Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Prologue to History
This is a superb album, an excellent collection of b-sides which pretty much gives an good alternative history of Manic Street Preachers. There are some stunning tracks on the double album, the most notable for me being, Judge Yr'Self, Prologue To History and 4 Ever Delayed.
During a recent web chat Nicky Wire said he thought that Richey's favourite track might have...
Published on 1 Aug 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B sides = second choice
This is a 2 CD compilation of B sides, rare tracks and covers. So by their very nature it is full of songs that were either not good enough to make the albums or not the usual material that a Manics fan would accept. Therefore Lipstick Traces contains a lot of weak tracks, particularly on the 1st disc, however it is saved on the 2nd by the inclusion of some eclectic cover...
Published on 15 Jan 2009 by DARREN "Big Nose" WALKER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Prologue to History, 1 Aug 2003
This is a superb album, an excellent collection of b-sides which pretty much gives an good alternative history of Manic Street Preachers. There are some stunning tracks on the double album, the most notable for me being, Judge Yr'Self, Prologue To History and 4 Ever Delayed.
During a recent web chat Nicky Wire said he thought that Richey's favourite track might have been Donkeys - it is a beautiful song, as is Sepia which was written by Nicky about the loss he felt after Richey disappeared. Makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up!
If you haven't already bought it and you're a Manics fan I recommend you get it NOW!! Forever Delayed was their "official" greatest hits album but this one is equally worthwhile and infinitely more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fan's compilation., 26 Jun 2003
Forever Delayed was nice ofcourse, but this is wat a Manics fan really wants, now fans can throw their self burned compilations in the bin and enjoy this thorough collection of 35 unknown Manics tracks. The Manics have a vast collection of bsides and covers. The subtitle "secret history" is well deserved.
A lot of B-Sides are of A-side quality, but didn't make the album because it didn't fit musically or thematically. Songs like Prologue to history and Sepia are amongst some of their best songs and their only instrumental song "Horses under starlight" is also included (altough it contains some singing, no words are uttered)
New track "forever delayed" is a powerful rock anthem, altough a bit thin on the lyrics. It was recorded for release as a single to accompany their greatest hits album, but the powers that be released "There by the grace of god" instead.
the rare, never before released or played song "Judge Yourself" was record around '95 and is a very aggressive vile song. One of the last written by Richey and once intended for inclusion on the Judge Dredd soundtrack.
The second cd contains covers, recorded over their 15 year old carreer. Standout tracks are Train in Vain and Out Of Time.
This is a great compilation to get to know an unknown site of the Manic Street Preachers.
O, and don't judge a book by it's cover...or cd for that matter..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly reccommended to any Manics fans, 20 July 2003
Over the last year I have become a true Manics fan, and this is a must for anyone who loves the Manics. Much better than there recent greatest hits, Forever Delayed, this Double CD has some excellent B-sides that it is suprising that they didnt end up as singles. My favourites include Prologue to History, Mr Carbohydrate and a different version of Spectators of Sucicde. The second CD is also excellent with some great cover versions from Nivarana to Guns and Roses, my favourites including Bright Eyes and Rain Drops Keep Falling on my Head. I would also recommend this to anyone with a passion for music, and anyone with an interest in the Manic Street Preachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honesty, Energy, and Creativity, 23 Nov 2003
You can't please all of the people all of the time, and really this is one for the die hards only. The casual MSP listener will have been happy with "Forever Delayed", and it's commercially driven tracklisting. The album is somehting of an alter ego of "Forever Delayed". It is a necessarily incomplete, and potted history of the otherside of the band, evolving through various stages of it's career, as a 4-piece, and also as a 3-piece.
The anticipation on the MSP forums prior to the release of this album was intense, with fierce debates about the ideal tracklisting sparked by the realisation that the bands vast history of B sides and rareties would mean some notable absentees. As it happened, "Hibernation", and the controversial "Patrick Bateman" the main casualties, but the tracklisting still has the quality that would have been expected.
Highlights on the first disc include the raging "Prologue To History" with it's cynical references to Engurland and Dyson, and the weary ballad-like "Donkeys". Doubtless there are some weaker moments, but the overall sound is of an evolviong band.
Cover versions such as "Been A Son", "Wrote For Luck", and "The Drowners" had been traded on unofficial MSP websites for years, and are obvious inclusions. The adulaiton of the Clash is obvious and, of course, merited, with fine versions of "Train In Vain", and "What's My Name", and the early homage to GnR is spot-on, with the spiky rendition of "It's So Easy", a stellar inclusion in the tracklists of the infamous Astoria gigs at Christmas 1994. As is "Last Christmas", an unlikely source for a MSP cover, but carried off with heart for TFI Friday some years back.
All in all, a worthy offering for anyone with an interest in the evolution of the band, and an obvious necessity for the hardcore, and with the snippets of MSP in live action, it can't be long before we can look forward to the live album that we were told we would never hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story that lost its voice recovers it, 25 July 2003
The second compilation of the year from the Manic Street Preachers considerably outshines the dissapointing Forever Delayed which had a distinct record company sheen to it (what no stay beautiful!). The album starts with Prologue to History which is typical Manics, I can only think this didn't make it onto This is my truth... because it wouldn't fit in with the other mellower tracks. Judge Yr'self has the same sound as Holy Bible era manics, indicating maybe Richey would not have gone down the commercial route. Without doubt the standout track on the album is Donkeys which contains one of Richeys best lyrics, "Put some lipstick on, at least your lies will be pretty," and JDB's most heartfelt guitar solo ever. Mr Carbohydrate didn't make it onto ETMG most likely due to its similarity to tracks such as Enola/Alone, which is a pity thanks to its memorable autobiographical lyric from Nicky. The original version of Spectators of Suicide has an amazingly dreamy quality to it which is lacking in the album version.
The second disc is all covers with a nice variety ranging from Nirvana to Chuck Berry. The highlight is without doubt We are all bourgeois now (mccarthy which was the hidden track on Know your enemy and lets face it one of the best tracks on the album. It has an unusual quality with JDB's vocals turned down in the mix. The pick of the rest of the covers are Rock and roll music(chuck berry), Bright eyes (art garfunkel) and Train in vain (the clash).
If you are new to the manics and considering buying an album this is a good starting point as it has a good spread from each album, to give you an idea of the different styles. In other words this is an absolute essential for any manics fan, new or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cheeky little number, 23 July 2003
By 
Peter "pmsbony" (Swanscombe, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite being a fan for quite a few years now I have not heard many of these tracks before and I found the album quite fun. The first CD is a collection of B-sides and unreleased material (including an awful version of Spectators of suicide). the tracks are not ordered sequentially so it is quite fun seeing the contrasts of the bands 'sound' from the early days to the newer tracks. It is fairly obvious which tracks are which to anyone who has heard the bands albums.
A much better offering than the greatest hits compilation released a while back.
The second CD is a collection of cover versions done by the band (mostly live tracks) over the years and is quite an interesting insight into the band's psyche. Lots of cheesy numbers (Bright eyes, raindrops keep falling on my head etc etc) intersperesed with more serious tracks originally done by people like the clash.
I defy anyone not to smile whilst listening to 'Can't take my eyes off you' towards the end of the second cd. And as for 'Last Christmas'... well you just have to listen to it.
overal the album is good fun but jumps around all over the place like a old blokes fragmented memory. Which at times could be a little annoying.
Still I am glad to add it to my collection, is quite good for a light hearted introduction to the manic's before you scare people with things like the holy bible album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finding out where you came from..., 25 July 2003
By 
Jonathan (Wigan, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This compilation of Manics B-Sides, Covers and rarities (namely lost single 4ever Delayed and the last song recorded as a four piece the excellent Judge Y'rself) gives old and new fans alike a chance to take a look over the evolution of the boys from Blackwood.
Usually these collections can gather dust in a collection and be seen as a cynical attempt at swelling the bank balance but this was never going to be the case with the MSP's. It isn't flawless by any means (wrote for luck is particularly hard going) but when it hits the heights it smacks of absolute brilliance.
How Prologue to History was left off This is my truth in favour of SYMM is beyond me but here it stands tall as the first track. Even the kitsch moments such as the Chris Farlowe cover "Out of Time" and "Raindrops keep falling on my head" somehow work here.
Basically, if you are a fan you will love it and if not give it a try, you just might suprise yourself by discovering just what you have been missing from one of the most consistantly relevant bands of the last decade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited B-side album, 15 July 2003
By 
Geoff (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
After the recent greatest hits album the band, or more likely the record label, has bowed to pressure from fans and released this B-side album. The tracks selected are taken from every period of the Manics career and form a strong collection with no weak songs included. The second C.D is made exclusively from covers, and in many ways is more of a revelation than the first, including as it does versions of "Can't take my eyes off you" and Wham's "Last Christmas".
The only serious omission (judging by my admitedly patchy singles collection) is "Locust Valley" from the "Found that soul" single. Despite this the album is still a very thorough collection, and is excellent value for money with over 100 minutes of quality music. Unless you have a complete singles collection then this is an essential buy for any Manics fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection of Pure Manic Style, 27 July 2003
The Manic Street Preachers disappointed many of their loyal fans upon the release of "Forever Delayed". The damage done by that heavily commercialized compilation has been repaired with the release of "Lipstick Traces". Not only does this compilation offer 35 b-sides, bonuses, and unreleased material, it also allows the listener to hear rare songs done in each of the different phases of the Manics history. The first track shows the darker and heavier side of the "This is my truth..." sessions while "Donkeys" remains one of the most beautiful songs that they have ever written. Even Disc 2 is infinitely more entertaining than the sorry Remix disc offered with their greatest hits package. Where Forever Delayed was a disappointmet, Lipstick Traces is a gem, worthy of all the praise it recieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect� but what is?, 4 Jun 2004
It's a common complaint of this album that some of the rarer tracks were sacrificed to allow the inclusion of pieces such the performance of "Last Christmas" on TFI Friday, and the recent cover of the blues number "Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel". For sure, hobnobbing with Chris Evans is not very Richey, but the Manics have an album, to sell, and as stated above, have to cater for 2 tastes; the Ben Shermans and the tiaras. But the album was intended to be a secret history, not an anthology, and I am sure the lads did not want to give away all the rarities on one release.
In fact, though, much of the hardcore early stuff is included, with a smattering of angry B-Sides, and plenty of the early covers that paid homage to the Clash, Guns N Roses, and Primal Scream. "Take The Skinheads Bowling" is a great addition, as it was always very hard to track down if you weren't a vinyl lover. The version of "Velocity Girl" contrasted with, say, "It's So Easy", shows the vocal versatility that James Dean Bradfield had early on, capable of the tactics of anger one minute and those of pop the next.
"Strip It Down" is one of the best B-Sides, as far as an example of the band's early work is concerned, and "Valley Boy", taken alongside it, shows us just how much the band has changed over the years, and the new direction they have taken following Richey's disappearance. "Sorrow 16" is also a great memory of the band at their youngest, leanest, and angriest. But then "Wrote For Luck" is a patent example of how the band matured with aged, eventually recording covers of tracks from bands that represented the antithesis of what the Manics supposedly represented. I say "supposedly", because ever since the early days, everything the Manics did and said is to be taken with the Manics "100% Hypocrisy Guarantee; MSP, the band that likes to say YES".
And so it is, more than anything the sound of a band, whose work has always been riddled with contradictions, and the breaking of promises made with youthful abandon. The album is as it purports to be, a Secret History, but a history nonetheless; the Manics cannot be expected to act as they did in 1992. Listening to this, though, it is a great pity that there are no bands worth getting excited about as people did in 1992 about the Manics. We can only live in hope, and in the meanwhile, the music never dies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews