Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic!
This album features Paul Oakenfold as the main producer, which was hoped to introduce the bands music to a wider audience. It is now 10 years since it was first produced, and was a major departure from the previous Fellow Hoodlums, where the band concentrated on Glasgow, where there are numerous references.
The tracks are more earthy, and are definately catchy. I...
Published on 20 Jan 2004 by derek_finnegan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
This is not as good as previous issues. If you are a DB fan then definitely worth buying but if not start elsewhere.
Published 3 months ago by Ga Davidson-merritt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic!, 20 Jan 2004
This album features Paul Oakenfold as the main producer, which was hoped to introduce the bands music to a wider audience. It is now 10 years since it was first produced, and was a major departure from the previous Fellow Hoodlums, where the band concentrated on Glasgow, where there are numerous references.
The tracks are more earthy, and are definately catchy. I would defy anybody not to be humming along to Your Town by the end of the intro!
I feel the tracks are still as fresh as they originally were 10 years ago, and really enjoy listening to the album on the move. It makes a great travelling companion when stuck in traffic!
If you have even the slightest interest in this group, and have been recommended this album, then buy it, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT EVER YOU SAY, WHAT CAN YOU SAY., 18 May 2001
By 
Chris Coomber (Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I bought this album when it first came out being a huge Deacon Blue fan. After a 2 year gap my favourite band was back. Imagine my surprise when I put it on and discover the band had completey changed their sound. With a more harder rock sound it took me a while to get into the album, but now one of my favourite song is track 8 - fall so freely down. This album is a must for all fans, not a good a Raintown album, the first album, but i doubt if any new one will be. Definately in my top 20 album chart. BUY IT. you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great return to form....., 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good ,solid album which I have thoroughly enjoyed. Nice harmonies and good vocal from RR. Good lyrics as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Through the murk comes light, 7 Dec 2014
This is the last album before Deacon Blue sort of disappeared for a while, quite a while in fact. After the melodious Raintown, the poppy, breezy When The World Knows Your Name and the heavily Glasgow-influenced and consequently atmospheric Fellow Hoodlums, this was a somewhat dense, sombre, difficult album to get into. Upon release I was really disappointed and didn't listen to it much for the last twenty years! I was wrong. Give it a chance and its buzzy guitars, muddy vocals and at times almost funky feel may well creep into your consciousness. Your Town and Peace And Jobs And Freedom are particularly good examples of that. Hang Your Head and Bethlehem's Gate are growers too, the latter more typical Deacon Blue than many on the album. Fall So Freely Down is another with a real funky feel to it, congas as well, plus lush string orchestration.

If you are listening to the 2CD remastered edition with bonus tracks, then CD2 makes it like one exceptional double album. Tracks like Here On The Wind, underpinned by its beautiful bass line, and Indigo Sky are as good as anything on the original album.

Twenty-one years ago, Ricky Ross wrote a good album. It just took a while for many of us to realise it. Maybe that was its strength. I listen to this album more than I do the first two these days.

Nice subtly remastered sound too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Ga Davidson-merritt "gavin" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not as good as previous issues. If you are a DB fan then definitely worth buying but if not start elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews