Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first true hip hop album! ...Raising Hell, 6 Jun 2003
This is the first real hiphop album, and still is in the all time top five hiphop albums. There was of course hip hop long players before this, but they just didn't cut the mustard.
Raising Hell is the album that esculated Run Dmc to dizzy heights of stardom...mainly due to the massive single Walk This Way with Aerosmith.
This Album is so much more than just that song though. It contains all the elements that we have come to love about Run Dmc...its got the Rap/rock with Raising hell/walk this way and it has the hip hop anthems with proud to be black/peter piper, and of course it has the comedy with u be illin/its tricky/dumbgirl.
Raising hell was RUNDMC's third album and it is here that they got all the elements right. Hip Hop could only go forward after this with bands like Beastie boys and Public Enemy taking the hint and changing the face of music forever. If it wasn't for Run Dmc's Raising hell we wouldn't have...
Pauls Boutique (beastie boys) It takes a nation of millions to hold us back (Public Enemy)and on and on...this is is in hip hop album terms year zero, and no so called hip hop fan should be without it!!! peace y'all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rap albums ever !!!!, 16 May 2007
By 
bongo (lenster, ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raising Hell (Audio CD)
The album is one of the best old skool rap albums ever. The beats are infectious and the lyrics are brillent. The album is a perfect blend of of drum beat, synthasizer and scraching but also fuses in some rock and guitaring. Who knew somone could make a brillent song about adidas runners, but track 3 on this album stands as proof. This is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome business, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raising Hell (Audio CD)
It was an excellent business. This album is one of the best of hip hop of the 90's. I would recommend this to all the fans of hiip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true Hip Hop classic, 17 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Raising Hell (Audio CD)
This one of the genuine classic albums in Rap history,and along side Public Enemy's It Takes a Nation of Millions,Eric B & Rakim's Follow the Leader and the Beastie Boy's Licence To Ill,Raising Hell deserves a place in the collection of anyone who likes and remembers Rap music before it became "Look at my car,look at my girl,look at my cash......." or,God forbid,N-Dubz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop Kings, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Raising Hell (Digipak) (Audio CD)
A great litle package for an already legendary album. If you don't know who run are then where have you been xD. "perfection"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best., 26 Nov 2000
I have lots of rap cd's including N.W.A,Public Enemy and Ultramagnetic Mc's, but this cd from Run dmc is the best. I like the way they mix in a bit of heavy metal in with some of the tracks. My favourite track is probably it's trickey because it has a catchy chorus. I stronly advise this cd to any one who is into old school rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illin', 20 Oct 2007
This review is from: Raising Hell (Digipak) (Audio CD)
Before Tupac,NWA,Eminem, 50 Cent etc there were three original rap artists of note... LL Cool J, Beastie Boys and Run DMC. This was Run DMCs third and best LP. They combined black pride with heavy metal and tongue-in-cheek lyrics. The huge hit was, of course, Walk this Way but in fact the most "Illin'" cross of rap and rock on this collection was the title track which samples AC/DC. Other standout tracks are Peter Piper and My Adidas. After this rap music just got bogged down in bragging, violence and sexism. If you enjoy the music but are put off by the bad attitude try this, it's fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST GET IT!, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Raising Hell (Digipak) (Audio CD)
If you are a RUN DMC fan, or even just a big hip-hop fan like myself, you need this album in your life. Some of the finest hip-hop work on this album ever. A MUST BUY FOR ALL !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the joy of reliving, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Raising Hell (Audio CD)
I owned this classic on vinyl and bought the CD version for import in Itunes. Still OK for certain moods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best., 26 Nov 2000
I have lots of rap cd's including N.W.A,Public Enemy and Ultramagnetic Mc's, but this is the first Run dmc cd I've bought and I hope to get another cd by run dmc. This cd is my favourite rap cd I've ever bought and it was a lot cheaper. I like the way they mix in a bit of heavy metal in with some of the tracks.I'm also into heavy metal and this album has both of my favourite types of music. My favourite track is probably it's trickey because it has a catchy chorus. I stronly advise this cd to any one who is into old school rap and a bit of heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews