Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lou Chronicles Part One: Lou Leaves Home
Lou is great and this is a great box no matter which way you look at it.
Roughly this box represents the first four years of Lou's post VU life. I say roughly because it omits both of the period live albums - Rock and Roll Animal and Lou Reed Live - and the double LP studio set Metal Machine Music. MMM has a life of its own and if you want to get a feel for it, check...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by Brian Jones

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unique - love it or hate probably
Great set of albums. Maybe not for first thing in the morning but great none the less. They tell a story of an era and the passage of a young man and talented songwriter who passed through that era. Hubby not so keen!
Published 9 months ago by J. A. Croucher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lou Chronicles Part One: Lou Leaves Home, 2 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Lou is great and this is a great box no matter which way you look at it.
Roughly this box represents the first four years of Lou's post VU life. I say roughly because it omits both of the period live albums - Rock and Roll Animal and Lou Reed Live - and the double LP studio set Metal Machine Music. MMM has a life of its own and if you want to get a feel for it, check out some of the Amazon reviews. Lou probably hates this box for leaving out MMM but I can see why the compilers made that choice. I'm not saying that it's right, just understandable.

So what do we have left?
* Lou Reed is the solo debut. On paper this should have been Loaded pt 2, the songs on balance were as good as Loaded despite nothing hitting the highs of Sweet Jane, New Age or Rock n Roll. What went wrong is hard to say but it just doesn't sound alive. Lou says that the original mix had a problem with Dolby; this CD corrects that but Louie seems hesitant and the hired guns in the studio band don't really help. Great songs though, including many VU leftovers.

* Transformer you maybe know about. Ziggy Bowie hauls our Lou up by the lapels and gives him the production to match his songs. Yes it's good - Satellite of Love, Perfect Day - but in my mind it's a tad over rated, more a reflection of the times than of Lou. Still, you get the remaster with the additional demos and radio ad. Bowie fans will love it.

* Berlin is the dark fire meisterwork. It works because while it's a "concept" per se, the songs don't have a specific narrative. Instead Lou gives you the dots and let you fill the gaps in. Using the divided city of Berlin as a metaphor for a failing relationship, Lou takes us through the whole emotional kaleidoscope. The Kids still chills 40 years on. Ignore those who say it's depressing, it has its own inner beauty but you'll need to persevere with it.

* Sally Can't Dance is the sleeping classic. Derided by Lou himself, this hits the spots that Transformer skirted around. Try New York Stars for a piece of nastiness that's funny in it's put down of the wannabees. And Lou never sounded as laconic as here, his voice hits that NYC cool throughout. Again, this is the remastered shot with the bonus tracks.

* Finally Coney Island Baby and another lost classic. In the wake of the MMM fall out, Butch promised RCA that he'd behave himself on the next album and in turn serves up a thing of beauty. Said to be a throwback to the doo wop days where Lou cut his teeth, it's got more going for it than that superficial style suggests. And check out Kicks for a disorientating piece of sleaze. The title track is the killer, 6+ minutes of beauty with Lou's voice and cool cracking on the final "Man I swear I'd give the whole thing up for you". The bonus tracks show that the initial draft had a harder edge. Difficult to say whether it would have been better had it come through in that form but they're a worthy addition.

In common with other boxes in the series, the discs come in replica sleeves. Not exactly Japanese standard but fine nonetheless. Everything is held in an outer sleeve. At the price, this is a gift - no two albums are the same, and it's Lou Lou Lou!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL AT THE PRICE., 18 Jun 2008
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Only a few years ago each of these remastered cds [3 of which have extra tracks], would have cost around a tenner.Now you can get a tidy box set, with cds housed in neat card sleeves [no gatefold or inner bags unfortunately],for the price of a single album.

If you own the remasters then this is probably surplus to requirements, but if you only own 1 or 2 [ I only had Transformer ] you really cannot go wrong, and although it smacks a little of desperation from BMG /Sony, [after all how many more times can these albums be reissued?], the value and concept should be applauded. My advice would be to snap up the boxes in the series that you want promptly as it my encourage other companies to follow suit.

This is a great deal for the punter [ although Mr Reed et el may disagree],with classic albums from successful artists being offered at fantastic value , and lets hope this marketing trend becomes infectious amongst other music companies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five albums, no frills, 13 Feb 2012
By 
A. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
If you want five Lou Reed albums for about a tenner, then here's the set for you. And if you don't, well, then you don't know Lou Reed. Some of the material here is simply sublime and most of the best stuff is not on the various greatest hits compilations you may already alone - the alternate version of Coney Island Baby and nearly the whole of the self-titled debut solo album for example. Those who place special importance on inlays and artwork might be advised to look elsewhere as each of the five CDs has only a flimsy cardboard sleeve with no liner notes. But for those who value music above all else this set really is a godsend. I listen to all these albums in the car (except Transformer, which despite being arguably the best is just TOO familiar to me after twenty-five years of near constant exposure to it) and I couldn't be happier. The only thing is that I wish Lou had stuck to plain and simple rock and roll on Sally can't dance - too much sax, backing singers and bluesy guitar riffs make it a bit too Easy Listening in parts - but even this is a good album. And you also get four more albums which range in quality from great to monumental in rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best VFM on the planet 5 CD'S, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I already had "Transformer" Lou Reeds finest album thanks to David Bowie and the arrangements of Mick Ronson "Berln" is also high on my list, a freind once remarked "It's music to comit suicide too" hope nobody wants to do that! yeah it is a bit inwardly over indulgent but that's Lou Reed for you, The album simply entiled "Lou reed" is a classic "Ride Into the sun" and "Ocean" are twoof the best "Lisa Says" is pretty neat too, "Sally Can't dance" features some great tracks like "Ride Sally Ride" "Baby face" and "New York Stars" best of all is the accoustically understated "Billy" Lou Reed at his most lyrically concise.

Not convinced by"Coney Island Baby" it's the kind of album that will grow on you, it was totally unknown to me, I got more into things like "Rock and Roll Animal" one of 2 Lou Reed live Albums and has the best Intro to "Sweet Jane" ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early, Classic Solo Reed, 27 April 2014
By 
R. Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
My favourites, Berlin and Sally Can't Dance mean this box set is an absolute steal, then add whis best known work Transformer. I'm still discovering Coney island Baby, and if anything his earliest solo eponymous LP, is the only weak link in the bunch - but that is being ridiculously picky. Just buy, play and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for consolidating your Lou Reed collection :), 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. W. J. Gray "Oxo" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (MP3 Download)
Perfect for what I needed, was after 1 or 2 but ended up with 5 for a good price.

Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
A great album for anyone who feels a little nostalgic. How good is this guy. Many tracks are a first for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album classics, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Excellent product. It was good to replace my vinyls and buy 5 cd's in one pack so really good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I am not a massive lou Reed fan, but this gathers most of his essential albums together for not a lot.
In addition, these are the remastered versions with added tracks.

If you even have a passing interest in Lou reed it is worth the asking price.
The CD`s are presented in replica vinyl album sleeves and fit in a box not much bigger than the width of a single CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
At the last count there are 4 different boxed setrs for Lou Reed in this series alone.
So I thought listing whats on the CDs would be of help.

My advice is check all 4 sets so you get the CDs you want.
the other sets are Original Album Classics
and Original Album Classics

My favourite on this set has to be Transformer the one produced by Hull's Own Mick Ronson.

He really added something special to the production and was a genius.
Sadly missed.

If you see a mistake just add a comment and I will correct.
Title Lou Reed
1. I Can't Stand It
2. Going Down
3. Walk And Talk It
4. Lisa Says
5. Berlin
6. I Love You
7. Wild Child
8. Love Makes You Feel
9. Ride Into The Sun
10. Ocean

TRANSFORMER
1. Vicious
2. Andy's Chest
3. Perfect Day
4. Hangin' Around
5. Walk On The Wild Side
6. Make Up
7. Satellite Of Love
8. Wagon Wheel
9. New York Telephone Conversation
10. I'm So Free
11. Goodnight Ladies

BERLIN
1. Berlin
2. Lady Day
3. Men Of Good Fortune
4. Caroline Says
5. How Do You Think It Feels
6. Oh Jim
7. Caroline Says
8. Kids
9. Bed
10. Sad Song

SALLY CAN'T DANCE
1. Ride Sally Ride
2. Animal Language
3. Baby Face
4. NY Stars
5. Kill Your Sons
6. Billy
7. Sally Can't Dance
8. Ennui

CONEY ISLAND BABY
1. Crazy Feeling
2. Charley's Girl
3. She's My Best Friend
4. Kicks
5. Gift
6. Oooh Baby
7. Ain't Nobody's Business If I Do
8. Coney Island Baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews