Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Album.........
This album is deep. its not what you might have been expecting after 36 chambers, but if u judge it on it's on merits rather than comparing it with previous work, you'll realise that this is a classic. first off it is a deep album. this is probable it's biggest flaw (commercially)- it's full of deep, meaningful lyrics, which unfortunatley these days seem to take the back...
Published on 30 May 2002 by kebab-master

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One to have if you insist on all wu releases
Ok let's get this straight- it is nowhere near as good as the debut 36 chambers. Nowhere. Any review saying it is, is severly mistaken. But that does not make it a bad album, and compared to most other rap releases of late, it is very good. The problem is that is there is a lot of poor or unremarkable songs, it does not need a double album, and the wu aren't rapping as...
Published on 14 Jun 2001 by joel.kaye@btinternet.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Great Album........., 30 May 2002
By 
"kebab-master" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This album is deep. its not what you might have been expecting after 36 chambers, but if u judge it on it's on merits rather than comparing it with previous work, you'll realise that this is a classic. first off it is a deep album. this is probable it's biggest flaw (commercially)- it's full of deep, meaningful lyrics, which unfortunatley these days seem to take the back foot to guns, money, ice, and hoes. in the word's of ghostface (slightly edited so this review will actually get published): ''All we gonna do is just keep doin' what we do best. We know one thing - that there is more dumb people than smart people, so when we bring Wu-tang Forever and we preach to people, nobody want to hear that stuff. It's like I'm tryin' give you knowledge and teach you and tell you to do somethin' right, you don't want to hear that. Forever was like college - we stepped our rhymes up. People didn't want to hear that though. So now we know like: hold on, nah, that's too strong for 'em.' Can't feed a baby steak: can't digest it, he can't even chew it; he ain't gonna want it.''
i think that little paragraph sums it up really well. it was a deep album, but alot of it just flew over people's heads, so it didnt get the respect it deserves. to this day i dont know how professional reviewers allowed this to get past them without appreciating it, but maybe it was too deep for most of them too. im not gonna break down the LP track-by-track as the last guy did that. although i will point out that 'a better tomorrow' is one of the greatest songs of all time, and 'impossible' contains 2 of the best verses i've ever heard.
all i can really say is buy this album and judge it for your self, but give it a few listens before u pass judgement, as it can take a fair few listens to understand some of the lyrics, and a few of the tunes have to grow on you.
but in conclusion this is a true master piece, and for little more than a tenner you can't go wrong. BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The raw style of Hip-Hop that set a whole new standard, 24 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I first heard this album back in 1997 when it was already over 4years old. I was amazed at how fresh it sounded. Its raw origin (shaolin) style set a whole new standard to which subsequent ablums are marked against, it heralded a revolution in rap and started a new era that has had a far futher reaching audience than ever before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Enter, 6 Sep 2000
I have to say that I thought that Enter wasn't as good as it could have been, but this 2-cd sequal has it all! No matter what mood I'm in, there are tracks to suit it.
Long May the Wu reign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great Wu Tang Clan album?, 21 Feb 2003
By 
J. W. Bassett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The perceived downfall of the Wu Tang Clan can be traced back to this release. Before 'Forever' the Wu could do no wrong in the eyes of the critics. Their debut release, 'Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)' was held to be one of the greatest hip hop albums ever made. The five solo albums that were released after '36 Chambers' were each held in equally high regard. Then, however, things went slightly off course for the Wu. 'Forever' was delayed for so long, many fans began to wonder if it would ever appear. Then when it arrived many fans were sceptical of this hip hop double LP that weighs in at over two hours long.
As early as the first track proper prove the doubters wrong, 'Reunited' has the Gza fire an opening salvo on those artists who had been copying the Wu's style while they had been gone, "Reunited, double-LP, the world excited / struck a match to the underground / industry ignited / from metaphorical parables to fertilise the Earth / wicked ni**ers come try to burglarise my turf / scatting off soft a** beats them ni***rs rap happily / tragically, that style, deteriorates, rapidly." It's great opener, and one that reassures the listener that whatever they've read about this LP, the Wu-Tang mean business.
Released in 1997, this was the time when Rza was prepared to take a few risks with his production. On 'Cash Still Rules / Scary Hours', Ghostface Killah is tearing through a typically uncompromising verse when the music simply runs out leaving Ghost to finish his verse acapella. Equally, 'For Heaven's Sake' with its odd high-pitched warble effect is one of Rza's more innovative tracks.
The first disc concludes with 'It's Yourz' an attempt by the Wu to match some of their earlier anthems. It has Rza, in typically self-appreciating style, shout, "It's yours / the seed and the black woman / it's yours / double LP from Wu Tang Clan." If the first disc had been released alone, the listener could not have too many complaints. Strange then that the second disc contains just as many, if not more, classic Wu-Tang tracks.
The second disc kicks off with the single 'Triumph'. It's a dark affair, with the Wu positioning themselves as soldiers on a battleground ("War of the masses / the outcome disastrous / many of the victims families save their ashes / a million names on walls and graves and plaques / those who went back receive penalty for their acts."). Elsewhere on disc two, 'Impossible' has the Wu in preachy mood, Raekwon tells us, "The murder rate is increasing and we're decreasing / so at the same time that you play with guns... / that causes conflict against your own."
For the most part this is a group effort, but at certain points during disc two, the rappers break off into pairs to differing effect. 'The MGM' has Raekwon and Ghostface Killah trading the microphone line by line over a typically stark backing track. 'Dog S**t' is ODB and Method Man's chance to shine in the absence of the rest of the group. Frankly, the result is a juvenile, misogynistic track that somehow manages to be semi-entertaining. However, for those still in any doubt about the political correctness of the Wu the following track, 'Duck Seazon' is an entirely immature tirade about homosexuality.
