Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Film Score
John Barry's Dances with Wolves is a masterful work. It can be listened to over and over again, without becoming tiresome. Buy this score and you will treasure it in your collection for years to come. Do not listen to reviews on this page that put this score down, what you need to do is make your own opinion, and not listen to people who have absolutely no idea what...
Published on 22 Oct. 2006 by G. A. Hardy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dances with wolves, new longer version cd
I really enjoy the music of this film but i wish i had gone for the original shorter version. The newer longer version is far too long and boring unlike the shorter version which is just about right. What the new version adds is taken away by destroying the sheer listening and visual pleasure that the original captures. I could be wrong and apologise to all those who...
Published on 26 Nov. 2011 by Carlo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Film Score, 22 Oct. 2006
By 
G. A. Hardy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dances With Wolves (Audio CD)
John Barry's Dances with Wolves is a masterful work. It can be listened to over and over again, without becoming tiresome. Buy this score and you will treasure it in your collection for years to come. Do not listen to reviews on this page that put this score down, what you need to do is make your own opinion, and not listen to people who have absolutely no idea what they are talking about. This score is one of the best scores by the masterful composer John Barry, buy it NOW and you will NOT regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry's excellent score in an extended edition, 11 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Christian Hoskins (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some soundtracks not only transform the film for which they were written, but also provide enjoyable music in their own right. John Barry's "Dances With Wolves" most definitely falls into this category.

The original soundtrack album had a running time of some 53 minutes. Fortunately, someone at Sony appears to have realised that this did not represent all the best music, and consequently there is this 2004 release with a running time of some 75 minutes.

The music itself is in Barry's most stirring and moving style. Of the many memorable themes in the score, my favourite is the one first heard in the track "The Buffalo Robe". Gently scored for strings at this point, it conveys the sort of elegiac poetry normally associated with Russian composers such as Borodin and Balakirev. The same theme reappears scored for woodwind and sounding even more haunting in the track "Falling in Love".

Incidentally, "Falling in Love" and "The Buffalo Hunt" (film version) are two of the tracks which didn't appear in the shorter release, making this 2004 release pretty much essential.

As with most film music, there is a certain amount of repetition and padding, but overall this is an example of the soundtrack genre at its finest. In addition, the orchestral playing is especially good, and the recording quality is clear and well balanced. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classical perfection, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
Like the film the music completely captures the time and place and the end of an era in American History.
This musical score is stunning from the exceptional John Dunbar theme to the simple but heartning music of the Two Socks at play theme.
This classical track is wonderfull perfectly capturing the best moments of the film and well worth buying. John Barry produced something of lasting quality here and for any classical soundtrack person this is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic Chillout, 17 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Dances With Wolves (Audio CD)
John Barry has to be one of the greatest film score composers working at the moment. This SACD release of the Original Score for Dances With Wolves is resplendent in its quality and is a thoroughly involving listening experience. It's a Stereo SACD-only disc, so you need an SACD equipped machine to play this disc. And fans of multichannel music won't get their surround fix from this disc either.
What you do get though is a skillful presentation of the score. The well known 'John Dunbar Theme' has soaring strings, deep bass and gentle pizzicato running throughout. Some of the tracks are fairly short and you may feel that listening to the disc without knowing the film is a rather disjointed experience. However, the scale of Barry's music is really shown off by the SACD format and it is a fine test of your system's dynamics. It also makes for a great chillout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dances with Wolves soundtrack, 1 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Alan Inder "BW bookworm" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this because the second track is played while the birds of prey are flying over and around the crowd during the display at the Hawk Conservancy, near Andover, Hampshire - a fantastic experience, the perfect choice of music for the occasion. Also, the reviews on Amazon were very favourable, so I bought it, and have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Barry at his very best., 12 Dec. 2010
This is an absolute masterpiece from John Barry,anyone who has seen the film will no doubt appreciate the music written by John Barry,it has all but made the film.Somehow the music matches the film perfectly,and the John Dunbar theme is the icing on the proverbial cake.I've lost track(no pun intended)of how many times I've played the CD,it never fails to come over as nothing less than another John Barry work of excellence.
Yes John Barry is my favourite composer,but this is a must if you liked the film,it always makes more sense to appreciate the music after enjoying the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry Scores Again!, 31 Aug. 2007
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
John Barry has always been a master at soundtracks, but with "Dances With Wolves", he truly scores high points. This is not a standard western soundtrack, but has a wide variety of instrumental and percussion elements that make it truly unique. The "Main Title" and slower numbers stand out as some of Barry's best. It truly is a romantic soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and timeless, 29 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film score is the only one I've ever bought. I've seen many films, and often enjoyed the music, but never been inspired enough to buy the soundtrack.

Even after many years, I still rate this very highly. A wonderful suite of music, and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dances with wolves, new longer version cd, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
Carlo "money sense" (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoy the music of this film but i wish i had gone for the original shorter version. The newer longer version is far too long and boring unlike the shorter version which is just about right. What the new version adds is taken away by destroying the sheer listening and visual pleasure that the original captures. I could be wrong and apologise to all those who would dsiagree. therefore it is a question of taste over contents. and no two people are alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather a lot, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a exactly what it says on the packet,its the original soundtack and whilst it is a fantastic recording and well worth the money I think that were I to choose again I would go for just the one track from another album of movie themes, but you pays your money and takes your choice and in any case this CD does recapture the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews