Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to be boring, but....
I have a couple of other recordings of this symphony (Tintner on Naxos and another by the BPO, this time conducted by Jochum). I love Bruckner but until I heard this I didn't quite 'get' the 4th. Bruckner is sometimes criticised for being episodic in approach: vast slabs placed side by side with occasional gaps. Listen to this though and it all makes sense. It is a...
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by Sugarboy

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gunter and Gilgamesh
Listening to Bruckner could be likened to lying on your back and looking up at the constellations as they revolve around the axis of the earth. It may not be as viscerally exciting, say, as a visit to the House of the Rising Sun in downtown Bangkok but there is nothing to say that it should be boring. To that end, there is no substitute for imaginative phrasing in this...
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by Bernard Michael O'Hanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to be boring, but...., 11 Sep 2011
By 
Sugarboy (Merseyside, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
I have a couple of other recordings of this symphony (Tintner on Naxos and another by the BPO, this time conducted by Jochum). I love Bruckner but until I heard this I didn't quite 'get' the 4th. Bruckner is sometimes criticised for being episodic in approach: vast slabs placed side by side with occasional gaps. Listen to this though and it all makes sense. It is a beautiful, beautiful experience and the time flies by as Wand weaves his magic. As others have said, this is the one to get. No doubt at all. This and other Bruckner recordings he made with the BPO demonstrate two things: what an amazing orchestra the BPO is - although I've never quite realised how good until now. Secondly, that Wand is superb at leading them. As another reviewer has suggested, Wand should have had this band to himself far longer than he did. The recorded sound is also outstanding. Don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leading cording of the "Romantic" Smphony, 11 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
This recording is overwhelming ind every sense of the word. Today there are approx. 47 recordings available in the catalogue and none of them is like the new Wand recording. I had been assisting in all of the three concerts with the BPO in January 1998 and even the concerts had been a great experience. The sound quality is lovely as it is strong. Especially the tempos of Wand and all the richness in this most wonderful partitura are without any comparisson. Take that Romantic one. It is heavenly. Dr. Frank Sistenich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't look any further. It's the best one, 21 Mar 2000
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
From all the versions of this symphony I have heard until now (maybe six or seven) this is the best one. The tempo, the sound, the colours of this music are all number one.
I understand now why this CD was won the best «orchestral music» by the Grammophon review.
All Brucknerians should get this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shop No Further For this Symphony, 29 Aug 2003
By 
frankebe (redwood city, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
Even more pelucid than the last Böhm recording. More voluptuous than Karajan by far, and way, way more emotion. The perfect performance and recording of what all scholars seem to now agree was THE version that Bruckner himself preferred. This must be EXACTLY how Bruckner heard his music, right down to the inner voices and powerful, growling lower brass. Sweeps the field, including all recordings by Furtwangler, Barenboim, Walter, Haitink, Böhm, Jochum (a different version, though, so listen to this, too, on DG), Ormandy, Solti... JUST GET IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
This is a superb performance. How it glows and sparkles, mighty and majestic huge mountains of glorious sound. All lovingly conducted by Wand for whom the BPO (especially the brass section) respond magnificently.
Oh! if only Wand had conducted them over the years instead of Von Mantovani what wonders might have been produced.

A solid gold 5 star CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh rethought Bruckner, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
I encountered this recording while living in Oslo for about 5 years ago, and being devoted to Bruckner for the most of my adulthood, this recording elevated this piece already so familiar for me thanks to e.g. Klemperer and Jochum to new heights. One couldn't notice that this is a live recording, as playing is absolutely perfect and no audience noise can be heard anywhere. Wand's performance is wonderfully fresh from a man who has thought and rethougth these pieces for decades. The absolute last word in Bruckner's fourth and one of greatest Bruckner recordings of all times, if not the very greatest. Five golden stars from a Brucknerophile for a Brucknerophile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Lance Edwards (derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
There are several fine recordings of this symphony (which is not usually a favourite of mine tough I love Bruckner) but this one has everything one could ask for - superb conducting, playing and recording. Certainly at the top of the list of great Bruckner 4's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anton Bruckner: Symphonie Nr. 4 (MP3 Download)
The label itself is recommendation enough,but the recording is superb,conducted by one of the finest bruckner conductors in Gunter Wand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good recording at low price, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anton Bruckner: Symphonie Nr. 4 (MP3 Download)
Attracted to price of mp3 version and it is a good performance. All for less than the price of a pint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Met all expectations, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. R. S. Culbard (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruckner: Symphony No 4 (Audio CD)
This cd came with some excellent reviews. These proved to be worthy. Bruckner requires attention to pacing. Wand provided it.
Bruckner requires clear sound. The recording provided it. Bruckner requires listening patience. This cd demanded it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews