Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More greatest hits
This is the second volume in what is really a Greatest Hits collection as these tracks represent Dolly Parton's most commercially successful songs. It includes the brilliant story songs Joshua, Down From Dover and Harper Valley PTA, moving ballads like Heartbreaker, To Daddy, Where Beauty Lives In Memory, Just Because I'm a Woman and the magnificent Emmylou Harris...
Published on 15 Jan. 2008 by Peter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars O.k!
Ok....but I think shes released better albums! Maybe 'the very best 1' stole all the thunder or am I being too critical?
Published 17 months ago by Kevin Bracken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More greatest hits, 15 Jan. 2008
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
This is the second volume in what is really a Greatest Hits collection as these tracks represent Dolly Parton's most commercially successful songs. It includes the brilliant story songs Joshua, Down From Dover and Harper Valley PTA, moving ballads like Heartbreaker, To Daddy, Where Beauty Lives In Memory, Just Because I'm a Woman and the magnificent Emmylou Harris composition Boulder To Birmingham, a song written in memory of Gram Parsons. Other highlights include the Elvis cover In The Ghetto and the duet with Porter Wagoner: Please Don't Stop Loving Me. Together with the first volume it is a great introduction to the music of one of the most delightful of all female country singers but for longtime fans, the real gems are found on albums like Coat of Many Colors, The Essential Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton - 20 greatest Hits, and on solo albums like Little Sparrow and The Grass Is Blue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY BEST, 6 May 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
The Very Best Of Dolly Parton
THE VERY BEST OF DOLLY PARTON AND IT REALLY IS ALL MY FAVOURITES AND SOME. GOOD PRICE AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY I THINK SHE JUST GETS BETTER WITH AGE. A VERY GOOD SELECTION OF HER BEST SONGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 13 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
The Very Best of Dolly Parton, Vol. 2 this is really a great cd, bought vol1 and vol2 together glad i did, sound is brilliant and a good mix of songs play them all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dolly 2008 UPDATED!!!, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
Jay (United Kingdom Brighton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
Has much has i Like Dolly Parton, I do wonder how many more times are her managers going to release her Greatest Hits & Best Of Albums.
I think she should come back and do something New!!

I brought Dolly Partons Greatest Hits back in 1999 The Album i have is a 2x Disc version With the same songs and same listings in the exact same track listing order has these 2 seperate Albums!! Why it has been Re-released has two seperate Volumes is beyond me, Especially when the version i have is still avalible to buy.

I have given this a 4 Star if it was a New greatest hits it would have got a 5 Star, However it isn't. And plus it's not Dolly's thought i blame the record company!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dolly at her best, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. Brian S. Adsett (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
A fine selection of her hits. Its not all about country & western which shows the wide range of songs Dolly handles very expertly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Dolly - as usual!, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
D. Pemberton (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
I bought this Volume 2 after purchasing the Volume 1 CD. Initially it took me a while to get into this CD compared to V1 but once listening to it a few times I grew to love it as much as the first. If you like Dolly's other works then you'll love this album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of Dolly Parton Volume 2 is a good compilation ..., 24 Mar. 2015
By 
Stephen M. J. Passant (Baldock,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
The Very Best Of Dolly Parton Volume 2 is a good compilation CD Album but "Almost In Love" and the excellent Dutch number one single "You Are" (released in the UK as a single) are missing here and on volume one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 23 Jan. 2012
By 
J. martin (liverpool england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
this was bought as a present and arrived well within the surgested time. i cannot comment on the cd itself as i never listened to it. service was once again excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As you would expect, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (MP3 Download)
Dolly at her best £5 for 19 tracks. Great driving music and picks you up as only Dolly can do.(to be fare it was bought for M&D and they really enjoyed it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chris301, 21 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Very Best Of 2 (Audio CD)
Brilliant content on this Cd. Item was delivered well with the timeframe window and in excellent condition. I would reccommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of 2
The Very Best Of 2 by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews