Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the second volume in what is really a Greatest Hits collection as these tracks represent Dolly Parton's most commercially successful songs. It includes the brilliant story songs Joshua, Down From Dover and Harper Valley PTA, moving ballads like Heartbreaker, To Daddy, Where Beauty Lives In Memory, Just Because I'm a Woman and the magnificent Emmylou Harris composition Boulder To Birmingham, a song written in memory of Gram Parsons. Other highlights include the Elvis cover In The Ghetto and the duet with Porter Wagoner: Please Don't Stop Loving Me. Together with the first volume it is a great introduction to the music of one of the most delightful of all female country singers but for longtime fans, the real gems are found on albums like Coat of Many Colors, The Essential Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton - 20 greatest Hits, and on solo albums like Little Sparrow and The Grass Is Blue.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
The Very Best Of Dolly Parton
THE VERY BEST OF DOLLY PARTON AND IT REALLY IS ALL MY FAVOURITES AND SOME. GOOD PRICE AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY I THINK SHE JUST GETS BETTER WITH AGE. A VERY GOOD SELECTION OF HER BEST SONGS
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
The Very Best of Dolly Parton, Vol. 2 this is really a great cd, bought vol1 and vol2 together glad i did, sound is brilliant and a good mix of songs play them all the time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2008
Has much has i Like Dolly Parton, I do wonder how many more times are her managers going to release her Greatest Hits & Best Of Albums.
I think she should come back and do something New!!

I brought Dolly Partons Greatest Hits back in 1999 The Album i have is a 2x Disc version With the same songs and same listings in the exact same track listing order has these 2 seperate Albums!! Why it has been Re-released has two seperate Volumes is beyond me, Especially when the version i have is still avalible to buy.

I have given this a 4 Star if it was a New greatest hits it would have got a 5 Star, However it isn't. And plus it's not Dolly's thought i blame the record company!!! :-)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
A fine selection of her hits. Its not all about country & western which shows the wide range of songs Dolly handles very expertly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
I bought this Volume 2 after purchasing the Volume 1 CD. Initially it took me a while to get into this CD compared to V1 but once listening to it a few times I grew to love it as much as the first. If you like Dolly's other works then you'll love this album too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
The Very Best Of Dolly Parton Volume 2 is a good compilation CD Album but "Almost In Love" and the excellent Dutch number one single "You Are" (released in the UK as a single) are missing here and on volume one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
this was bought as a present and arrived well within the surgested time. i cannot comment on the cd itself as i never listened to it. service was once again excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Dolly at her best £5 for 19 tracks. Great driving music and picks you up as only Dolly can do.(to be fare it was bought for M&D and they really enjoyed it)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Brilliant content on this Cd. Item was delivered well with the timeframe window and in excellent condition. I would reccommend this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)