Typically the album is highly cinematic. From the sleeve design to the b-movie snippets to the hilarious virtual tour of the Wu Mansion (a CD-ROM extra found on disc one), the album has a Hollywood feel to it.
I've always been of the opinion that the press were unduly savage on 'Forever'. It's not quite the equal of '36 Chambers' but it really isn't far away. Criticisms of it being overlong are not unfounded and perhaps one or two of the tracks would have been better left on the production room floor, but album with twenty-nine tracks will have one or two weak ones. 'Forever' should be an essential purchase for any hip hop fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Nov 1999
By 
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
This has to be one of THE most pumping albums i have ever listened to. As high as Wu Tang gets has a booming bass line that hums perfectly once the gunshot ringing has subsided.Add the superb Triumph and the more mellow tunes such as Little ghetto boys and you have a truly classic album to love and cherish always.....of course it sounds much better playing in some smoke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second just as good as the first? i think so.., 23 Aug 2002
By A Customer
*Puts Cd 1 in computer*
Well the intro is not as nice as the cd2 intro and really they just babble for a bit..like the first kid said just skip it. 2/5
Reunited- An outstanding opening track, the voilin loop is just original excellence, RZA, ODB all come nice. 4/5
For Heavens Sake- this track is just great the sampled hook is fantastic and gives it that wu-tang rawness.4/5
Cash Still rules/Scary Hours- the loop in the background is so god dang ill, ghost comes nice as hell on the opening verse, one of the best tracks on cd1. 4.5/5
Visionz- I never liked the reverse loop at the intro of this track and the beat doesn't do it for me..meth doesn't relly open the verse with anything nice either but ghost comes nicely afterwards. 3/5
As high as Wu-tang get- ODB's grimeyness is so damn rugged and ill. he shines on this track. 3/5
Severe punishment- This is so dark and rugged again, U god opens nice and ghost comes real nice again. 4/5
Older Gods- pure dope, the beat, loop, everyhting...i could bump this track for eternal time. ghost shows why his uniqe style is so damn ill.(i like ghost, but you'll know why after you buy this cd)
5/5
Maria- very graphic didn't feel this too much, ODB's crude and blunt remarks just ain't funny at times, and i felt he was tryna hit on the area. this is a nice track all the same but ODB ruins it for me. 4/5
A better tomorrow- i love this track, the hook is just real nice and true, makes you look out at yourself and realise you shouldn't waste your life away. 4/5
Its yours- real nice outro from the first cd this track is a wu-classic 5/5
Cd2
Intro- real nice intro, and speaks werd of truth.
Triumph- Inspectah Deck probably dropped as known one of the best verses to be heard on the mic. incredible, another classic 5/5
Impossible- again nice needs to be listened to more than once though..it grows on you. 3/5
Little ghetto boys- this is real nice..so hard for me to like it as much as the original sampled version used by dre on the chronic...but sitll wu used it nicely. 4/5
Deadly melody- i need to listen to this more maybe but i didn't rate it. 3/5
The city- loved this track the hook is dope...rugged, raw..just excellence form the wu again 4/5
The projects- was an aight track.,..iono..3/5 from me though i need to listen to it more.
hellz wind staff- absoulutly amazing track, some real raw wu-tang slankg shaolin hooks and just plain ill 5/5
Heaterz- prolly the best track on the album, never have i heard such an ill beat..this track gives me the shivers from the infinite illness coming out of the speakers. unbelivable stuff...deseves top make the whole album a 5/5 oin its own.
this is something that if you remotly like wu-tang you have to buy...all you fans of rugged, raw...and unque style of emceeing you must take a peep.
deserve each start 10 times of any ludacris or nelly album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wu are at last, reunited!, 5 Aug 2004
I felt i had to review this double lp when i saw people giving it 2 stars. That is rediculous, how can you possibly say it is unlike wu to have samples in their songs? name 1 of their albums that doesnt, your mad. As soon as you hear track 2, reunited, it is obvious that this lp is gonna be something special. The track shows off wus greatest skills and also has the best beat i have ever heard in a song, ever! The rest of the cd is almost as good, but it does not quite match the 36 chambers. Another great track on this cd is the, 4th disciple produced, 'the city'. An amazing track and i cannot believe that some guy said that it is not worth a listen, some people are just crazy. You should also check out heaterz, another phat track.
9/10 if your a first time wu buyer, try the 36 chambers. peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album!, 29 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I borrowed this from a friend and thought it would be less orignal than 'Enter the Wu-tang - 36 chambers' but I was wrong so i went and bought it! Every song is amazing, you will not get bored by this album. If you enjoyed the previous album with its complex lyrics accompanied by mysterious sounds and kung-fu movie extracts, then you are sure to like this. If you have just recently discovered the Clan, you are probably aware of 'Gravel Pit' on 'The W'. The style of this album is different to that of 'Forever' and '36 Chambers' with a less complex structure to songs. Therefore I would not get 'The W' but 'Forever' instead. If you are finding it hard to decide which one to get of the three. I would say this one. It's more recent and advanced lyrically, and I love it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars retro, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Explicit) [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
im in my forties and love all the old rap/hip hop artists of yesterday, wu tang was defo one the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Explicit) [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
My title says it all, it really is a classic and no hip hop collection is complete without Wu-Tang forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews