Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2003
The music world had never heard anything like it. Eight MCs from New York with at least three personas each and an unmitigated passion for kung-fu movies release an album full of blood, passion, violence and Eastern mysticism coupled with eerie piano and string arrangements and pulsating basslines. Now, a decade after its release it is believed to be the second most essential hip hop album ever recorded (just behind Public Enemy's 'It Takes A Nation Of Millions').
The moment Ghostface Killah nails the first line on 'Bring Da Ruckus' the hip hop world would never be the same again. After an uncompromising verse and with no fuss or pause Ghostface passes the microphone to Raekwon who seamlessly continues. Hip hop groups of course were not unheard of, but where groups like Public Enemy and the Ultramagnetic MCs each had a main rapper, here there were eight equally visible rappers, each as talented as the last.
While eventually the group would collapse under the weight of kung-fu kitsch, ten years ago they were genuinely intimidating. Their description of what they do to journalists that serves as the introduction to 'Method Man' is grotesque. Earlier Gza had threatened to 'slit a n***er's back like a Dutch master killer" on 'Wu Tang: 7th Chamber'.
What makes the Wu Tang so entertaining is that each MC has their own personality well-crafted, even at this formative stage of their careers. Each MC brings an enthusiasm and character to the album. Surrounding the three master storytellers (Raekwon, Gza and Ghostface Killah) are U-God and Inspectah Deck who have never bettered their respective verses on this LP, the director Rza who also delivers most of his best verses here, witty prankster Method Man and resident lunatic ODB. Method Man, in particular, has never been in better fettle than on his eponymous track. His humour is evident throughout the entire LP, but it is on 'Method Man' where he most successfully melds it with a degree of gravity ("I be Sam, Sam I Am / and I don't eat green eggs and ham / style will hit ya, then god damn / you be like oh s**t, that's the jam"). ODB is as manic as ever; he is only slightly more coherent than he has been on later releases ("Burn me, I get into s**t, I let it out like diarrhoea / got burnt once, but that was only gonorrhoea."). This blend is what makes Wu Tang group efforts so good, but it is on their debut that the melange is at its most potent.
'C.R.E.A.M.' (Cash Rules Everything Around Me) remains the Wu's most perfectly recorded moment. Raekwon and Inspectah Deck fill the listener in on how hard it was for them growing up, "A man with a dream with plans to make CREAM / which failed; I went to jail at the age of fifteen / a young buck selling drugs and such who never had much / trying to get a clutch at what I could not.... could not...." 'Wu Tang: 7th Chamber' has the entire Clan (bar U-God) attempt to out-do each other in some short verses. The beat is almost skeletal and the track has no chorus, meaning that each MC merely passes the mic to his next compadre. The track also gives ODB the chance to say perhaps his best, and unquestionably his funniest, couplet to date, "Are you, uh, ah, uh, are you a warrior? Killer? Slicing s**t like a samurah (sic) / The Ol' Dirty Ba***rd. Wunderba!" It's the first and last time ODB would deal in the German language, which, on this evidence, is a crying shame. Meanwhile, the Wendy Rene-sampling 'Tearz' sounds like some demented carnival mixed with the subject matter of TLC's 'Waterfalls'. In fact it's hard to believe that TLC's track wasn't heavily inspired by this track, as the subject matter is essentially identical. Rza's first verse tells of the murder of his brother and Ghostface Killah's verse tells of his friend who catches HIV. And has any band ever recorded a mission statement as perfect as 'Wu Tang Clan Ain't Nuthing Ta F' Wit'? This writer thinks not.
Many albums are branded as being landmark releases few however actually deserve the title. 'Enter The Wu Tang' is one such album that is entirely worthy of its reputation. 'Enter The Wu Tang' is as good an album you will ever hear. It seems unlikely that the Wu will ever better it, or anybody else for that matter.
22 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
The titles of all but one of the tracks say that these are "clean" versions. Having just bought the mp3 album, I can confirm that they are the explicit versions.

This will please some who, like me, wanted the explicit versions but might have been afraid to purchase this because of the "clean" in the title.

And it will upset some who have bought this expecting there to be no bad language. Because it's all hanging out there.

I hope this is helpful to prospective purchasers.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
Easily the best album by wu-tang clan. I recently bought "The W" and although it is still very good, it isn't quite as good as 36 chambers. The beats are heavy and its spooky/eerie music trademark can be definately heard. A must-buy for any wu-tang clan fan, and also any gravediggaz fans, as the music is almost identical with some raps from wu-tang members, and was in fact produced by wu-tang's RZA. Easily worth£7.00 for an urban-classic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
This is the best hip-hop album I've ever bought. I got it back in '98, and I still listen to it a lot. It takes a few listens to get into the slang the Wu use, but after that you're hooked. The beats are very raw, which can take some getting used to, but once you do get used to it most other hip-hop sounds like pop; soft and over-produced, and you just won't want to listen to it any more. What turns me on in rap is the lyrics, and some of the lyrics on this album are phenomenal. Mixing references to classic kung-fu films with slang from the projects in 'Shaolin' Island, the Wu came up with an original style which is complemented by the fact that as there's so many of them, you never get bored: after a while you pick up the different styles of the clan members. The lyrics are very hardcore, but often witty and amusing. This album is easily the best they made - the only other Wu album which comes close, in my opinion, is GZA's Liquid Swords (which is also superb). 36 Chambers is a definitive album, a must-have for hip-hop fans. If you don't have it, go and buy it. Now.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 1999
Groundbreaking production, hypnotic beats, razor sharp lyrics over dark atmospheric strings and loops. You will need to listen to this album a few times before it's lyrics and beats melt into your head and become an integral part of your mind. The production is second to none and has a very gritty street feel to it. The lyrics are simply breathtaking and at times inspiring complementing the funky keyboard riffs and driving beats. This album has it all from tracks that set your ear drums on fire and fill you with rage to heartfelt tracks that command your attention and make you think about the black struggle in urban America. The Wu Tang Clan enjoyed phenomenal success on this classic album and resultantly moulded the future of hip hop with many artists trying to imitate the WU's style without success. Most of the 9 artists in the Wu Tang Clan went on to do solo projects and the producer RZA has become one of the most talented and innovative producers in the music business. Buy this album, listen and learn and let the Wu Tang phenomenon grab hold of you!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2010
By 1993, West Coast G-funk and gangsta rap was dominating the hip-hop airwaves.

Dr. Dre, having paved the way with his group NWA and his solo classic The Chronic, owned the hip-hop world along with Suge Knight and his Death Row records. Tupac Shakur was already making waves. The East Coast as yet had little to no notable rappers to its name; but here, on this low-budget posse record, the seeds of the East/West rivalry were sown as they wrenched the focus away from Compton.

To this day, no rap album sounds like Enter The Wu-Tang, and no rap group sounds like they do. Nine of them, all MCs, headed by the RZA, each with their own styles, colliding into an astonishing, snarling beast of a record.

With a tiny budget to work with, RZA crafts sawn-off, raw beats that punish the listener. None of the rough edges are smoothed off, leaving pounding jams that lack the richness that G-funk boasted. What replaced it was bizarre kung-fu film references.

The album, unified by its sparse sound, allows the nine Wu-Tang MCs room to stretch, and each of them has their own style, from Ghostface Killah's high-pitched yelp to Method Man's stoned ramble, all the way through to the utter insanity of ODB.

Ghostface opens the record on the clattering 'Bring Tha Ruckus,' a clear statement of intent; his rhymes about a 'head rush' and being 'tougher than an elephant tusk' already establishing how bizarre and unique the group's rhymes were. 'Shame On The N****' pushes ODB to the front as his marble-mouthed style seems both threatening and endearing. Meanwhile, 'C.R.E.A.M.' was so influential that its title became a rap slang word in and of itself.

From here, virtually every member of the crew - particularly The GZA, Raekwon and ODB - would craft era-defining solo albums of their own, but it all started here and arguably, this was the most unified album the group produced both conceptually and as far as quality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
Ok, let's start with track 1.
Bring the ruckus is a real old school track with one of the best beats on the album. A banging chorus by the Rza, but all the rappers are outshined on the 4th verse by Gza.
The next track, "shame on a n***a" is short and sweet. The tune is slightly more in the times and the beat is dope. Ol dirty Bza shines on this track coz it suits him perfectly.
Track 3 "Clan in da front" starts with a slightly drawn out intro from Rza but smashes through with a great beat and the genuis/gza. This song is one of the best I've heard from the wu..and i've heard alot! nuff said.
Track 4 is a group effort with all 8 members trying to out do each other. After another fairly long intro a real skeletal rza beat takes the wu through the 7th chamber. I would say ghost face and gza shine most on this track, but they're all great.
Track 5 is another classic. "Can it all be so simple then" is very deep lyrically. Both ghost face and Raekwon shine on this track.
Track 6 is the first real fast pace track on the album, started off by a classic kung fu sample. All rappers shine on this track and the beat is one that will always have a place in my heart.
Track 7, 'co produced by method man' is another classic wu banga which finally gives the rza a chance to explode on the mike. Great beat, great lyrics, great tunes. great track.
Track 8 is the deepest and most well thought out track on the album. "C.R.E.A.M" (Cash Rules Everything Around Me) has a perfect piano loop and ace beat that helps Raekwon and Inspektah Deck spit rhymes about life in the hood. A classic Wu banga. Play it loud!
Track 9's intro is one you don't wanna play to your mummy. After reciting torture methods, the man himself, Method man, just spills rhymes out on to the mike like he was born to do it. The best beat on the album, funny lyrics and a great intro.
Track 10 "Protect ya neck" is a clean version, (no swearing!) but don't worry. The swearing isn't what makes this track the ground breaking first single from the wu...it's the eerie Rza beat and one after another perfect revised verses from all 9 memebers. (ghost and odb really shine on this track) Great!
Track 11 is the best, without a doubt, ghost/rza collaberation of all times. With a classic 70's sample for the chorus, and ghost and rza on point through out the whole track, you can't go wrong with this one.
The other tracks are remixes. This album is the best hip hop album you're gunnu here for a long time. So play it loud and proud. Enjoy
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2001
i bought this album a while ago and immediately thought it is one of the best hip hop albums in history. Tracks like bring da ruckus, C.R.E.A.M, can it be all so simple and protect ya neck reinvented hip hop in my view and the clan have still not bettered it their newest album "The W" is just a pale imitation of this.i would definitely recommend this to any hip hop fan as it is simply a classic. peace out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2000
This album is one of the greatest hip-hop/rap albums ever recorded, it has style,comedy and it is toatlly with the beats. not only does the wu-tang clan have some of the best individual rap artists in the world (O.D.B and method-man)but when they r all together the best sounds come out of your cd player! i think the best song on the album would be 'shame on a nigga'but number 6 and 8 r also fantastic!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
Where do i start with this 1!! First things first! this IS WITHOUT A DOUBT 1 of the best rap albums ever!!!(unless ur faveroute album is 'the massacre'!!)If you have never heard the clan b4, u will have 2 listen 2 the album at least 4 or 5 times b4 u get used 2 there slang. Once u can understand what they are on about u will quickly realize that this is one of the rawest albums ever!! This vibe created by this album is unique, RZA's beats are so far ahead of their time is unreal, the way that the Clan come togeather on this album is pure magic!!! Some people dont quite get their style... i didnt realise exactly how good this album was until my friend gave it 2 me on a tape which i put in my car. i had heard the album played before this and although i loved it instantly, it took almost a month of playing the tape nonstop until it hit me... any other tape playing non-stop for 4 weeks would have lost its edge!! NOT this one though, iv probably listeden to the album right through over 100 times!!!!!IT STAYS FRESH!! If u have read all the other reviews on this album and u havent been convinced to buy it i hope this changes ur mind. With Hip-Hop being in the pathetic state that its in these days and new origonal artists being few and far between, it is albums like this that remind you what rap is really about. If you consider yourself a real hip-hop fan, without this album you are faker than 50!!!!
P.S
If you have heard this album and want more WU then buy;
1. Ghostface Killah - Iron Man
2. GZA/Genius - Liquid Swords
3. Rakewon - Only Built 4 Cuban Linx
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)