Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc?
I first heard this album ten years ago, and it has lost nothing in the intervening years.
If I was allowed only one album for the rest of time, then this would probably be it. When this tape goes into the car stereo, it stays there for weeks before I finally change the selection.
The album starts out strong and simply gets stronger, leaving you wanting to flip...
Published on 15 July 2001 by Iain Rawlinson (irawlinson2000...

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album but too similar to George Michael
I remembered The The from the 80s mainly because he was someone the NME seemed to promote. This had a lot to do with his left wing politics as much as his music which I didn't really listen to much. Back then I was a Smiths and REM fan and I didn't find The The that tuneful and, to be honest, I probably wouldn't have listened to them now had it not been for the fact that...
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by A. J. Gilpin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine album, but not The The's best effort, 19 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
After the recent release of the superb Naked Self, its good to go back and hear some of the old stuff. The new remaster gives a soulful album the clarity and crispness it deserves after all these years. The songs are still as good as ever, certainly a more commercial offering from Mr Johnson, but certainly never dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc?, 15 July 2001
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
I first heard this album ten years ago, and it has lost nothing in the intervening years.
If I was allowed only one album for the rest of time, then this would probably be it. When this tape goes into the car stereo, it stays there for weeks before I finally change the selection.
The album starts out strong and simply gets stronger, leaving you wanting to flip it and start over again.
To my mind, the album confirms Matt Johnson as one of the finest lyricists and song writers of our time. Long may the ink keep flowing from his pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Matt & Marr's classic '93 cut, 11 Nov 2000
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
It was sheer relief to fans of The The in 1993 when Dusk was released, following their disappointingly stodgy and overproduced 'Mind Bomb' from 1989. Matt Johnson and Johnny Marr finally make their partnership come to full musical fruition on this sublime album which caters for an entire range of moods.
Standout tracks include the well-chosen singles Dogs of Lust, Love Is Stronger Than Death and of course the brilliant Slow Emotion Replay, The The's best piece of work since 'Heartland' in 1986, which has Marr's influence written all over it. Johnson also succeeds in making the closing track 'Lonely Planet' perhaps the only 'eco-song' in history a non-pretencious affair. Their is even a bit of funk here in the form of excellent 'Sodium Light Baby', which goes to show that the ever-despairing Johnson was actually enjoying himself whilst making this superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The The's mastermind Matt Johnson at his most intimate, 14 Dec 2007
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
Back then in 1993, when "Dusk" was released, what striked first was that it sounded a lot less over-produced than the previous two The The LP's (1986's melodramatic yet exciting "Infected" and 1989's "Mind Bomb" full-scale apocalyptic soundscape); here we get at the core of this man's mind ("True Happiness This Way Lies"), heart ("This Is The Night"), body ("Dogs Of Lust") and soul ("Bluer Than Midnight"). Another highlight is the harmonica-led (a part courtesy of ex-Smiths and The The guitarist at that time, Johnny Marr) "Slow Emotion Replay", which should have been a n1 hit then.

Even though it might not be, on first hearing, as sonically appealing as previous offerings, "Dusk" wears the kind of attracting growth every truly great record has: once it's stuck in your mind, you'll never get rid of it. For the good, and the bad...

Since then, The The's only crucial releases have been a Hank Williams tribute (1995's worthy "Hanky Panky") and a last original studio album, released through Nine Inch Nails' Trent Reznor label, Nothing (2000's "Naked Self", very good but not for shy ears...). Matt, if by chance you read those lines, please, come back; you miss us a lot. We urgely need another "Soul Mining" (The The's official 1983 debut) for our sour times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest records ever made, 1 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
A brilliant record seeing Johnson reach a maturity in his lyric writing, voice and general sound. Intensely personal yet not indulgent not only because of the larger themes explored but because it's heart felt, honest and above all wise. Like some of the other reviewers this record has had a big impact upon me. It rings true with my own experience; is life afirming for that reason. All of this and a simply a wonderful collection of funky soulful tunes with Marr at his best too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album for the end of an era, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Dusk (MP3 Download)
This is a great the The album - better than Mind Bomb but not quite reaching the highs of Soul Mining and Infected. the The sound more like a band than they ever had and I would recommend this to any the The fans. Slow Emotion Replay is the stand out track here. I'm glad Matt dropped Johnny after this as I really liked what he did for Naked Self. Just wish he would release another (solo) album!

the The are my dark secret ;) Not many people know about then, which is a shame but at the same time means I get to enjoy them on my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between the day and the night, 11 Oct 2001
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
Dusk is about as close to a masterpiece as you can
get...and that's from someone who still reckons
that Soul Mining is pretty damn near perfect!
Johnson's music is not for the faint-hearted. If
the songs glow with an intense complexity on record, this is very much a factor live. And so
it was when he took the stage to bring us the goods once more. He's been compared to a rock
Moses, coming down from the mountain every three
years or so to tell us about ourselves and the
world. Well, thank God he does.
Highlights? Dogs of Lust is a belter and you can
hear the emotion cracking his voice on the sublime
Love Is Stronger Than Death. Helpline Operator
is a hymn to a society that has to pay someone to
listen to its problems and Lonely Planet takes us
out with a similar feeling to Soul Mining's (awesome) closing cut Giant with a stonking chorus and some superb articulation from MJ.
Johnson is a genius and Dusk proves it.
Al Ferrier
11.10.01
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bittersweet spine tingler of an album., 27 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
I fell in love with my man at the same time as discovering this album - and it provided the perfect moody backdrop for a long hot summer of evenings spent in his company- my stomach seemed to flip over every 2 seconds then and playing this now brings all that back!. What I love about this album is it's soul wrenching melancholy washed down with lashings of gritty cynicism. It's name is apt - dusk - the music congers up images of a setting summer sun viewed through an urban window while cigarette smoke curls up to the sky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars onlyme, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
I just like TheThe don,t know why I just do and now of course he has stopped they are as deceased as the famous Norwegian blue parrot I do not know why he stopped but if anyone out there does then let me know please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 11 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Dusk (Audio CD)
It's amazing what one man and a guitar can achieve artistically - religious fervour delivered like the gospelled oak.

Popular notions and sentiments are sacrificed on what is mostly a pejorative Popular Culture.

Don't waste your money down the pub; plug in your CD player and buy furniture on line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dusk
Dusk by The The
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews