Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bombastic Brilliance
NY's "punk rock poet laureate" Patti Smith might have a fluctuating success rate with albums (the patchy "Wave" being an example), but this record is in her top three finest records of all time. The other two are called "Horses" and "Trampin" respectively.

Two soul-stirring rave-ups begin the album. The madly excited "Till Victory" and the ejaculatory "Space...
Published on 26 Sep 2008 by Mark J. Nicholls

versus
13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Because the Night - Awesome... the rest...different!!!
I own an original vinyl copy of this. At the time of purchase I'd heard "Because the Night" and thought it was fantastic. Went out and bought the album on the strenth of the single. Have to say the album now lies dormant in my collection. Then, as now I find the rest of the tracks just a noise. Obviously I'm in the minority here judging by other reviews.
All I can...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Mr. J. S. Field


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bombastic Brilliance, 26 Sep 2008
By 
Mark J. Nicholls "rock_connoisseur" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
NY's "punk rock poet laureate" Patti Smith might have a fluctuating success rate with albums (the patchy "Wave" being an example), but this record is in her top three finest records of all time. The other two are called "Horses" and "Trampin" respectively.

Two soul-stirring rave-ups begin the album. The madly excited "Till Victory" and the ejaculatory "Space Monkey" are thrilling rock songs recorded in zany burps of creativity.

Stirring pieces such as "Because The Night" and the gorgeous camp-fire number "Ghost Dance" are spine-chilling and represent the pinnacle of Patti's ethereal, literate vox.

"Babelogue" and "Rock 'n' Roll Nigger" represent the controversial experimentalist Patti. An incoherent poetic rant and an incendiary anti-PC anthem are familiar delights in the Tower of Smith.

"Privilege (Set Me Free)" and "We Three" are evocative and moving pieces of music, the latter co-written by Tom Verlaine.

"25th Floor" and "High on Rebellion" is the sound of a group in a state of majestic swagger. A thunderous noise festival and a call to transform waste into beauty... this is art-rock deluxe courtesy of Princess Patti & Co.

"Easter" (title track) is beautiful. Enough said.

The bonus track "Godspeed" is appalling, but Patti fans will probably just be pleased to see it here on the remaster.

Newcomers... start with this album. "Horses" is more avant-garde and less user-friendly. Those who own "Horses" and nowt else, get this immediately.

Everyone else, stop trying to see if Patti has shaved under her arms. FYI... she has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring, Poetic Woman, 16 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
It truly is remarkable the extent to which Patti Smith set out the template for women in music, influencing everyone from P.J.Harvey to K.T.Tunstall and a few hundred others in between. But Smith hasn't just achieved that - she actually trounces most of her male contemporaries too, in terms of lyrics, charisma, vocal performance and general all-round presence.

Prior to this, Smith had actually had three books of poetry published, making her a multi-talented, multi-tasking woman, an artist, a creator. It almost seems insulting to think of women as mere child-bearers and wives when confronted with the wonder that is Patti Smith. Her legendary status in the music business is rivalled only by the likes of Nico and a few others. Her confident, trademark hollering in 'Till Victory' is captivating, the aural poetry of 'Space Monkey' is amazing, and the awesome power of 'Because The Night' is career-defining. Smith's ability in using words and language is top-notch and her voice is a force of nature.

The likes of 'Ghost Dance' is moody and atmospheric, artistic and subtle, whilst the one minute and thirty seconds of 'Babelogue' is a pure adrenalin rush, as Smith recites her poetry with astonishing character and gusto. 'Rock N' Roll Nigger', meanwhile, is one of the finest songs to come out of the American punk scene, fast-paced, energetic and vital. Even slower numbers like 'We Three' are magnetic, showing a wide range of emotional depth, whilst 'Easter' itself carries on in this same vein, Smith's voice affecting, the music subtly beautiful.

This is a potentially life-changing album from one of the most influential songwriters in the history of music. From her artistic stance on lyrics to her general appearance, Smith's influence is far-reaching. When K.D. Lang has the freedom to wear a shirt and tie combo, or Beth Ditto has the freedom to show unshaven armpits, or any woman in music displays a vivacious and boisterous onstage demeanour, they all have one woman to thank: Patti Smith. All hail the genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PASSIONATE POETIC ROCK, 7 Sep 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
Of her early work, Easter is Patti's most accessible album and owing to the inclusion of Springsteen's beautiful "Because the Night" it became her biggest seller - she had managed to adapt her poetic gifts to appeal to a mainstream rock audience. Strong melodies and arrangements abound: Till Victory is Patti at her rousing, anthemic best while Babelogue followed by Rock 'n Roll Nigger is a hypnotic stream-of-consciousness rant. Other great tracks include Space Monkey, Privilege and Ghost Dance. Easter found a good balance between her commercial aspirations and artistic vision, and is recommended as a starting point for those who want to investigate the punk poetess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll on Easter!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (MP3 Download)
'Because the Night'*, was released as a single off this album and it remains my favourite to date, but the majority of the tracks border on first class for different reasons, too. Qualified reviewers have described these far better than I could but the title track along with re-recording of Privilege (Set me Free), from the Peter Watkins/John Hayman production, also released as a single, come in a close joint second, for me.

The last track - perhaps not such a great (6 minute) finale, but each to their own.

The electric blue-coloured disc is often in my CD player. The booklet contains some background information for the tracks and you get the words to Because the Night* & Easter to sing along to, if you wish!

And it is very hard not to!

*© 1978 Bruce Springsteen (ascap), used by permission all rights reserved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting mixture, 5 Dec 2009
By 
A. J. Weir (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
Bought this due to "because the night", the rest of the album is an unusual mix of pre-punk, 70s rock and songs with a native american beat. Not easy listening by any stretch of the imagination, but well worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most accessible early work, 14 Jan 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
Of her 1970s work, Easter is Patti's most accessible album and owing to the inclusion of Springsteen's beautiful Because the Night it became her biggest seller - she had managed to adapt her poetic gifts to appeal to a mainstream rock audience. Strong melodies and arrangements abound: Till Victory is Patti at her rousing, anthemic best while Babelogue followed by Rock 'n Roll Niger is a seductive stream-of-consciousness rant. Other great tracks include Space Monkey, Privilege and Ghost Dance. Easter established a good balance between her commercial aspirations and artistic vision, and is recommended as a starting point for those who want to investigate the punk poetess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought it for one track, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
bought it originally for just the one track, listened to the rest of it,ended up liking nearly every track, a number of different styles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ineffable, 4 July 2013
By 
soulsound97 "JC" (LINCOLN, Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (MP3 Download)
So long ago now and still fresh! Had this album on casette! Now it's on MP3. The power of the woman is amazing. Buy this and buy her 2012 album Banga and feel the fire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars UNEXPECTEDLY GOOD, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
I purchased the album for the one track I recognised and was pleasantly surprised by many others on the album.
I would recommend Easter and will certainly consider her other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars patti, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easter (Audio CD)
my first album of the great patti smith bought for my car as only have her on vinyl. raw and unique she is a legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easter
Easter by Patti Smith Group
Buy MP3 Album£6.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews