Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2005
One of my fave Priest albums, along with the other 'S' albums (Sad Wings of Destiny, Sin After Sin) of the 70's Judas Priest era, these 3 albums rank among the best metal outputs of the time, and still hold up today!
Stained Class is probibly my favourate because it contains one of the best ballads ever, Beyond the Realms of Death, which is simply a beautiful song! the solo is my all-time favourate guitar solo ever! Other highlights include the bludgeoning Exiter (a pre-cursor to speed metal anyone?), Better By You, Better Than Me, Saints in Hell and the overlooked Heroes End (that middle riff, oh so heavy!). As for the remaster and the bonus tracks, the sound is noticibly cleaner and crisper from the original and a bit louder (the original CD was too quiet). The bonus tracks are a nice addition, I do like Fire Burns Below, its a nice slow burner that Priest are oh so good at (along with rip snorters like Exiter), the live version of Better by you... is OK, but not really necessary. Overall I'm happy that I re-bought it in the remastered version as its well worth it for the extra track, liner notes and cleaner production.
5/5
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
One of priest's best albums,the lyrics are powerful,the riffs and solo's will blow you away.With 2 extra bonus tracks it's a bargain."Exciter" starts fast and the album stays with the pace all the way,"better by you,better than me"is one priest song that will always be one of my favorites" and "beyond the realms of death" builds upto a guitar solo that will have you drawing the curtains so the neighbours can't see you playing air guitar.ORDER IT NOW,YOU CAN'T FAIL WITH THIS ONE.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
When I first bought & listened to this album in 1978 I considered it to be a brilliant & brutal bludgeoning assualt. At that time it undoubtedly included some of the fastest power metal ever recorded. With the added bonus of Rob Halford's ridiculously brilliant high pitched vocals this really was an enjoyable album.
Buying it again 27 years later I've found it to be equally enjoyable but not quite the over the top fast metal it was considered to be when first released. There is more light & shade to found than I'd remembered. However the overall production of the album & effects make for a fantastically sinister sound -in retrospect probably enhanced by the knowledge of the failed US court case of the early 1990s regarding two attempted suicides by teenagers (1 successful) which blamed subliminal "do it, do it" messages in Priest's cover og Better by Me, Better Than You".
If you only buy 2 Judas Priest albums buys this & Painkiller.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
Have to agree almost completely with the above review...Better by you better than me was the first song by Priest I ever heard, and as for favourite JP songs of all time, 4 of them are on this album (Saints in Hell, Beyond the realms, Savage & Better by you...).
I'd never heard such a tight rhythym guitar unit before as Tipton and Downing either...and Rob Halfords vocals amazed me as a youngster in the 70's.
Excellent remaster, good notes in the sleeve and a couple of additional tracks too.
Look out your denim jacket, turn the hi-fi up to '11' and remember British heavy metal.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Classic old and new-ish Priest albums - 1978 and 1990 respectively. Both are sort of transition albums in terms of style, but are completely different from each other:

Stained Class is the last of the almost proggy early albums that Priest did. It has some tracks that are, IMHO anyway, reflective of the really old material in terms of style such as "Better by you, Better than me", "Beyond the realms of Death"; and others that start to show the more 'metal' style that Priest would adopt with the next few albums after Stained Class. A good example might be "Better by you, better than me". The distinctive Rob Halford voice is however unmistakable.

Ram it Down however is a much heavier and more technical metal album. I would place it as the last of the 80's/early 90's albums that were what a lot of people would call 'classic' Priest - Screaming for Vengeance, Defenders of the Faith, Turbo and this one. It has a lot of classic twin guitar work and hallmark Halford screams. There is a slight foretaste of the more in your face, almost thrash, to come in the Painkiller album in "Hard as Iron" and - oddly - the cover of "Johnny B. Goode".

Both CDs come with some extra tracks to the original release - some live stuff and B-sides.

Be warned however - this CD set is sold with the Amazon AutoRip, which is generally good, but on this occasion the ENTIRE Ram It Down album was NOT provided as MP3s, and none of the bonus tracks on Stained Class were provided either.

However it is cheap as chips and you can of course rip them your self for personal use, so the lack of some of the AutoRip MP3s only detracts slightly from the overall value of this offering.

All in all, a good re-release of these two classic Priest albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 August 2013
By the end of the 1977 "Stained Class" was looming, abetted by the best drummer Priest ever had (Les Binks, ex-Glam Pop group Fancy, who had a hit with a cover of `Wild Thing') and it was arguably the best album the band ever made, rivalled only by "Sad Wings of Destiny". After playing these albums for 35 years, I still can't decide which is the best.

1978 opened with "Stained" and closed with "Killing Machine" which spawned three singles, including the hits that broke Priest commercially in Britain (`Take on the World' and `Evening Star' - the best single, killer ballad `Before the Dawn' not charting, which is just criminal, as it's a superb song and should have been number 1 worldwide, being both commercially spot on and artistically impeccable). But despite its status as the hitmaker, "Killing Machine" heralded the end of Priest as the thinking man's metal band. "Stained Class", however, manages to be both thoughtful and ass-kicking in the extreme, pleasing anyone who likes rock music to be both fierce and intelligent.

At this point, the production sound Priest had always needed was finally nailed : fizzing, spitting electronic suzz, a little sheeny clean, a little scuzzy noisy, consummately perfect sonically. This, at last, was THE definitive sound of heavy metal -twin lead guitars, earthshattering vox, thudding bass/drums, electronic effects present, but enhancing the tonal qualities of the music, melding with the overdriven amps. This, more than anything else, is what makes `Stained Class' the album that fans who can't cope with early Priest (the fools!) agree with the rest of us that the band had no flaws by this point.

And then there's the songs. Opening the album with its twin-bass drum skeleton (Dave Holland couldn't play this number, nor did Scott, the guy from Racer X, ever manage it properly either as far as I could tell), Les Binks heralds the coming of the finest lineup of Priest, which sadly only lasted three albums (one a live set). `Exciter' is a rock and roll monster, a quasi-religious exhultation of heavy metal as a faith that everyone who loves rock music can buy into - ecstatic, breathtaking and engineered like a jet engine designed by T S Eliot, this is classy rock and roll writ large...and one of the founding songs of proto-thrash metal. Without this, there'd have been no `big four' in the eighties. `White Heat, Red Hot' is more of the same, with some sidebar comments that suggest the dangers of nuclear doom, but it has to be said that this is the fun part of the album. The solos are magnificent (you can even sing KKs, and he always bent toward the jammy, acidy, Hendrix freak outs, leaving Glenn to play the melodic-blues Blackmore role...but let's be fair, KK and Glenn write better melodies than both of these guys and technically never had any peers; unlike most metal guitarists, they could compose, not just improvise any old fret-bothering at speed to make us think they had something to say..instead, they SAID it).

A blistering cover of Spooky Tooth's `Better By You' is next, a failed single but an artistic triumph (much better than the original version), and it's a hymn to bitterness all rejected male lovers can relate to -dark, brooding, passionate stuff, belongs in every great rock collection of singles.

Then things get even more serious. The title track is a great Priestian meditation on man's fall from the state of grace he occupied before civilisation - or maybe this is about original sin, the hypocrisy of corrupt straight society and its rules in place to keep us all in our places...this is heavy metals' outsider, Miltonian philosophy expressed obliquely but tellingly: `Long ago when man was king/his heart was clean/now he's stained class/time has slashed each untouched thing...'. It's deep stuff, expressed feverishly in a sparking electrical package. Rock don't come more interesting or exciting than this.

`Invader' is a great bit of science fiction songwriting, a little light relief, the opening synth/guitar pedal effect used by the band in gigs to introduce `Starbreaker'. In the middle eight, Halford's ability to bring pleading drama into a song and make it high art comes when he sings `When they come to take control/every man must play his role/they won't take our world away..' - it's the blues meshing with golden age SF, just sublime. `Saints in Hell' (what a title) is high-register screaming, wormwood-riffing rock and roll lava, all Dennis Wheatley/Book of Revelation demoniac fury - its' lurid, but perfect. I bet Sabbath were jealous of this...and certainly generations of Black Metallers love it too. Short, punchy and glittering, `Savage' depicts the suffering from disease and exploitation indigenous people were subject too in the aftermath of culture shock when encountering white explorers and colonialists - Iron Maiden, of course, based `Run to the Hills' on `Savage', but play the two side by side and the Maiden number is like a kids' cartoon compared to the ferocity and vertigo of `Savage' a vastly underrated number in my opinion.

Then Les Binks sits in the studio, turns an acoustic guitar upside down (he's left handed) and plays the verse chords of `Beyond the Realms of Death'. Halford double-takes and writes what may be his most eloquent singing and an utter, absolute masterpiece is born. The ultimate expression of Priests' rejection of the worlds' fundamental unfairness and immorality, `Beyond the Realms' is stunningly beautiful and crushingly tragic - if you're not moved by this song, you're made of stone.

Closing magnificently with `Heroes End' (a paen to James Dean, Janice Joplin and Jimi Hendrix) that is one of the bands best, least understood songs, its chorus line sums up what was to come : Priest would go commercial and despite some great moments, would never again write such wonderful songs as they had in their first four albums. Truly, `It's a shame a legend begins at its end.' Fame and fortune beckoned, but their era of genius was over.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Awesome record. Classic. Clear vinyl 2 LP set. Sound quality spot on. But really very very cheap and low quality inner sleeves. Another issues is as follows. The edges of the LP cover were bend during shipping. I don't understand. Amazon claims its a frustration free packaging. Sure its easy to open and looks nice but how does it gets bent. I'm disappointed due to this. Otherwise everything else looks great. If the record would have reached me in great shape I would have given five stars definitely. Now I'm afraid to order from Amazon. This has happened to me many times. But anyways great great album. Highly recommended. But I request Amazon to improve its packaging. Thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Another classic album from Judas Priest. I recall attending many JP concerts in the 70's when I was growing up and loved the band live. Stained Class is pure class and if you have never listened to JP yet I would thoroughly recommend this album as your starting point - once hooked you will never look back. Enjoy - play loud!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Great album from the rip roaring opening of Exciter (showing where thrash began) right up to beyond the reals of deaths black melencholy metal. I love this album. Went to see the band promote this in about 78 and they where great. This was released just prior to priests leather and studds period and is classic rock/metal at its best. I rate this as priests top album with sin after sin at number two. A really good album and quite melodic at times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Stained Class is the first of the three consecutive classic albums released by Judas Priest. The artwork is compelling, the music even more so. It kicks off with the fast paced, hard rocking Exciter along with Rob's trademark screaming and KK and Glenn's exchanging licks. White Heat Red Hot continues in the same vein. Although it is dark and disturbing Better By You, Better By Me has shades of Kiss. The title song is about a good hearted medieval King being seduced by corruption and greed.

Judas Priest always loved songs about evil things from space and Invader doesn't disappoint and Saints In Hell is more believable and scary than Painkiller's Nightcrawler. Savage is another underrated song.

Have to say I've never been a huge fan of Beyond the Realms of Death. However, tons of people love it, so how can I complain. Heroes End is a bit of a filler and the bonus track of Fire Burns Below is far superior.

I really wish this album got more attention from the band, the fans and Priest. It's so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)