Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Tunes but Better Ones on Offer
Ok. This contains some of Ben's best songs Cooler than You, Learn to live with what you are, B*tches Ain't S*** etc.

But there were some tunes that should have got on there instead.
Rent a Cop, Adelaide, Songs of Love are not the best selections, Rent a cop is funny, Adelaide is catchy however there are better songs on the EPs he took his songs from...
Published 11 months ago by Sam harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection but not a perfect album
Just wanted to agree with Robin regarding missing off Kalamazoo, one of my favourite tracks and a suprise that it wasn't included, as it's an amazing song with a brilliant instrumental in the middle. I guess in some ways that's a bonus for those of us in the UK that paid a fortune in postage getting the original eps!
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Mr. W. J. Butson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Tunes but Better Ones on Offer, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok. This contains some of Ben's best songs Cooler than You, Learn to live with what you are, B*tches Ain't S*** etc.

But there were some tunes that should have got on there instead.
Rent a Cop, Adelaide, Songs of Love are not the best selections, Rent a cop is funny, Adelaide is catchy however there are better songs on the EPs he took his songs from.
>Protection - The piano is amazing and very rocky, the lyrics are humorous and the vocals are strong.
>Rockstar - The meaning of this song is very strong, It sounds like a song Elton John or Billie Joel would right a real classic.
>Wandering - Beautiful, slow song.

On the most part these songs are a great showcase of Ben Folds talent, The Vocals (Get Your Hands of my Woman), the lyrics (Still), The Piano (In Between Days).

All things considered fantastic album, but I would switch those 3 songs around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a collection of EPs, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Simon Smith "Alty fan" (West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: supersunnyspeedgraphic, the lp (MP3 Download)
Some good new tracks, some throw aways and some covers. Generally of a high standard though lacks the subtleties of the likes of Songs for Silverman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection but not a perfect album, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Just wanted to agree with Robin regarding missing off Kalamazoo, one of my favourite tracks and a suprise that it wasn't included, as it's an amazing song with a brilliant instrumental in the middle. I guess in some ways that's a bonus for those of us in the UK that paid a fortune in postage getting the original eps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great...if you've not already got the EP's, 1 Feb 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Oh I could get in a bugbear about this. You're a loyal fan. You spend a lot of money buying "internet only" ep's (paying a fortune in postage from overseas to boot) and then a little further down the line you find out that most of these tracks are collected together on a single disc best of. But wait, don't go, because whilst you may have all of the tracks already you can get an autographed booklet and a free bonus DVD with "classic" video's on it.

Firstly, despite the blurb that these are all brand new recordings or remasters of the original's we already have, you'd be hard pressed to notice the difference most of the time.

Anyway, if you like Ben's crazy cover versions at his live gigs, you'll enjoy his take on The Darkness' Get Your Hands Off My Woman and Dr Dre's Bitches Ain't S**t (the latter of which works surprisingly well as a piano-driven ballad). His version of The Cure's In Between Days is also to be found on here and is the most straightforward reworking of the three; if you like the original you'll enjoy this too.

And as much as I might frown at the fact that I've got most of these tracks already, Ben has at least had the decency to throw in the best one's from his EP collection. I'm particularly fond of There's Always Someone Cooler Than You, All U Can Eat and Rent A Cop.

Throw in a slice of The Bens, and a soundtrack song from Over The Hedge and you have a collection that is good, if not a must-have (especially if you have any of the afforementioned EP's from which the tracks are taken).

Still if you weren't able to snap up the EP's at the time and you're a Ben Folds fan, well then you'll have nothing to complain about will you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here he goes again...., 26 Nov 2006
By 
J. Seldis "Blamethrower" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was already a huge fan of Ben. So i was expecting a brilliant album. I could, if i wanted, have downloaded all four EP's that comprise this album separately. But i bought the album instead. And my god, is it good. Just listen to the two opening tracks. They will explain it all.

I don't have the time to write a full review. But my god, this is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but.., 23 April 2007
To all those considering buying this rather than the EPs.. You are missing out on 'Kalamazoo' which to my mind is one his best songs. Ever. Why that song is not included on this compilation is utterly beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews