Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ETTA JUST KEEPS GETTIN' BETTA'
The legendary Etta James has said that she was inspired to record this album after seeing the PBS TV series "The Blues" produced by Martin Scorcese.
Referring to the series James said, "What I found was so full of what life is about: being born and dying; joy and sorrow; salvation and sin......As I started reaching deeper I realized that most of the blues of that...
Published on 30 Jun 2004 by Gail Cooke

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I've been a fan of Etta's for nearly 40 years, and I especially love her blues material, but, frankly, this isn't her best shot at it. Most of the songs are covers of the songs that made me get into the blues in the first place, such as 'Don't Start Me Talking', 'Smokestack Lightnin' and many more, but the sad fact is that she doesn't really seem to put her heart and soul...
Published on 3 Jun 2005 by Richard Vernon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ETTA JUST KEEPS GETTIN' BETTA', 30 Jun 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
The legendary Etta James has said that she was inspired to record this album after seeing the PBS TV series "The Blues" produced by Martin Scorcese.
Referring to the series James said, "What I found was so full of what life is about: being born and dying; joy and sorrow; salvation and sin......As I started reaching deeper I realized that most of the blues of that day was done by men. Women just didn't have the nerve. So I thought it was about time to show them what these songs might sound like coming from a whole different point of view."
Surely can't comment on the differences between points of view but I can say this is one terrific album - a must-have for blues aficionados. "Honey Don't Tear My Clothes" is unbelievable, as is "Don't Start Me Talking."
Featured on the album are James's sons Donto James and Sametto James; guitarists Josh Sklair and Bobby Murray plus harmonica player John "Juke" Logan. Liner notes are by Martin Scorcese.
This one's a keeper!
- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blues to the bone, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
If you like Blues and Etta James this has to be in your collection. Unlike the music of today this is Blues in the old style and the words can be heard. I have 3 CDs in my collection by Etta James and rate this as one of her best. Sorry but 5* just not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues as it should be!, 18 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
Etta James has really nailed the very essence of the blues on this outstanding album! She sings with passion and real feeling to bring out the meaning of the songs. There isn't a bad track on this collection and that is something you can't say about many albums. If you are a true fan of the blues then this album without doubt deserves a place in your collection. Buy it! I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Etta's blues "best of", 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. A. Beato "Alex Beato" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (MP3 Download)
If you're looking for Etta James' blues all in one place, this is a must! I absolutely recommend it. Spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 3 Jun 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Etta's for nearly 40 years, and I especially love her blues material, but, frankly, this isn't her best shot at it. Most of the songs are covers of the songs that made me get into the blues in the first place, such as 'Don't Start Me Talking', 'Smokestack Lightnin' and many more, but the sad fact is that she doesn't really seem to put her heart and soul into it, just, well, run through a collection of standards. The only one that really seems to work for me is 'Crawling King Snake', which has a slightly unusual arrangemnet which lifts it out of the ordinary. Her attempt at 'howlin' (like the Wolf) is, frankly laughable. Most of the tracks don't really stack up against the originals, admittedly a pretty tall order since they were so great. All a bit sad, in my opinion. At least I must say it's great to hear her singing the blues again, and seemimgly in good health. I hope she makes many more blues CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brill, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
Just about the the best album I've bought in years...can't say better than that, Still can't say better than that,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real blues, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
Etta James is the queen of blues and this cd is incredible.A feast of real blues from the her heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MP3 download, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (MP3 Download)
I'm not a great fan of her early work, but this blues album does rock.
Great sound from an MP3 download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superstar, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (MP3 Download)
What a voice, what feeling, addictive classic blues, I paid 2.99 for it & is the best 2.99 I've ever spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues To The Bone (Audio CD)
this artist is excellent will buy more of her music
already have at last cd very good love it loads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues To The Bone
Blues To The Bone by Etta James
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews