this release from Columbia and comes with an 8 page sleeve, 3 pages of which contain liner notes by Paul Grein where he gives a brief history of each of the songs. Lastly, a couple of pages detailing song titles, writers, original release dates and song timings are here.

I recommend this cd for anyone who wants to celebrate the best songs in the career of Doris Day.

Footnote: Ignore the first tracklisting that Amazon have put on this page as it is incorrect. The second listing further down however, is correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Doris., 22 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
Doris Day was part of my childhood. My older sister was a massive fan and later she dragged me off to see Move over darling at the cinema. It was then that I realised not only could she sing but she looked fantastic as well. This collection has all her gems and she is a very calming singer. If you need to just sit down and listen and relax this is a great album. While you are on Doris Day her christmas album is also a very good album and includes one from the fifties which still hits me around December 1st each year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Doris Day, 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Magic of Doris Day (Audio CD)
For those of us that are a touch older the cd reminds us of the music in our heyday which was bright, bubbly and understandable. Doria Day takes a lot of beating voicewise and is definatley easy listening and the songs on this cd are very much the songs of my youth, much recorded by all the fine artists around then.And of course the one I bought it for "perhaps, perhaps, perhaps" was one of the songs from the strictly 2010 dances which was danced so beautifully by Pamela and James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magic Of Doris Day
Buy MP3 Album£7.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews