Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Aretha Franklin's voice has a unique quality, caught here at its absolute best, and against a brilliant background sound. I'm probably biased because this was the era when I really got interested in dance music, but it seems to me that these songs are even better than some of the classics from the sixties that you still here in public places all the time, great though those are! Luther Vandross really brings a magical cushioning to the vocal pyrotechnics that are the hallmark of Aretha's style - just listen to the way she floats into the opening Jump To It to get a sense of her unique ability to catch the ear, to improvise something priceless out of the merest rhythmic motif. All the tracks are brilliant, and often funny as well when she starts talking (as in If She Don't Want Your Lovin') - I think they do need to be heard a few times to realise just how much you're going to love them! Love Me Right and (It's Just) Your Love are two absolute stand-out tracks ... and It's Your Thing, as well. The cover idea of Aretha emerging from a gift box suits the celebratory, buoyant spirit of the whole album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
'Jump To It' was the first in Aretha's great 1980s Arista LPs. Luther Vandross appears on this LP and does a fantastic duet with Aretha on the track 'Love Me Right.' The Dance Version (which was released as a 12" single in the UK) appears as an extra bonus track on this CD and rightly so.

For me, the outstanding recording is '(It's Just) Your Love.' A wonderful piece of mellow jazz funk that would turn up on anyone's late night/early hours playlist. It was released as the B-side of one of the later 12" singles - possibly 'Get It Right' 12" ? In my opinion this would have made a super A-side with no need for a remix.

I simply love this LP. It came into my collection alongside Angela Bofill's Something About You: Remastered ;Too Tough/Teaser ; and Phyllis Hyman's outstanding works: Can't We Fall in Love Again ;Goddess Of Love ~ Expanded Edition ;You Know How to Love Me.

Great days... wonderful memories... superb music...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2005
In 1982, Ms Franklin hooked up with Mr Soul himself, Luther Vandross, for a 2 album project, the first instalment being "Jump to It". With legendary bassist Marcus Miller providing the rhythm section, Luther's Midas touch as producer, and Aretha on form vocally, the result was an awesome album that has stood the test of time.
The album kicks off with the catchy title track - just listen to those vocals! It doesn't get better than this. Aretha sounds alive!
Luther's vocal intro to "Love Me Right" (a low-down, funky ditty) is great and it blends well with Aretha's. The middle tracks are easy, but the outstanding cut has to be "It's Your Thing". Can Marcus play a sweet bass line or what? Listening to Aretha here puts chills down my spine - the track opens and closes in spectacular style.
There's not a duff track here, just 8 gems. This is an entertaining album and proof that the Queen of Soul hadn't lost her touch.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
The first of two albums Aretha did with Luther Vandross , this is absolutely brilliant. Jump to it is a very ballad orientated cd, the title cut ( and a great cover of this is your thing) being the more uptempo cuts. 'It's just your love' , is a typical Luther/Marcus Miller penned killer of a cut . Here Aretha singing 'this is for real' ,a beautiful Luther Ballard . Certainly one of the soul albums of the 1980's
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This Luther Vandross produced album to me is one of her best. Jump To It and Love Me Right are pure disco infused soul of the highest calibre and the funky It's Your Thing is awesome and the more balled led songs do not disappoint either with 'Miss Sugar Ray Re' doing some seriously amazing vocal workouts that is just goosepimpley inducing and with all the bonus material on here this really is a killer release from the ever stupendous BBR records. Jump to it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2007
Every saturday Lee Gray and I would go into Manchester from Timperley on the 108 bus. Our only real purpose was to go to a tiny soul record shop called Spin-in where they had two cardboard boxes with all the latest imports. You just couldn't wait to look through those import records. What great days! Over the years I got 2 know most of the 'soul' scene. Vandross was obviously part of that scene so seeing his name as 'producer' carried some weight. Arether Franklin kind of needed no introduction.

The album is great really, from the Sam dees penned 'If she don't want your lovin' through to 'This is for real' the album shines. It's simple really if you like 70's/80's soul it's great stuff. Lee get in touch!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
After languishing in the shadows of the 70s disco boom, this is the album, now skillfully expanded by Big Break Records, that reaffirmed Aretha's status as the undisputed Queen of Soul. There is a special magic in the chemistry between Aretha's athletic soulful vocals and Luther Vandross' slick production. Every track, whether a dance or ballad, is rich and memorable. There really isn't a bad track to be heard. The bonus cuts are a real treat, especially the extended Love Me Right, which is fantastic. My overall score is as follows:

1. Jump To It 5/5
2. Love Me Right 5/5
3. If She Don t Want Your Lovin 5/5
4. This Is For Real 5/5
5. (It s Just) Your Love 5/5
6. I Wanna Make It Up To You 4/5
7. It s Your Thing 4/5
8. Just My Daydream 5/5
9. Jump To It (Single Version) (Bonus track) (shame the single didn't include the acapella intro) 4/5
10. Love Me Right (Single Version) (Bonus track) 5/5
11. This Is For Real (Single Version) (Bonus track) 5/5
12. Just My Daydream (12 Version) (Bonus track) 5/5
13. Love Me Right (Dance Version) (Bonus track) 5/5

My only criticism is that the booklet, on my copy at least, looks a little over-saturated when compared to the original artwork. That aside, Big Break have gone way beyond the original and given us liner notes to make even the Queen herself rather proud. The last thing to say is the sound quality is second to none, absolutely first class! Thank you Aretha and Luther, you were a match made in soul heaven. And a big thank you too, to Big Break Records, for giving us this timeless release to enjoy all over again. Buy this and pick up the equally brilliant Get It Right too. Go on then, jump to it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
THE ALBUM WAS PURCHASED FOR MY WIFE WHO IS A HUGE FAN OF ARETHA FRANKLIN AND IN FACT HAS HAD THIS ALBUM ON VINYL FOR MANY YEARS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
Not the best Aretha album, although it won't disappoint hardened fans, i thought this album was far less superior than her next album (get it right), i could barely finish the cd. Get it right had a get up and dance sound to it, every track was fantastic, sadly this earlier offering for me was both boring and outstretched, the tracks were completely forgettable, if your interested in slow bluezzzy jazzzzy sound then this is the album for you. if you wan't something more upbeat by Aretha, go buy Get it right, its funky souly R&B at its best.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)